We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely pluses and minuses at the Grant....but more of the positive kind!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grant Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grant Plaza Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   465 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Definitely pluses and minuses at the Grant....but more of the positive kind!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location a block from the gates of Chinatown so right in the heart of all the little shops and restaurants. Going solo this trip and being a woman alone I was never afraid for a moment and felt perfectly safe the entire time.
I stayed on the top floor facing Chinatown so at times it was noisy with fireworks and people leaving restaurants and bars.
The staff was nothing but extremely helpful and pleasant and anywhere I wanted to go they willingly printed up exact instructions on how to get there.
Now a few comments on the room....it was a small room but nonetheless clean and perfectly fine for a long weekend. I never once seen any sort of bug or insect.
The tv was functional,,,,had limited channels but I wasn't in the room other than to sleep.
The noise from other rooms wasn't as bad as others have mentioned.
One thing to note you do have to pay 25 cents for a bucket of ice.
If I had to say one major flaw it would be the bed which was more of a cot than a real bed so it wasn't overly comfortable but once again ok for a long weekend.
All in all for the price location was ideal,,,it was around a 3 to 4 walk block to union square with all the shopping and restaurants,,,it was safe,,,,affordable and clean.

Room Tip: The higher the better ask for 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    163
    169
    82
    68
See reviews for
61
170
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West New York, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room was really small, but who goes on vacation to stay in the room? The location was great, right on the edge of Chinatown and really close to Union Square, everything was easily accessible. Only real complaint is you can hear everything that goes on, I heard everything my neighbor did in his bathroom. You get what you pay for, and if you're really just looking for a place to crash after visiting all the SF sights, this is a good spot. And you can smell the overuse of cleaning products on the bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Yes, title is true sadly. Only place my card was used was in this hotel. Received a phone call from the bank a week later to ask about suspicious activity, I wasn't even in the state! So it's either front of house staff or a sneaky maid going through people's things. Authorities have been alerted anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Well, let me start this by saying that I wasn't expecting a great hotel after reading some of the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised.
Managed to check in without there being any fuss at all and given a room on the corner which I'm guessing were probably the best views from the hotel.
Since we had driven here (one of many stops as part of our Roadtrip) we were shown where to park a couple of blocks away. This was probably the most stressful part of our stay as after driving around the blocks 3 times, on arriving at he car park, the guy hardly spoke any English and told us he didn't know about any requests from the hotel.
Anyway, back to the hotel. The rom was a decent size. It was clean, comfy beds and fresh towels (changed daily). The location was very good and made an ideal base. It was a little noisy at times and the one thing tat was quite annoying was hearing the people next door every time they turned the tap or shower on.
Free wifi was included - although make sure you ask for password as they do not mention it at check in. (I am actually writing ths review at the hotel as I speak)
All in all a pleasant stay. If I could give it a 3 and a half, I would. Definite value for money and would stay again!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Dirty hotel in dirty area. Very old and noisy very veryyyyyy rude personnel ! I cant imagine any hotel worse than grant plaza. Thank god that my friend came and took me to her house.the service was awful and you could smell sth very bad all over the hotel. And imagine that for this hotel i paid$ 116 for one night. OMG. Never book any hotel from hotwire that you can not know the hotel before you pay completely. Overall a veryyyy bad experience

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, KY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a cheap hotel in a good location, and this one fit the bill. It is very close to Union Square and lots of shopping, and is right in the action of Chinatown. Walkable to North Beach, Fisherman's Wharf, and the Embarcadero. Super easy access to the cable cars (a must-do!) as well. The hotel is very clean, the lobby is nice, the showers are powerful, and the beds are comfortable. Be advised- the rooms are very small. If you're like us and plan to stay mostly out and about during your trip, this shouldn't be an issue. My only complaint is that the toilets are super noisy.. I woke up the first night whenever other guests flushed but was so tired from walking the rest of the time that it wasn't much of an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grant Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Plaza Hotel

Address: 465 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Plaza Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grant Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Grant Plaza
Grant Plaza Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.