We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt San Francisco to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #30 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

This hotel is in a great location, easy walk to all union square shopping, Chinatown. Very comfortable beds, fairly quiet rooms, 7th floor,can still hear loud street noises but room ventilation masks fairly well. Staff very friendly, lounge on 36th floor excellent view of the city, got rooms for $80 from priceline, would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    995
    305
    84
    49
See reviews for
485
786
143
594
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

We booked this hotel directly on their website and had reserved an executive room on their business floor. We were impressed with the deal we were able to get and were looking forward to staying here at the end of our relaxing holiday.

Firstly, the location was fantastic. The hotel is conveniently located close to trams and bars. For the raging shopaholic, this place provides easy access to shopping in any direction you walk from this hotel. The location also allows it to have fantastic views of the city, with bay views on one side and Union Square on the other.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The wardrobe was also sufficient with enough room for all our shopping. The bathroom is also equally roomy, with great amenities. Our room had fabulous views overlooking Union Square and also provided great views of the sunrise each morning.

Since we booked an executive room, we had access to the business lounge for breakfast and early evening hors d'oeuvres. The lounge had great views of the bay, if you got in early enough to grab the seats. My only issue is that the lounge is not big enough for the number of people who have access to it. We were fortunate to get seats whenever we needed it, but there were a few people who were made to stand around waiting for a seat. The hors d'oeuvres in the evening were also great. You would also find substantial meals being supplied as well, such as pasta. So you would end up having a late dinner. Service in the lounge was the friendly and courteous. This was very well appreciated.

Overall, this hotel is a class act. Great views, great rooms and wonderful staff.

  • Liked — Great views and convenient location
  • Disliked — Small size of business lounge
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

I had read the reviews before my stay and I was expecting the worse ...... But it was fantastic!!!!!
We upgraded to use the club facilities on the 32 floor and this proved to be a really good a short stroll from our room with a casual but hearty breakfast buffet with amazing views over the city and Bay. Also good for tasty nibbles early evening ahead of a big night out.
I will definately stay there again.

  • Liked — club facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

I stayed at this hotel June 7-10 for a conference. The location is great, a block to Union Square, approx. 7 blocks to the Metreon and Moscone convention center. The conference facilities were fine. There is a Starbucks across the street, a drug store a block away, and two private garages within 2 blocks of the hotel. Hotel parking is available too at $50/night. The room was not as nice as I had expected. The good part was it was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The bad part was after check in (exhausted and wanting a hot shower) I discovered hairs in the tub. The was also mildew on the soap holder. One phone call did not correct the problem promptly. A second phone call to the operator did bring a housekeeper to my room within 10 minutes to repeat the cleaning of the bathtub. The towels provided were nothing special. The bathroom was clearly in need of renovation but the water pressure was decent. Another good thing about the hotel is the exercise room - top of the line equipment, in good quantity and complimentary access. Another poor point for the hotel was the SLOW elevators. I don't know if some elevators were not working, if the hotel was full to capacity, just older and slower elevators - every time I had to wait more than usual for an elevator to arrive. I didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants so I can't comment on them. Overall a decent stay and great location. Just be on the lookout for dirty tubs!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty bathtub with hairs from prior occupant
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inland Empire, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

Stayed for a long weekend and was pleasantly surprised. Rooms were clean and beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The best part of this hotel is the concierge service. They give perfect directions to every tourist attraction and are very professional. Loved that they recommended a chartered shuttle back to the airport at a discounted rate. This is the perfect location - close to every mode of transportation, coffe shops, quaint bar a block away, awesome shopping all around. Tip: Buy the 3 day muni pass which is good for any muni bus, train or trolley. It will save you tons of money. Don't waste time on a cab.
We were accidentally charged for the mini bar - because someone moved something - but when we pointed out the mistake they were quick to remove it from our bill. This is a beautiful hotel and deserves the four star rating. Will definitely recommend to all family and friends.

  • Liked — The excellent concierge service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

My bf and I just returned from a Memorial weekend get-away in SF :)

We cannot be any happier with the service that we received from the Grand Hyatt :

STAFF
- front desk's were quick and friendly; we asked for a room change due to the view and they happily assisted us
- housekeeping's did a courtesy check before clocking out
- Grandviews Restaurant's were incredibly warm and friendly, almost felt like home!

FIRST ROOM
- on the 24th floor facing the Financial District
- nice king bed and clean
- can't really say much since we asked for another room with better view

SECOND ROOM
- on the 25th floor with full view of Coit Tower, TransAm Building, the Bay, Angel Island, etc. (see pics)
- two full beds with 4 pillow EACH .. VERY comfy .. loved it!
- was a bit dirty as the past guest left a bit of garbage in one of the drawers and his jeans in the back of the closet (okay ..)
- loved the scent of the soap (citrusy!)

We used our AAA card and was able to get a free upgrade and upgraded once again at the front desk (for $20 more) .. it's worth it!

RESTAURANT
Again, with the AAA card, we received a free breakfast at the Grandview Restaurant - you can choose either the buffet or one entree from the menu.

We opted for the buffet and had coffee/juice/smoothie served to us automatically. The buffet consisted of eggs, sausage, bacon, French toast, oatmeal, fruits, and cereal. All hit the spot after a late night of toursiy activities in the City!

I just have to reiterate that the service was fantastic (esp Danny and Wendy)!

This hotel doesn't have much frills (as compared to the W) but it's very much warm and homey .. the location is unbeatable!

Definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in SF if you're a no-fuss and efficient kinda person!

  • Liked — Amazing location, views, and service!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt for a conference and had enough luck to get a room on the 16th floor facing the water. Couldn't see all of the bay, but did have a great view of Coit Tower and the Transamerica Pyramid. Gorgeous during the day or at night. I loved the sliding glass doors, so I could take pictures from the window and get fresh air in the room. Also liked the nice big closet and good-sized bathroom. Wished I could have brought the bed and all it's pillows home with me.

The concierge was helpful and the GrandViews bar at the top of the hotel was spectacular. OMG the views....sigh...

Anyway, my only complaint was the room service. They were relatively fast, but the food wasn't great. And for all the great places nearby, I'd take the time to walk elsewhere.

Nice hotel for sure, but glad my work picked up the $275 a night tab.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.