We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with 5 Star Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Anselmo, California
1 review
“Great Hotel with 5 Star Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I had a great experience at the Galleria Park Hotel. We stayed for the weekend and used the valet for our car. The 5 star service and great central location was everything we could hope for and more. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    643
    445
    109
    32
    14
See reviews for
197
461
95
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location of this hotel was very convenient for my work place and also the public transport options. The front desk staff were very welcoming and charming. The room was a decent size with a massively tall bed- which was comfortable and afforded me a couple of nights good sleep. Morning coffee/tea in the mezzanine, and late afternoon wine tastings. I did see a number of well behaved dogs around as this is a pet friendly hotel. Bathroom was fine. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is just like the photos on their web site... a beautiful character hotel a hundred years old, but with modern bathrooms and modern conveniences.

The location is a short walk from Chinatown and Union Square.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I booked the "cars stay free" deal, and our experience was great. We arrived at 2:30 p.m., so we did have to wait for our room to become available but were able to park, leave our bags and explore the city. When we returned, our room was ready and consisted of a bedroom, bathroom and large separate sitting room with sofa, chairs, dining table, etc! I don't know how we scored this upgrade, but it was very clean, stylish, and comfortable with great views. We could have easily slept 2-3 more people in this large suite. The staff was pleasant during check-in, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Galleria Park with my fiancé for our 3rd anniversary. I also travel a quite a bit for work, but have never been to this hotel in SF before. It's definitely a hidden gem. Right next to Union Square and Chinatown, and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. One of the people at the front desk, Antonio, even gave us some great restaurants to try out. It was fantastic, and we felt more like family than hotel guests. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for something more than a cookie-cutter chain hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choteau, Montana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We got a great last minute deal on the newly renovated Galleria Park. Location was ideally central for Chinatown, Union Square, and the Ferry. Everything was spotless and tasteful, and the staff was exceptionally accomodating, especially the valet. The third floor garden and walking path is a nice refuge, and the morning mezzanine coffee and afternoon lobby wine tasting is complimentary . As others have noted, don't expect to do any hula-hooping in the bathroom!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I traveled to San Francisco for continuing education and took my husband and 19 month-old with me. The hotel was very comfortable and accomodating. The location was perfect - close enough for me to walk to my class but also for my family to go exploring the city from a safe location. Easy, short walk to Market Street, Union Square, etc. The location is in the financial district and just far enough off the main drag that it is very quiet at night - perfect for a sleeping baby! If you want dinner in the evening you do need to walk towards Union Square as no restaurants in the financial district are open past 6. The room was small but efficient with drawers and shelves in the bathroom - plenty big for 2 adults, a pack n play, and all of the paraphenalia that a kid requires. The terrace on the 3rd floor was perfect for getting out and letting the kid run around in a clean, safe area. We will visit this hotel again!

Room Tip: 2nd floor was very quiet - the conference rooms, business center and fitness room are in this level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.