We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plus and Minus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Highway Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Great Highway Motor Inn to your Saves list
Great Highway Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Highway Motor Inn
1234 Great Highway, San Francisco, CA 94122 (Sunset)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Santa Maria, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Plus and Minus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Was a great value for the location, sadly not so great for meals if you have to stay close. They are renovating some rooms, the one we stayed in needed some minor repairs. It was clean and staff helpful. NO outside ice machine, likely due to the fact that homeless sleep in nearby doorways. Chinese delevery was not very good and delivery guy wouldnt give us a receipt. Likely fine for a quick overnite, but wouldnt want to stay long.

Room Tip: no coffee in rooms, but lobbys isnt bad, small bath counterspace. repairs that have been done were n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
7
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I am still astounded at the price of this establishment - no better than a road motel. For not much more, one could stay in comparative luxury elsewhere.

The cover was dirty. The sheets - had to clean out a little. We both ended up with red, itchy eyes from the dusty or dirty room.

The internet was very very slow or non-existent.

Very depressing place. Did not give the feel of any safety either.

Paper thin floors and we were on the bottom. The person above came in the middle of the night and stomped around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The surprises are to be appreciated! Recall .... this is "San Francisco" and at this location; parking is free, room price is reasonable, kid's to-do spots,
while having a clean place to crash, in a great location. OK, you will be next to the ocean and a beach where the kids can run and burn-off some pent-up car ride energy, and if your room is on the 2nd or 3rd floor, you can see the ocean from your room - but ... no elevator means that the kids can burn-off more energy carrying stuff upstairs from the car !! while mother relaxes in the room, and Dad is with the kids on the beach! When ready, about a mile north is Cliff House and Seal Rock, Golden Gate Park is close by with some varied activities for adults and kids, a few miles south is San Francisco Zoo. The Inn also has some ground floor rooms for
handicapped, and an adjacent restaurant serving American and Thai food. Our room was modest yet clean throughout, small micro-wave and fridge, and a working TV with numerous channels, hot/cold water, shower, towels, etc. No bottled water or coffee pot. Our beds and area quietness at night were conducive to some needed, enjoyable sleep after the "energy burn-offs"... and if there aren't kids on this trip .... San Francisco night life is just up the hill!!
Enjoy.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August, 2013. This is definitely not a luxury hotel, but overall I was very pleased. Our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable and everything was in working condition. We stayed here because we had a surgery scheduled at UCSF the following morning and the hotel provided us with a free shuttle service to the hospital. The woman in the front office was very nice and helpful as was the man driving the shuttle. We were able to take a walk on the beach the night before and then walk to a local restaurant overlooking the ocean for dinner. It was just what we needed the night before a surgery. If we have to have another procedure at UCSF, I will definitely book another room here. The ability to park for free and have a shuttle service to and from the hospital is well worth the lack of luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second story. You'll feel safer and it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here July 8 & 9 after SFO shut down and were in town for 2 more days.
Big room, very nice bathroom, clean, tables and chairs, microwave, cable TV, refrigerator, king sized bed. Quiet even with windows open and constant cool ocean breeze to stay cool. Pacific ocean west across the street, trolley stop 1 block east, GG park across the street north, great selection of eateries on 9th street & Lincoln about 2 miles away. Two thumbs up. Would definitely stay again. Don't let the older building fool you. Way better than big box hotels. No pool or room coffee but good coffee is easy to find in San Francisco!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've been staying here for several years for a couple of different events in GG Park. The rooms are "fine" - this motel is good because of its location, can walk right across the hwy to the beach, down the street to a great coffee house, 10 min walk to Cliff House and Beach Chalet, and right next to GG Park. There is new management there now, who seem to be doing a great job. I've never seen any druggies hanging out, it's no different, and maybe quieter in terms of pedestrians, than in other parts of the city.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here October 2011 and October 2010 and we were quite satisfied both times. The service was very good, and our room was just as expected, clean and had all the amenities we required as well as an ideal location across from the ocean.

There is a very good restaurant on premises that we enjoyed, with plenty of vegetarian options. We would recommend this hotel for its perfect location for those doing the Nike Women's Marathon -- This is very close to the finish line and you can easily get the train to the start line. Easy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Highway Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Highway Motor Inn

Address: 1234 Great Highway, San Francisco, CA 94122
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Sunset
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Highway Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Highway Motor Hotel San Francisco
Great Highway Hotel
Great Highway Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Highway Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.