We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Perfect Location but WIFI is bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt San Francisco to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #28 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Perfect Location but WIFI is bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I really liked this hotel for many reasons,

- The location is ideal, close to all the shops and restaurants and bars and right on union square, you cant get better

- The staff are all very helpful and friendly, excellent service

- The amenities offered are outstanding from the standard toiletries and sewing kits, to hair styling tools! you literally don't need to pack anything to stay there except your clothes!

- The concierge desk gave us an incredible service, taking the time to find great restaurants , bars night-life spots based on our specific preferences and offering advice on everything from timings to local areas, safety etc..they also booked us on a great wine tasting tour.

- The breakfasts and food in general was delicious! the coffee not so good though...!

- the rooms are very nice and spacious and well decorated

the only thing I don't understand from a hotel that offers so much is why they are being funny about their WIFI, they offer this free but its a terrible service you cannot connect for very long and the reception is on and off. However they also offer a chargeable one which they say is better. I believe a hotel of this calibre should be offering a strong and reliable FREE WIFI connection so refused to pay more for the better one. They need to fix this issue and make sure its offered as standard.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    971
    300
    84
    47
See reviews for
477
768
141
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We spent four nights at the Grand Hyatt in San Francisco and were generally very happy with the hotel. The location is fantastic, the rooms are excellent and the staff are great!

Located on Union Square, getting to all of the major shopping centres was an easy 5 minute walk and there were also lots of dining options in the area. You can hop on a cable car which stops on Union Square and get to Fisherman's Wharf in 20 minutes after a thrilling ride up and down Frisco's hills. Parking at the hotel was quite expensive (approx $60 overnight) but there were several cheaper options very close by.

We booked a Grand Club room facing Union Square which was virtually identical to a standard room (we were in a standard room for one night until a Grand Club became available), but on one of the top six floors. That did make a small difference with regards to the street noise levels. Normally you wouldn't expect to get much street noise 30 floors up, but the construction on Stockton Street is incredibly loud and goes on all night long! The hotel walls are also unusually thin and the adjoining room doors aren't soundproofed so it was possible to hear (loudish) conversations next door and all of the noise from the corridor. This was the only downside to our stay. The room itself was excellent - spacious, modern, well appointed. You can do everything over the TV so there was none of the usual booklet/pamphlet/menu clutter that you get on the desk. There is a small "powder area" next to the bathroom with a lighted make-up mirror, which was very useful. The Grand Club rooms don't have a bathtub, only a shower in the bathroom and the space around the vanity was somewhat limited.

The staff at the hotel were helpful and we received excellent service. We had an issue at check-in because the Grand Club rooms had already been allocated, but this was dealt with efficiently. The housekeeping staff were very good and our room was cleaned and made up to high standards each morning. We also found the staff at the Grand Club Lounge to be fantastic. Not only did they provide great service, they also interacted with the guests. The Lounge is definitely worth it, with a nice selection of hor d'oeuvres and drinks in the evenings and a very good breakfast in the morning with a hot buffet and pastries. The views from the Lounge were amazing and you could easily spend 2-3 hours there over drinks and nibbles.

Apart from the noise, our experience at the Grand Hyatt SF was great and we would definitely recommend it... after they finish the construction work in Stockton Street!

Room Tip: Book a Grand Club room on one of the highest floors but avoid those facing Union Square due to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 6 nights in June 2013 as part of my honeymoon and was very impressed! The hotel itself was in a perfect location, close to Union Square, Powell Street shopping precinct and many food outlets.

We stayed in an exclusive city view king bed room with breakfast included and the room was amazing!! Probably one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in (for a city location, as opposed to beach location). The decor was modern, spacious, the bed and pillows very, very comfortable and I liked that there was even a dressing room/vanity dresser incorporated into the wardrobe area. Amazing floor to ceiling windows provided a great view to wake up to every morning! Another feature the room had was the room service - via the TV! You could browse and view all the food items available and order as well - very cool. Wi-Fi also worked really, really well in the room!!

Breakfast; while the food was great at the buffet, the area was quite small considering so many people are staying at the hotel at one time. We had to line up and wait quite a few mornings. One morning I wasn't really impressed, when we had been waiting for over half an hour and finally got to the front of the line, only to be bumped by waiter 'Douglas' for a family of four who turned up and 'claimed' they had been lining up earlier and had just gone downstairs to get some fresh air - well, we could all turn up and say that now couldn't we?? Nonetheless, the AMAZING pastries made up for my frustration! (I'm pretty sure they were cronuts). Special mention goes to a wonderful waitress named 'Wendy' - if only all waitstaff were like Wendy! She was friendly, on the ball and very prompt with her service.

I would definitely stay at the Grand Hyatt if I ever visited again, and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to SF!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Well. I really liked this hotel room . It has a really comfy bed and I had great views with the electric blind control right next to the bed so I didn't have to move . The plug socket was also just next to the bed ( which is a well thought out addition to any hotel ) so you don't have to fall out of bed to find your phone . I was delighted do to find a kettle in the room . As a tea drinker it's a luxury you don't find in many American hotels . They even put a little jug of milk in the fridge for you which is the attention to detail I crave when staying in a big hotel . The location is fabulous ( no hills to climb) the staff I encountered were polite but not welcoming or friendly . The view from the gym is great . The only thing it lacks is a pool. Over all I was very impressed with tis hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt on a family trip in June of 2014. Check in was expeditious, hotel is well appointed and rooms are newly remodeled, modern and clean. For the area, the rooms are a nice size and vistas are great. You can't beat the central location to Union Square, great restaurants and shops. Bell Service was fantastic, very personable Doorman who offers information when needed. The hotel caters to mostly business travelers but families were also welcome. Rooms are a little tight for 4 persons (family) but well appointed and very clean. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room for great views of San Fran
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a 10th anniversary trip, and boy, did the hotel make it special! We had booked a Club room and they upgraded us to a suite. They also provided some snacks and wine. The front desk was very welcoming, more than usual for such a big hotel. The remodel is fantastic - comfortable beds, high technology, nice design. The concierge was very helpful with tour ideas and dinner ideas. The Club was a nice treat - decent breakfast each morning and amazing views of SF. Overall, even though it's a huge hotel, it didn't feel that way to us - the service stood out. Tip - if there are no major events in the hotel, the meetings room on the top floor provide amazing views of downtown SFO. We just went up there and looked out the windows. Would be a very cool place to host a meeting.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and congratulations on your special occasion! Glad you enjoyed the amenities offered in the guestroom and great to hear our staffs provided a smooth and welcoming check in experience. I must agree with you the meeting space on the top floor is something unique and ideal for a meeting. We appreciate your comment and we'll certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This grand hyatt is a wonderful hotel to base a SF vacation, located next to union square. The check in process was effortless on my part, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. My room was large and comfortable, with a great view of downtown. Be aware that like new york, the buildings in the area echo and project sound, so take earplugs if you want to sleep peacefully. There are plenty of muni street car stops in the area, and the Powell st cable cars stop at union square. If you are planning to take the cable cars more than once, each time will cost 6 dollars. You can buy a muni passport for unlimited trips for $15. There are a ton of shops in the area, so if shopping is something you are interested in, this is a perfect location.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, ask for a north facing room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. Sounds like check in was a breeze and glad you enjoyed the central location! We apologize for the noise from the city constructions and we wish it could be completed soon. Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.