We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel plus location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt San Francisco to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #30 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel plus location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Excellent hotel friendly and helpful staff .I was in a tenth floor room overlooking Union Sq. Beautiful room spacious clean with all facilities required . Large floor to ceiling window gave a fabulous view over this wonderful city . Not cheap but worth it every penny. One small issue is lack of a retail outlet for essentials . However staff will try there best to assist .

Room Tip: Rooms facing Union Sq are the best although some traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    991
    305
    84
    48
See reviews for
484
784
142
591
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It certainly has location going for it! Very convenient to doing the touristy things inSF. But unfortunately, many of the staff know this and believe they can throw customer service out the window into union square. Our encounters were mainly with the front desk and bell desk the two times we stayed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as our first stop in California. We don't travel light unfortunately and because we had no car during our stay in SF, all our luggage had to fit into this tiny room. Small issue if you are using this as mostly a city break to see the sights of SF. But with all our shopping and baggage, we could barely see the carpets on the floor by the end of our stay!

The lighting in the bathroom is super amazing for applying makeup. Big plus for me:)

Location is definitely unbeatable. You are steps away from Union Square and there is a cable car stop just round the block. There are tons of shopping nearby at Market Street and Geary and Post. Starbucks is just across the street so no problems with breakfast & coffees.

All round reliable option as a base in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I love the location of this Hyatt. Very nice room, quiet, clean & spacious. The lobby was being renovated, so Front Desk was in a temporary location. The Front Desk staff handled the flow of guests very well. Very courteous and accommodating.

The Stay Fit gym was bigger than most Hyatt's I visit, which was awesome. I didn't visit any of the Food & Beverage outlets, so no comment here.

Again, if you love to shop, this is the place. I will recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear 2liau,

Thank you for staying with us last October and took the time to write us a review. Sounds like you enjoyed the convenient location and had fun shopping in the Union Square! Your recommendation of our hotel is truly appreciated.

Our entire hotel is now completely renovated and we hope you will come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our trip started with 3 nights in San Francisco and we choose this hotel because of the location just close to Union Square. The Grand Hyatt was renovated and the entrance was nice. The staff at the front desk (especially Olivia) was super friendly and helpfull.

We got a room on the 30th floor. Room was clean, good and the most important quiet during the night. The hotel has free wifi and it works good in the room too. We had inroom dining and the food was good including the service.

We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent experience at the Grand Hyatt! It is located in the heart of Union Square, next to multiple shops and restaurants. I was able to walk to Chinatown, North Beach, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, the Ferry building and took a taxi to Hayes Valley in the evening to watch the symphony. The hotel does have it's own coffee shop, but right outside the door is also a Starbucks. The lobby has a very modern and open feel with a friendly staff readily available to help with any questions. The food onsite is good. My conference experience was good. The room was very nice and comfortable. I stayed on a higher floor with a great view. Internet was provided and there is 24 hour fitness. When I go back, I will be staying at the Grand Hyatt!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a great view!
See more room tips
Green Features: There is water available on every floor so bring your water bottle!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us! Sounds like you had a great time exploring San Francisco from our ideal location! Besides Starbucks across the street from us, we do have a Coffee Bar located in the lobby across from the Concierge desk, open daily from 5:30a - 11:30a. We appreciate your kind words on our staffs and compliments on our facilities. I will be sure to share your comment with the entire team!

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Hyatt for Labor Day weekend. Our family had 3 rooms. The front desk was very accommodating in making sure that 2 rooms were connecting and the 3rd room was nearby on the same floor. The concierge (Mark) was awesome! All of his dinner recommendations were a huge hit - including the trip to the food truck park at Fort Mason. Great creative ideas! Mark also gave us advice on when to walk, cab vs. drive ourselves. His maps were perfect. The rooms were clean and we especially appreciated the water refill stations next to the ice machine. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Brayball,

Thank you so much for your review. Glad to hear you and your family enjoyed the Labor Day weekend in San Francisco! Our amazing staffs is definitely one of the reasons why many of our guests keep coming back. Sounds like you had a fun time tasting all the food from different food trucks at Fort Mason! Your compliment is much appreciated and I will ensure to share it with Mark and the team!

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.