We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club level is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt San Francisco to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #27 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
portland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Club level is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a large centrally located hotel in Union Square. The thing that sets it apart is the Club Level. Friendliest service I have experienced. Breakfast and appetizers were both good. Best is from 5pm on they have beer, wine, and cocktails with an honor bar (pour your own) service. A really good value if you like a cocktail or two or three! I would definitely stay here again. If you are a walker you can pretty much cover the city from here and work off the great food in SF.

Room Tip: Spend the money and get on the club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    1,077
    333
    91
    55
See reviews for
534
851
150
693
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Oh My Gosh, where do I start -- Beautiful hotel at Union Square -- Everyone working at this hotel were so kind and helpful -- We were on 30th floor room with double beds with a fantastic view of Union Square - Just a short walk to catch public transportation -- great eating places nearby -- I can't comment on hotel food or drink as we did not eat or have a drink there -- Check-In and Check-Out very pleasant - I cannot think of one thing to fault with this hotel -- lobby beautiful -- rooms very nice --

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope you'll have an opportunity to try our menu at OneUP Restaurant & Lounge next time when you come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Myself and my Husband stayed here for four days middle of May 2014 and really enjoyed our stay
The location is fabulous just minutes from Union square, and China Town on the other side.
5/8 mins walk from tram terminal.
The rooms are spacious ,clean and quite.
The staff are amazing, so helpful, friendly and our every need was met.
Great small bar with really good bar food and reasonably prices and music most nights.
Happy hour from 5 pm to 7pm on some drinks.

Room Tip: We did request a quite room and this we did get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Elaine O,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Great to hear you and your husband found our convenient location ideal, close proximity to Union Square and China Town. Our happy hour at OneUp is indeed a great deal and glad you enjoyed it! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent location and staff, car park on corner opposite was good value for an overnight stay. Shame about the noise from the road works outside.
Room was good although servicing was erratic.
Enjoyed the food in the restaurant and the service was excellent as far as it went. It would have been better had we had the offer of a bread roll whilst we waited for our mains, also a server could have asked if we needed anything such as mustard (had my own) and how was our food!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very polite and helpful staff ....Check-in was hassle free and quick! Got put on the 21st floor with great views of San Fran. The hotel room was done to a very high standard (the hotel has just recently been refurbished - bonus!).

In my opinion i would say this is the best location to stay while in San Fran. With plenty of choices between bars, restaurants & shops within immediate walking distance from the hotel. The cable cars (which take you to FisherMans Wharf) are about a block away - stunning views on the cable cars leading towards FisherMans Wharf.

The hotel offers guests a shuttle to the airport for $16.00. Highly recommend this option as taxis range between $45 - $55 (also baring in mind the shuttle will get you there around the same time as the Grand Hyatt is one of the later stops on the shuttle)

All in all ... Great hotel... Fantastic location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us and sounds like check in was a breeze! Great to hear you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room and the ideal location of our hotel. Nice tip on the shuttle service, affordable and convenient! Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Visited with the husband and twin 15 yr olds. We loved the spot and great open view from the room. Room was a tad small for all of us but as others have said, there's too much to do and see in SF and surroundings to be in room that long. Easy to walk to cable cars. Check in and out was a bit strange with the individual kiosks but staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in two adjoining rooms (King attached to 2 doubles) on the 30th floor. There was a special family-stay rate for the adjoining rooms but only if you call reservations directly!! The rooms were very nicely updated and clean but very short on storage space. Might not be an issue for business travelers but one tiny cabinet with 3 drawers (crammed into the closet) wasn't enough for us, who were traveling with 10 days worth of gear. The small fridge was convenient though. Bed was OK; I thought it too mushy but kids and hubby liked them. The bathroom had huge sink and decent counter space but the rolling door was not very quiet and the track created gaps that might bother those very particular about privacy. We had Club rooms with a nice city/partial bay view. For some reason, the check-in staff failed to mention the really nice Club lounge on the 32nd floor. We found out by asking another guest! The Club lounge was well stocked with bottled drinks and had a full breakfast in addition to cocktail hour. Lounge manager David was very friendly. The Concierge was helpful with maps, dining ideas, and discount tour tickets. Lobby lounge had comfy couches near fireplace that was welcome after windy day of touring. Overall this was a well-located, nicely decorated hotel for our San Fran stay.

Room Tip: 30th floor club rooms were quiet and had access to Club lounge for waters and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.