We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located steps from shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #24 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Located steps from shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed this past weekend, the remodeled lobby, restaurant and bar had all opened up only 2 weeks prior. The remodel is very nice, with 2 gas fireplaces in the cozy lobby seating area. The restaurant has been re-located to the mezzanine level, along with the bar, and these are open to the lobby below. They spent some serious money on the furnishings and fixtures, but beware there are no views like from the Grandviews bar and restaurant they replaced. They say that Grandviews will no longer be a public area, and be converted into meeting room space. Sad, as this was a very nice feature of this property with impressive views from the 36th floor.
Check in was prompt, but slightly confusing, as staff each are situated at small desks with laptops. It seems they are going for a boutique hotel look, but when you have over 500 rooms and no intuitive way to queue up, it gets crowded. The doormen were always very efficient at hailing cabs and providing directions. There's also a lot of staff standing around by the elevators and I could never figure out exactly what their jobs were. The breakfast buffet is very good, and is $25 a person, though service seemed a bit unsteady. Perhaps the staff is still very new.
Rooms were nice and very clean. No curtains. There are some light plastic movable shades, and then a roll down room darkening shade powered by switches next to the bed. Room was very quiet while I was there, except on Saturday night during a massive rain and wind storm the building's steel structure squeaked and groaned for hours, keeping us awake. I was surprised that no robes were provided in the room, and after 2 phone requests for 2 bathrobes, only 1 ever showed up. Also, newspapers for elite members are not delivered to the door as at other Hyatts, but are left in the elevator lobby. The bathroon did have a great shower, and hot water was abundant each morning. A very welcome touch was that the room had a mini-fridge that was empty so that you could stock your own drinks in it for your stay. No mini bar. There are a couple convenience stores within a block or two of the hotel along Sutter Street. You are also almost right on Union Square, and the heart of San Francisco's shopping district. Literally every major department store and boutique has an outlet within a few block radius of the Grand Hyatt.
Overall, a nice renovation job, and I would stay here again, if just for the location. They do have a few kinks to work out training personnel, but hopefully this will be accomplished very soon. I do hope they will re-open the 36th floor bar space again someday.

Room Tip: Rooms along the North side have full Golden Gate and Alcatraz views, but East facing rooms can see g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    930
    282
    80
    45
See reviews for
459
741
136
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

First the good: the location is great and the housekeeping staff are prompt and courteous.

Now the bad: check is very confusing. There seems be a lot of people standing around in the lobby area, more as security than to be helpful. They could use more people in concierge as there was constantly a line up there.

The walls between the walls are pretty thin. Tried the restaurant and it was overpriced for the quality. Had only recently re-opened so hopefully it will get better. Had a club room....breakfast was great but the appies and desserts in the evening always ran out within about 1/2 hour. It was quite used but could use a bit more food.

Pretty average in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is great to hear you enjoyed the convenient location and thank you for the compliments on our staffs. The redesigned front desk received positive feedback and many of our guests feel is more personalized, but we understand your point and apologize for the confusions. OneUP has been opened for about 3 weeks and any comments are much appreciated. I will ensure to share your feedback to the restaurant team. It is disappointed to hear our newly renovated hotel did not meet your expectation and we hope this recent experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived in San Francisco during what many said was the worst rain storm in years. We didn't know what to expect from the hotel, other than we knew it was upscale and appeared to be in a good area of the city. It was very easy to locate from the BART, which we took into the city from SFO Airport. We checked in easily and our room was beautiful with an excellent view of the city. The concieage was very helpful with directions and things to do in the city in the rain. The hotel provided us with large umbrellas which proved to be very necessary during our trip. The hotel is very close to Chinatown, the BART, the cable cars and there are excellent value-priced restaurants in the area. We did have breakfast at the hotel one day as it was included in the price of the hotel, however we would not recommend it if it's not. It was very expensive for the buffet ($25 per person) and while the food was good, it was not worth the price. The windows in our room rattled all night due to the storm and the hotel was very nice in addressing this concern. If staying in San Francisco again we would consider staying here.

Room Tip: Floor 29 is a quiet floor after 9pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hyatt has done an excellent job with the re-model, giving the hotel a contemporary, elegant look. Every single staff member was friendly and transmitted a warm feeling that made us feel at home throughout our stay. Small touches like excellent bathroom lighting for makeup and fast wireless internet in guest rooms show the detail that went into this hotel. The concierge took care of several reservations and airport transportation via email before we arrived. The only negative is that we had to wait for elevators at times - we hope this is a temporary glitch that will be corrected. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a high floor for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear you had such a great experience with us. The newly renovated rooms and lobby do offer a very warm and cozy feel for our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed all the amenities offered and great to hear our concierge was able to assist with you needs. We hope to see you again very soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This newly and nicely refurbished hotel is in a really good location for a trip to San Francisco. It's a short walk from the main shopping areas, cable car lines and BART Station which I used to get to and from SFO airport. There's a Starbucks right across the street and a large drugstore just around the corner. The view from my 24th floor Bay View room was superb. The bed was comfortable, there's an in-room safe and a fridge which is free to use. Minor negatives are the TVs are not HD and the bathroom sink is designed for style over function. The Business Center has 2 computers but you have to pay for internet access - there is free Wi-Fi in the very pleasant seating area in the Lobby however. There was no Grand Views restaurant on the top floor during my stay in November 2012 so I didn't use the hotel restaurant for any meals (the view would have been the major draw) - it's now on the Mezzanine Level above the lobby. The staff were friendly and helpful during my very pleasant 7 night stay and I would definitely return here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Bay View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear RichardJenkins,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted you enjoy the convenient location of our hotel and the Grand bed in the guestroom. With the renovated lobby area and a cozy fireplace, it is actually a very nice place to hang out or catch up with your work! We understand many of our guests had fond memories and missed the beautiful view from top floor and we hope we will be able to continue to make new and great memories with our guests at OneUP. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arrived after 3 year's absence. Lobby and fireplace sitting area was new. Stayed on the 32nd floor in a Club room. Now room is modern and comfortable. TV comes with Internet capabilities, cool. Some amenities missing like slippers, bed was too soft and wouldn't work for someone with a bad back. Concierge is tried and true for many years. They give good info

Room Tip: Ask for Union Square facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear YinChin,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the newly renovated guestroom and the cozy lobby area. We offer a check list called 'missing must-have' where you can choose from a selection of of complimentary items that are for you to keep and a variety of everyday essentials for you to borrow during the length of your stay. One of the items we offer is slippers, so next time, just simply call us to have it deliver to your room. Your review is much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is one of the best hotels in the Union Square area of San Francisco. Although it does not share the same classic and stunning lobbies like other more historical hotels nearby, the interior is newly renovated. There is something to be said about walking into a place that smells new and fresh (in our case the lobby is still off-gassing when we walked into the lobby!)

My husband and I were in town for a convention. The location is great for attending events, do some shopping, etc. In contrast to San Francisco's other quaint neighborhoods, downtown San Francisco has a more corporate and 'big city' feel. So if you are looking for charm and personality, this neighborhood is not it.

The hotel looks like every other Hyatt property in the world. The room looks beautiful at first glance, but once you start to use the space in more detail, things begin to fall apart. In some cases it literally does. The headboard started to wobble when we pulled the attached nightstand drawers. There are plenty of wood furniture, cabinets, and drawers in the room, but none provided very much storage. There are a lot of knick-knacks all over the place, but the overall effect is not cohesive. A little too much fussy fluff for my taste. The 'modern' interior decoration is mediocre at best. It is a case of one corporate hotel looking just like another corporate hotel, while trying to out do each other.

The lighting in the room is overall very dark. The only highlight, no pun intended, is the bathroom. The overly bright spot of the whole room, the bathroom is actually the best looking part of the room. Other awkward lighting controls includes a funky silver semi-translucent full-height window screen in the room that don't look like it can last more than five years.

The service throughout the hotel is consistently friendly and good natured. Everyone we came across is top notch endearing. The porter is very responsive and helpful. The cleaning lady for our room is very responsive as well. When we left her a thank you note one day, she wrote a response back to us with a smiley face.

Back to the bathroom. The water pressure at the shower on the 16th floor is pathetically poor. You would think a semi-modern high-rise would have resolved that technical problem. You are literally being washed by something a little bit better than the drips of water torture. At least the water is warm.

Now to the Internet. They charge you a certain amount per day for high-speed premium Internet access. This service sucked. The Internet speed is excessively slow for us. It was okay when I just have to surf and dilly dally. But it was not okay when I have to do work. I called their Internet support immediately. The man was very helpful. Unfortunately that was halfway during our stay and we already suffered the poor service for a while.

The parking is $55 per night. There is a cheaper lot directly diagonally across from the hotel. But they also charge some exorbitant amount per night. My advice is, if you can help it, do not drive in downtown San Francisco.

Did I mention although the bed was very comfortable, it was sagging? There was a noticeable higher ridge along the middle of the bed. I guess most people don't sleep in the middle of a king bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.