We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch off Union Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt San Francisco to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #27 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Top Notch off Union Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

All personnel were extremely pleasant and knowledgeable. Great service from doormen, to check-in, to cleaning staff. Newly redecorated room with flat screen TV. Rewired with easy access to outlets to charge electronic gear, plug in iPod to telephone speaker system, USB port, etc. Unfortunately, room has very little drawer space, which is OK if u are here for 1 night. We were here for a week. Do hotel room designers ever stay in a hotel room? They charge for WiFi access & busn ctr! Seems they are stuck in the 90s. Why is it that lower priced hotels provide these necessities free while more expensive hotels want to nickel & dime u [I mean $5 and $10 u]? Location 1 block N of Union Sq, Macy's, Geary St art galleries, 2 blocks N of Westfield Mall & 1 block W of Gump's is great.

Room Tip: High floor for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    1,064
    326
    91
    54
See reviews for
531
838
149
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Ok it may have been partly due to jetlag but the super large bed at the Grand Hyatt was luxurious! Our room had traditional decor and was spacious with ample wardrobe space, drawer and desk space and coffee machine. Our views were good and if you want a suer view without paying the price for the restaurant just go up to the top floor bar and order .... for me, a cocktail thanks! Was lovely! We did visit the restaurant on the final night of our stay and the view was....clouds mainly! The meal was lovely although priced to match! This hotel has an ideal location and Id suggest that if you are staying even just a few days go for this location over the pier/seafront - you can easily get the wooden cable car right down to the seafront from here. Even better its a quality location with a super "square" - Union Square which often has dancing/music on its little stage - nice little benches to sit and watch the world go by. Fantastic shops in the vicinity - Ugg, Tiffany, all the high end "stores" to try out makeup, clothing, etc and a super indoor shopping mall with an Abercrombie and Fitch down the road at much cheaper than New York prices! Do try out the cable cars - you really have to experience it! We went to Teattro Zinzanni and it was one of the best theatre/entertainment experiences we have ever had. Do Alcatraz, go on a wine tour - oh theres so much to do I just want to go back! Take clothing to suit any weather as the seafront really can be blowy. Being Scottish I am quite used to it but if you are not, you will feel the chill! Then up at Union Square roasting sunshine! Layers I believe are the way to go! Enjoy San Fransisco!

Room Tip: higher floor will probably mean best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Jacmor63:

Thank you for going out of your way to share your feedback on your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Washington. We appreciate you going into such detail about the time you've spent with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to our area. Your referral is our biggest compliment.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Room is great for price and number of stars. Lobby is cold. Breakfast is very good. Gym is superb, bar at the top is somewhat stylish with great views bud bad service. Location is amazing. Valet parking is expensive but there is cheap alternative across the street.
First night the room on lower floor was very noisy (they did get the insulation wrong) so we had to move at 3am to a higher floor which had no problems with noise (rubbish men lingered below our window for more than an hour). Second day the room was not cleaned and we realised at 9pm by which time it was too late for them to clean. They did give us free breakfast (and also offered to waive the rate for one night but our rate was prepaid) .
Would give it 4 stars for the price etc. but they lose a star for insulation and bad housekeeping on one day (to be fair the room was spotless for the rest of the days)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel has everything you expect from a Grand Hyatt. Nice location. Great rooms. Fun bar. Decent food.

Where this hotel stood out was the service. The staff members were very helpful and efficient. I used the concierge A LOT (I don't spend much time in SF, so I had several questions and needed assistance and advice). Every concierge I used was top notch. They were efficient. They were helpful. They were accommodating. They never tried to put me off or discourage me from seeking help (I find some concierges do this ... they try to discourage your use of them by being off-putting). The concierges were great. Even better than the hotel itself ... which says a lot!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for sharing this with us. We're delighted to hear that were able to go above and beyond your expectations. Our staff works hard to ensure all of our guests feel right at home and we're glad they were able to make you feel that as well. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our staff.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nice hotel at a great location. However service could be better. At check-in I was told the room they reserved for me was a handicap room and asked if I wanted to change to a different room. I said fine but he ended up giving me a 5th floor room! No view and the drain for the bathtub didn't even work! The electric curtains were nice though.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level for better view, my room had no view or privacy as it was blocked by other buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

As a diamond member, I would of expected a slightly better service. but I guess being treated as a single guest and looking quite young - there was some form of assessment they got wrong.

The food from the upper restraunt was ok, service was ok, and the rooms you guessed it.

There was lots of maintenance work going on in the and around the building and I wasn't made aware of that prior to the booking. Next time, I'll try another location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The rooms have been sleekly redone, lots of counterspace and our room was quite large with good lighting. We had a high floor and a view over the city to the bay which was very nice, better than I have had at other SF hotels. The closet was awkward and a little small with little drawer room unfortunately and the bathroom was on the smallish size.
Excellent location, only a block from Union Square. The lobby however has few places to sit and is cold and somewhat confusing. Personnel were friendly for the most part but we did not use many of the services.
San Francisco is an expensive hotel city and this space is no different. I would however stay again, at least in a view room

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Amex, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.