We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider a Suite, more like a Park Hyatt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt San Francisco to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #30 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Consider a Suite, more like a Park Hyatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Some hotels don't quite have it right with the new minimalistic renovations they have undertaken. The Grand Hyatt San Francisco got it right. I stayed in a small suite, so this review may be slightly different from some other others but I could not have been more pleased.

When you enter the room there is a light panel where you can indicate lights on, off, low or shades open or closed. A panel further into the room says "Welcome and Goodbye" to adjust the lights to predetermined levels. There is a lots of unique lighting throughout the space.

The room has hardwood floors, and gray walls, with subtle bursts of color in the area rugs and a picture on the wall. Lots of wood detailing also. In the parlor area there is a desk with a large screen MAC computer, on which I am writing this review, and a 50-52" Bose plasma connected to a blu-ray player. The room comes stocked with about a dozen various dvds for your entertainment. The Bose plasma is also has an iPod dock, so you can control your iPod through the remote for the plasma and watch your movies or videos on a big screen.

Helpful to the business traveler, there are outlets literally everywhere. Near the bed, on top of the work desk in the bathroom and pretty much everywhere you need one. Nice sized walk in closet. Three very large floor to ceiling windows with automatic shades controlled from several places throughout the room.

Bathroom is large and includes a separate tub and seated area along with the shower inside of the same walled area. Includes a rain type shower head in the ceiling, along with optional handheld shower heads on the wall and another for use in the bathtub.

The bed was comfortable; I feel like Hyatt opted for something more comfortable in their renovation than they've had in the past. This is room I definitely wanted to come "home" to at the end of my busy days.

Fitness center is not large but has modern LifeFitness equipment. About 6 treadmills, 5 or so ellipticals, a few bikes, and weight machines.

The front door area is under construction, but this didn't cause any problems with my stay. The concierge and front desk staffs are top notch when it comes to customer service.

I was on a top floor and did still hear street noise at time, but am not a light sleeper and it didn't cause any problem for me.

Room Tip: Ask when you check in which rooms safe quieter. I was on a very high floor and still heard street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your compliments on our recent renovation. We put a lot of thoughts into the newly designed guestroom/suite and it is great to hear positive feedback from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed all the modern features in your suite. Your kind words on our staff is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share it with them. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    996
    305
    84
    49
See reviews for
486
786
143
594
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This the second time I stayed here & it's been a very pleasent experience again, so I thought to write a Good review on them! Location is Fantastic, just around the corner of Union Sq!
Very Comfortable Newly rennovated rooms & great services! At the moment they're rennovating the Lounge area, as they're very organize so nothing really gets in the way. I'll be back. Oh WIFI is excellent!

Room Tip: Choose a Room that faces The Bay, Nice View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear soulparis,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and welcome back. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location and our newly renovated guestroom. Please do come back and see us again soon for the complete lobby renovation towards the end of this year!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Pros:
* Elegant room and bathroom design.
* Attractive offers because of renovation.
* The WiFi was free to my surprise (perhaps also because of the renovation).
* Location right around the corner from Union Square.

Cons:
* Noisy rooms - windows are old and don't close properly. What's even worse is that the aircon/heater cannot be switched off and is always blowing.
* My "City view" room on the 21st floor had a vastly different view from the 36th floor, so insist on a high floor.
* Breakfast buffet ($23) is rather limited for a hotel of this size and class (a Hilton Garden Inn has more variety).
* No place to hang towels in bathroom.
* Towels so fluffy one is covered in a layer of white fluff after showering...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hotel is lovely, rooms comfortable, there is free wifi if you only want to email and catch up on social media. Starbucks across the road, Self Service laundry 3min walk on Bush St. One block to trolley (Powell St) to Fisherman's Wharf. My only disappointment and maybe it is due to current renovations, was it was not clear how to check in, people standing all over the place, nowhere to queue, I ended up using self service kiosk beause I couldn't get assistance from anyone. I had to find someone to ask where lifts were, not helful at all! I was disappointed we were given 2 Dbl beds instead of the King I requested 4 months earlier as it was our 25th wedding anniversary...how romantic! I didn't bother to complain as we were able to check in early at midday which was a bonus. The restaurant / bar on 36th floor is great with wonderful views of the city and bay, great place to pass time when waiting for airport shuttle! Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary. Great to hear you enjoyed the convenient location and the beautiful view from our restaurant. We tried hard to accommodate all of our guests' requests and we apologize for not able to fulfill your bedding preference. We are almost finished with the lobby renovation and once it is completed, the flow will be much better and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. We appreciate you choosing the Grand Hyatt San Francisco and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My daughter and I shared a mini vacay in August and stayed at this hotel. We loved the hotel and our room was very shi shi . Other than the construction in the lobby we found all the staff we spoke to to be very friendly and helpful. The location was central to everything. Just a short walk to famous, Chinatown. Very easy to get around the city at this location and the concierge was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and patient with directions. The restaurant at the top had some breathtaking views once the fog blew over. Comfortable beds and a quiet floor made this stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: any room above 17th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Lori E,

Wow! Thank you for the 5-star review! We are thrilled you and your daughter had such a great experience with us! Our location is definitely unbeatable, close to shopping and many attractions! It is always great to hear compliments on our staff. Please come back and see us again soon!

Truly yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in September. It is a very nice hotel right on union square. The rooms are modern and very clean. There is a nice top floor restaurant and bar overlooking the city. The staff were lovely and helpful. The cable car is a short stroll away which u can ride down to Fisherman warf. My only complaint was the wait for breakfast on Sunday morning, otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,AB
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We knew that the lobby of the hotel was undergoing a reno and it was not a problem. Our room was as requested with 2 double beds; rooms were also recently renovated and were well laid out and appointed. My only real complaint was with the sliding door to the bathroom - feels like the door is not quite closed and lacked some privacy. The bed was wonderful and gave a great sleep. We also enjoyed the Grandviews Lounge - we shared a Caesar salad and the pizza - plenty for 2 people. The staff at the concierge desk were very helpful and knowlegeable. the location was great; close to all the great shops and Union Square. Only other complaint was that it was pricey and yet local calls were $1 each (!!) and the internet was $15/day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.