We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, Modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #26 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, Modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in Sepember 2013 on a business trip. Excellent location, right off Union Square which is the shopping district. The hotel is very good. Rooms are modern and good size.My room was on the 26th floor and had a city view. Some of my other colleagues had excellent views of the bay from the same floor. They have friendly staff. Basic necessities like water and ice are available on each floor. The gym is on the 35th floor with breath taking views of the San Francisco Bay. They have a nice lounge + restraunt on the first floor. The hotel is located walking distance from several restraunts and bars. There is a Starbucks across the road and a Walgreens about 200m away. I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors with a bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    901
    901
    273
    78
    42
See reviews for
429
710
135
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I spent this past week at the Grand Hyatt in San Francisco, and it was a modern, renovated hotel with a very friendly staff. Everyone was nice, and they treated my service dog particularly well which is something I appreciate. We had breakfast with our room, and the food was consistently good and very fresh. I loved the berries and the museli and would also suggest the banana pancakes. We had room service one day as well, and that was good, too. The location is great, near lots of shopping and right across the street from a Starbucks. It is a block from Union Square and we were able to take our dog for daily walks in the park. The only negative about the hotel is the small rooms. I'm not a fan of small hotel rooms, and this one is barely comfortable for two people. Overall, the hotel was nice and I'd stay there again. It is a typical city hotel that has modern but small rooms. Our room didn't have a great view, but it was comfortable and the food and bar made it very nice. I also liked the shower fixture and the minimalist feel to the decor.

Room Tip: We like the higher floors so that there is less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The title says it all, from check in to check out, we had a fantastic time. When we pulled up in the car Peter was very helpful, took our luggage and gave us directions to the car rental return. On returning to the hotel we were met by Erica and the check in was smooth and efficient and we were shown straight to our room. The bell hop that showed us to our room was very efficient showing us fire escapes how everything worked in the room and offered to get ice for us. The staff in the club room were very friendly and welcoming, in particular Jimmy and Dave who likes to wave. The views from the club room are amazing. When I return to San Francisco I will certainly stay here again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Alan T,

Fantastic! Wow, thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us. Sounds like check in was a breeze and you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room! We really appreciate your kind words on our staffs and I'll be sure to share your review with them and the entire team! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here 1 night (Sept 30) for work. The hotel was in a great location - walking distance to all of the high end shopping. There is a Starbucks right across the street. The rooms are all newly upgraded with an Asian simplistic feel to them. Loved the Grohe shower fixture. The room was super clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The room was also very quiet. My only issue is that my TV would not turn on, and I could not connect to the WiFi in the room - but I checked in so late and checked out so early I didn't have time to raise the issue with the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Season S,

Thank you for your compliments on our convenient location and enjoyed the redesigned guestroom. Sounds like you had a good night rest in our Grand bed! However, we do apologize for the inconvenience caused from the TV and WiFi connectivity. We would love to find out more about your recent experience. Please reply to the private message with your information, so that we can make things right and prevent the same issues from happening again.

Look forward to hearing from you.
Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is situated in Union Square so a great location if you like to shop and it is within easy access of the cable cars. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean. There was free Wi-Fi which is always a plus so overall we had a fairly good stay.

Our stay was marred slightly by the fact that the room was a little noisy as there was a gap between our windows/doors so we heard the external traffic (though to be fair we didn't bother trying to address this). Also we were located fairly close to the ice machine so heard that on a fairly regular basis which can be a little annoying. I personally don't like a bath/shower set up so didn't particularly like that and the water pressure definitely could be better.

If location is important then this is a good option and worth consideration.

Room Tip: If you want a view then ask for a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September and really liked it. The hotel has a great location. It is right in the middle of Union Square, which is a main shopping area. Macys is one block down and the Westfield shopping centre (Old Navy, Levis, Abercrombie and Fitch etc) is only two blocks down, so really quick to walk to.

The hotel reception is nice – it has got a large lounge area with fireplaces and comfy chairs. When you walk in, there are quite a few staff members around with laptops that can check you in, rather than the usual check in desk. We arrived at about 4pm and were checked in straight away with no queue. We asked if we could have a room with a city view which they gave us. The room was on the 31st floor, and the views over the city were great! We were also high enough up that we couldn’t hear too much street noise. There is some construction work going on down the street near Macys, but we couldn’t hear this from the room.

The room was quite large, with twin beds which were both really comfy with nice squashy pillows. We also had a flat screen HD tv with lots of channels. There is a safe in the room and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom is quite big, but as other reviewers have said, the bathroom door is just a sliding door with no lock. The shower was over the bath, but the water was hot and the pressure was good for every shower, so no complaints there! The sink is a quite long and shallow, so the water from the tap does tend to splash back if you turn the tap on too hard, but we soon got the hang of it!

The best bit about the room is the floor to ceiling windows that look out over the city. The view is amazing, and the windows had curtains and automatic black out window blinds, that could be closed and opened at the touch of a button. The blinds were great at keeping out light so both me and my husband slept well.

There is a little coffee bar downstairs in the lobby that sells tea, coffee, bagels and other breakfast things. We had two bagels with cream cheese and two teas and it came to just over $10 so it wasn’t expensive by hotel standards. It opens at 5.30am so handy if you wake up with jet lag!

The only thing we didn’t like about the hotel were the lifts. They were a bit clanky, and one day it sounded like something broke off and smashed into the top of the lift! We jumped out on the 23rd floor and walked up the stairs for the rest of that journey! Another guest reported it to reception, and the lift was closed off for the rest of our trip so we didn’t have to risk it again! The views from the 36th floor are amazing – you can see over the bay so it is definitely worth a trip up there if you get time.

We didn’t walk up to Fishermans Wharf, but we did take the cable car which you can pick up from just past Old Navy, near the Westfield shopping centre. We used the Powell – Mason line, which was $6 per person per ride. It took about half an hour to get from Union Square to Fishermans Wharf on the cable car, and the views are amazing as you come down the hill towards the bay.

We had a great omelette for breakfast at Mamas on Washington Square, but we got there at 8 when it opened, and had to queue for half an hour to get in! The best place for breakfast was a place called Sears Fine Food, which is just round the corner from the Grand Hyatt on Powell Street. We had their signature pancakes, which were delicious, but the service was just amazing! Our waitress was so friendly and professional, and they even give you a good luck token when you leave.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again. All the staff we met were really friendly and helpful, the location is great, the beds are comfy and the views are amazing. I would recommend it to anyone. Thank you Grand Hyatt for getting our honeymoon off to a great start!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor for a better nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is some hotel!! It's beautiful and has amazing views from some of its rooms of San Francisco. It really is amazing!! The room was a little small but had everything. They even have a list in the rooms of toiletries that you can have if you've forgotten anything (the usual in a good hotel) and things that you can borrow! We borrowed a kettle, there's nothing nicer than a mug of tea in the morning and that's rare in the US!!? The location is fantastic, it's right in Union Square. The only down side was the parking!! Valet is $55 + tax per night and self parking is $39 + tax, a bit steep even by SF car parks!! But apart from that, this hotel is excellent, we'd stay here again!! I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Great to hear you took advantage of the 'Missing Must Have' list! Now you can pack and travel light! We understand the parking is quite expensive in the San Francisco area, for your next visit, kindly consider taking the MUNI, BART or cable car as our location is close to many major public transportation!

Your recommendation is truly appreciated and we look forward to see you again!
Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Otel so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.