We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on Union Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt San Francisco to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #28 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location on Union Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent 2 nights here and the location was perfect as I like to walk a lot when I'm traveling. It was really easy to get around union square from here. We were minutes away from the cable car and other public transportation too if you want explore other neighborhoods like North Beach, etc.

The rooms were clean and the staff was pretty nice, but that shouldn't matter too much right? You won't be spending much time in your room anyway!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    1,146
    346
    96
    58
See reviews for
583
897
157
750
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel is recently renovated. Lobby, bar and common areas are all terrific. Room was nice and plenty large enough for 2. Seems like some rooms have great views, although ours on the 5th floor was non existent.

Part we liked best was across the street from Union Square. Cable cars were around the corner, BART station 3 blocks away or so as was the F line street car (both walking distance)

It really is a perfect spot to stay at to explore the city.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel or its staff. This was a very special romantic weekend, and everything needed to be perfect. As it turned out, it was even better than that. The room was spacious and very beautiful and the service throughout the hotel was impeccable. Had we left the room, the location would have been convenient for everything. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the lovely compliment! Glad your romantic getaway was flawless and you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll be sure to share your review with the entire staff! Hope to see you come back soon for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed there for 3 weeks in June &July.

Hyatt's location is perfect for touristic vacation. It is in the middle of everything. You can easily reach to touristic places, shops and restaurants. When you are tired, you can go back to Hotel quickly to relax.

Rooms are large with nice view, elevators are fast, breakfast is delicious, bed is comfy..

But staff is best. Manager, frontdesk, bellmen, doormen, cleaning ladies, all staff of OneUp restaurant.. I hope I did not forget anyone.

Everyone tries their best to make your stay special and enjoyable. 3 weeks stay is very long and for problems arise, they were always available for solution.

Thanks a lot for everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us for 3 weeks! It is great to hear you enjoyed the hotel accommodation and convenient location. We are truly proud to have such a great group of associates who care for our guests and deliver excellent service on a daily basis. Your compliment is very much appreciated and I'll be sure to share your comment with the entire staff. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent two nights in San Francisco to kick off an eight day California vacation. I looked at a lot of hotels before choosing the Grand Hyatt. The best things about this property are its location just up the hill from Union Square, the modern, clean feel to the property and the professional staff, doormen, etc. The room itself (10th floor, cityview, 2 beds) was a little small, though nicely furnished. I found the beds to be too plush, not firm enough. The bathroom door was a sliding door that didn't have a lock - not ideal when there are kids in the room!

For those who don't know San Francisco, if you take the BART from the airport (SFO) its about $9 and you get off at the Powell Street station and then walk uphill to Union Square, not an easy climb with luggage, cross Union Square and then go up another 50 yards to the hotel entrance. The walk was maybe 10 minutes, but Powell is pretty crowded most of the day. The cable car lines all run near the property, but the lines at Powell are ridiculous.

Anyhow, I was expecting a little something more from the Grand Hyatt. It had some nice aspects, including a nice sitting area in the lobby and a good happy hour in a nice restaurant/bar area ($4 wine glasses, beer pints), but all in all I think I may have been a little happier in a boutique property.

Room Tip: Our city view room on the 10th floor was nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
331 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is everything you'd expect in terms of service and quality from a Hyatt property. The location right on Union Square puts you in the middle of shoppiing and many great restaurants along with short walks to most of the city's highlights. Rooms were large, clean and well appointed with great views of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here recently for 5 nights. It's in a perfect location in Union Square, near all the shops and restaurants you could want. Short walk to the famous cable cars and only a 40 minute walk down to Fisherman's Wharf. The drinks in the bar at 'One Up' we're expensive but what you'd expect for a hotel of this calibre. Only downside was the noise from outside as the windows were not sound proofed. Would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel! Sounds like you had a fun time exploring the city and nearby attractions. Thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#29 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#39 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,632 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#71 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,333 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#12 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.