We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Urban Escape Offer
Ranked #17 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Juan Capistrano
1 review
“Great Team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

From the time I parked my car to take the luggages out to the time they were loaded for our departure, the Galleria Park Hotel team was excellent in every way. Everything was done with a warm smile, every request was met immediately. The staff was knowledgeable about the SF area and made suggestions that made our visit easier. Centrally located, we easily walked to Chinatown, Union Square and the shopping area.

Our room was nice, comfortable and quiet. The WiFi worked well and was free!

I would highly recommend Galleria Park Hotel to tourists as well as business travelers.

Danilo

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    607
    413
    105
    33
    17
See reviews for
173
418
87
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel in a great location in the heart of the financial district! Coffee shop on one side, a cute wine bar on the other, Union Square nearby and plenty of shopping and eateries besides. Add to that impeccable service with a smile from the entire staff and you have a great reason to visit San Francisco. Thanks, all at Galleria Park for a lovely time!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay in this classy, hip, and modern boutique hotel! Service was excellent -- front desk was always so helpful. Because it's a smaller hotel, I felt they paid better attention to my needs -- and were always prompt if I ever needed anything. What I loved most was hotel's proximity to all the great shops, Union Square, Chinatown -- all located less than 5 minutes from the hotel! Also, tons of cute restaurants/bars right near the hotel. Perfect stay, perfect location. It also felt good to support a hotel that cares so much about the environment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my first time to stay in a boutique hotel and I was very pleased! The location alone is worth the price of a night's stay especially since I wanted to be car-free during my visit. Every place that I wanted to go to in the city was within walking distance - Union Square, Chinatown, shopping district, museums, and restaurants. Cable car stations are nearby, and the BART is only 2 blocks away.

The hotel lobby is gorgeously decorated, yet inviting. The courtyard/terrace on the third floor was a welcome surprise. I love the gardens and seeing some greenery while relaxing on one of the benches. I even enjoyed my late afternoon complimentary glass of wine up on the terrace!

Rooms with 2 full size beds are a bit small, but still cozy and inviting. What matters most is that the rooms are clean, and the bed was comfy. Service was great and every staff member I met since day 1 were nice and friendly. Yes, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking into staying in the heart of the city!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our entire Board of Directors and VIP Guests stayed at the Galleria Park Hotel this weekend and had a fantastic experience. From reservations to check-in to room service we were greeted with the greatest warmth and hospitality. The rooms were beautiful and well appointed. They even accommodated special needs for my family. Also, the location of the hotel is very central to many of the things you would want to see in SF. Close to shopping, theater and great restaurants... it's great to walk around the neighborhood and enjoy some of the best of SF!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Generally speaking if a hotel has the word "boutique" in its description this means expect overpriced and old and this hotel certainly can claim this. Nice renovated bathrooms but old doors that require a real key (real keys still exist..?), very slow and constantly disconnecting wifi, no central heating and no thermostat in the room means constant manual operating of the AC. Yes it is quaint with its fireplace in the lobby, and the location is good if you want CBD access, but really for the price just stay elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Nickcom,

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Feedback, such as yours, is the best way to improve the hotels service standards and amenities.

I want to truly apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay and that we did not meet your expectations. I am not quite sure what you meant with an old key as all our guestrooms have electronic locks. We also recently upgraded our WiFi network by adding access points throughout the building and increasing the bandwidth 3x faster. I'm sorry that your experience with our WiFi was not parallel to what we were trying to achieve with our network upgrade.

While we make every attempt to ensure that all guests receive a truly warm and unique experience and a comfortable room, it is apparent that that did not occur in this case and for that I truly apologize.

Thank you again for your feedback and should you return to the area, I would very much like to have you stay with us and give us another chance – if you do, would you please let me know once you have made your reservation, as I would like to personally make sure that we provide you with a better accommodation prior to your arrival.

If there is anything else I can do, or if you would like to discuss further, please do not hesitate and I would be happy to assist.

Best Regards,


James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
415-835-6473
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights on a road trip and enjoyed our stay. As ever Tripadvisor was invaluable in helping us to choose hotel and request room.

Pros - amazing location, very helpful staff, nightly wine hour, lovely comfy bed and clean, well presented room. Ours was smaller than other US rooms ( as expected in San Fran), but had free wifi and was cool and quiet ( requested internal room based on other feedback).

Con - expensive valet parking (again perhaps as expected in SF).

Would we stay again? Yes. Definitely.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Fi-W-Scotland,

Thank you for taking the time to share the pros and cons of staying in our hotel, based on your recent experience.

We are very lucky to have one of the best locations in San Francisco, just a few steps away from Union Square, Chinatown and other major sights. More importantly, I am very pleased to hear that you liked our staff as it's what I personally value the most. It's also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, including our nightly wine hour, our beds, the overall presentation of the room and our recently upgraded WiFi.

I am sorry to hear that you found our valet parking charge expensive. I agree that due to limited parking spaces in the City, hotels and parking garages charge a premium rate. We recently shopped the cost of overnight, valet parking in other hotels in the City and our rate is actually less expensive than the average.

Thank you for taking the time to share your views about our hotel. I am looking forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco someday.

Sincerely,


James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco
Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.