We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt San Francisco to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #30 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Newly renovated!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had a pleasant one night stay here. It's been renovated recently, which is nice, but I can see how for some, the smell of new paint and decor might be bothersome. If you are sensitive to that, wait a while to stay here! I absolutely loved the mini-bathtub sink, as I find that sinks at most hotels are too small.

Wifi is available in the room, but I believe it's USD10.00. The good thing is that there's a Starbucks right across from the hotel, so you could go there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    997
    305
    84
    49
See reviews for
487
786
143
594
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Union Square is a great location to use a home base for a stay in San Francisco! We asked for, and got, a high level room (25th floor, out of 36, not bad), and although it was a west looking view, it was very nice! The room itself was redone and very modern! A bit of a negative was how thin the walls seemed to be ... the people in the next room sounded like they were actually in our room ... not what you'd expect from a high-end hotel.

I was very impressed by the conceirge service! We hadn't been to San Francisco for many years and needed some direction with local restaurants and sights. Joanna Husk (Concierge and Member of Les Clefs d'Or USA Ltd.) was possibly the best conceirge I've ever dealt with. She took the time to understand what we were interested in and provided us with maps, site-seeing suggestions, and an extensive list of restaurants within walking distance ... then she gave us specific recommendations to meet our interests. It's this type of service that makes you want to come back to a hotel!

As far as location, it was ideal. Easy to walk just about anywhere, as long as you have the time and stamina, up and down the hills! We walked to Nob Hill, Telegraph Hill, Fisherman's Wharf, and Ghiradelli Square. A beautiful city!!

One of the great features of the hotel is Grandviews restaurant, on the 36th floor. I probably wouldn't recommend it for dinner, but what a great view for breakfast!!! Our room rate included breakfast for 2 each day (anything you want) ... all you have to pay for is the tip ... a good deal!

Parking is another issue, but I'd recommend passing on the valet parking (way overpriced!) and park at the garage on the opposite corner of Stockton and Sutter streets ... right across from the hotel. Although it wasn't cheep, it was very convenient and much less than valet. We spent a day over in Golden Gate Park, and then over to the Golden Gate Bridge (which are too far to walk) and it was great to have the car accessable.

I know it's still "par for the course" at high-end hotels, but why do they charge for internet service? I'd highly recommend that they make this a free service, just like they do at most lower level and business hotels!

All in all a very pleasureable experience!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor - great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I've stayed here a few times and every time was a great experience. Great location and everything in the hotel is up to date and modern. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The gym is spacious with modern equipment. The price is obviously a little high, but they sometimes have good deals even during peak season.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for providing our property with your feedback on your recent stay. I am thrilled that you had a great experience during your stay. With our great location and newly renovated rooms you are guaranteed to have a memorable experience. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

The staff treated you like you were at the Ritz Carlton! Exceptional customer service. Would highly recommend staying there. Rooms have recently been redone--beautiful with beautiful views of the city and bay....Again, the staff went out of their way to may our stay exceptional!! Only thing I would change is they need to offer free internet!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel. We're thrilled that our staff went above and beyond your expectations. We hope you'll join us again for your next stay in San Francisco.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in a newly refurbished room. Very well appointed.
The concierge service at this hotel was wonderful. Like a private guide looking after your every need. Once the teamunderstood what experiences I was looking for, they never missed the mark. Restaurant recommendations and bookings in particular.
Thanks team, I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you for providing our property with feedback on your recent stay. It sounds like you had a great experience with our concierge team. I am pleased that their recommendations were spot on. Your referral is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Hyatt Grand is a great hotel if you want to stay right in the heart of SF. Steps away from Union Square...you can't beat the location.

Service was great during my stay. Rooms seem recently renovated and were very nice. The only complaint was you could hear a bit of street noise.

All in All a great place to stay in SF.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Highly recommend this hotel for a San Fransisco Stay. Great location for shopping, restaurants and site seeing. Our room was newly renovated and very clean. All of the staff from the Valet to the Housekeeping Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt San Francisco, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear zsazsa22:

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt San Francisco. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We are very conveniently located close to many shops, restaurants & attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Francisco

Address: 345 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the newly renovated Grand Hyatt is steps away form World Premier Shopping, cable cars, Chinatown, the Convention Center. Guests at Grand Hyatt enjoy exquisite comfort & amenities including a complimentary Fitness Center, daily newspapers, free internet access at OneUP restaurant and lobby area and the ultimate sleep experience in a "Grand Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.