We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing people work here, customer service is the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Off
Ranked #12 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing people work here, customer service is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Camisha and the rest of the staff went above and beyond! The hotel has a great location, but the people truly set this hotel apart! The wine happy hour is a great touch. The staff made great suggestions, including great happy hours

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Maximus Oliver,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at the Galleria Park Hotel. I wholeheartedly agree with you that our employees' authentic service and their drive to make each of our guests' stay memorable, set us apart from other hotels. I am very, very proud of them.

I shared your review with our staff and also thanked Camisha for making a difference in your stay. I hope to meet you personally when you come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,


James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    469
    119
    32
    14
See reviews for
210
490
98
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here based on a recommendation from some family members, and we were not disappointed!
The location is great, very central and easily accessible. Around the corner there is a great place for breakfast, too. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff were friendly and polite.
What we enjoyed most of all was the free wine reception late each afternoon. It was a great way to meet fellow travelers, and to sample some local wine.
Overall, this hotel is a great value, and will not disappoint!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear D_and_G_66,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review on Tripadvisor. The Galleria Park team is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I'm glad that you found your room spacious, clean and quiet. Our location is indeed one of the best in San Francisco as it's near the major sights in the City and we're located where it's less noisy. Our wine hour is the most popular amenity in our hotel as it has become a social gathering where guests meet and talk about what to see in San Francisco, where to eat, discuss current events, or just gain new friends from all over the world. My managers and I take turns to host the evening wine hour and we enjoy meeting our guests as well.

I hope that you visit us soon. Thank you for choosing the Galleria Park Hotel.

Sincerely,

James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Galleria Park is a small, boutique hotel located near the financial district, North Beach and Chinatown. The building is old and beautiful inside and out. Our room was small but nicely furnished and the bathroom had modern finishes. The ceilings are high and help to make the room feel more spacious. WiFi is free, which is always a huge plus. There is a charge for valet parking (unlimited in and out privileges) but the convenience was worth it. The hallways and public spaces are nicely decorated and well maintained. The staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We usually stay in the financial district at a major chain hotel, but we enjoyed this stay so much we are looking forward to staying at the Galleria Park again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Janet C.,

Thank you so very much for the amazing 5 star review on TripAdvisor. We are so excited to read that you decided to give us a chance and thrilled to hear that you had such a great time. Additionally, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed not only our location but also our century old hotel, our modern design touches and our friendly team.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to Galleria Park and thanks again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very friendly staff; working to make sure you have a good stay. Good clean room, nicely decorated with a comfy bed. Convenient location on Sutter and Kearny.
However, the bathroom is very small and the nice looking glass shower doesn't have much room in it either. Since I don't like the noise from the old-fashion window mounted air unit, I was glad the window, until I heard the street noise; and i was up on the 7th floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear DrFritz,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey.

I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed our services and amenities, particularly our staff who work hard every day to make our guests' stay memorable.

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the size of our bathrooms. As one of the historic hotels in San Francisco we do have a number of different room layouts and configurations. I'm hoping that the next time you visit and stay with us, we would be able to provide you with a larger bathroom.

I hope you consider staying with us again in the near future. I'd love to hear from you when you're coming next so that I can provide you with the appropriate accommodation.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,


James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

After arriving after about 16 hours of travelling, we were greeted at the front desk by a very friendly, smiley and polite young man. He checked us in and offered other advice and said if there was anything else please feel free to ask. We thought this was above and beyond what would be expected in an inner-city, relatively faceless hotel so we were very happy and grateful for his welcoming attitude. It was a brilliant start to our four-week holiday in the US and we'd love to commend him if we could just remember his name (check-in afternoon of Wednesday, 29 May).

The room itself and the bathroom was relatively small but we still had a bath as well as a shower. There was a large cooler of orange water in the foyer and free wine tasting in the evening which my husband took advantage of. Four stars as the price was quite a lot (US225 for one night), but it's hard to compare when we don't know the prices of other establishments in the area. Four and a half stars really!

Great location for a walk around town in the day or evening. Beautiful, trendy cafe next door (Bread and Cocoa) with friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH_11, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Claire,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel.

I sincerely appreciate you choosing our hotel as we know there are plenty of other hotels that you could have stayed with this past visit. I am very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that our staff exceeded your expectations the first day you entered our doors.

It's good to know that you enjoyed Bread and Cocoa next door. This summer, a new French restaurant in the hotel will open. And last month, the Aquitaine wine bar opened as well.

We hope to welcome you back soon on your next trip to San Francisco.

Sincerely,

James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in a room that was not on the street. While they were having construction on the hotel at the time, it was pretty non-invasive. The staff was very attentive and depending on what places you want to see in San Francisco the location is hard to beat. You are within walking distance to Union Square and Chinatown gate (2-5 blocks). We made the walk to fishermans wharf one afternoon(it's a little longer, but doable if you don't mind walking some hills). Taxi's are easy to catch out in front of the hotel, and the bus line is very functional as well. In fact, there was a bus line right across the street that took us to the 49er game that Sunday(love it).

Our room was a little on the small side, but very clean and made up nicely. Overall, this hotel is a good home base for the San Francisco tourist.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH_11, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear thezackman,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay.
We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay with us and enjoyed our prime location, just steps away from Union Square, Chinatown, and other San Francisco's "must see" sights.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco.

Best,

James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at Galleria Park hotel from April 29 to May 2 (checkout).

Firstly, we were given a very small room. We were so tired from our 15 hour flight from Sydney that all we wanted was to check in and freshen up. The front desk did call us asking whether the room was ok. We should have complained and asked for a bigger room. The room was so small for two people that beside the bed there was not much room left on either side.

The room had a very strong smell of bleach. While it was clean, the smell of bleach was nauseating.

The position of the air conditioner was totally wrong. It was placed in such a position (right next to window at bed level) behind the thick curtains that if you close the curtains then you dont feel any a/c and it can get hot at night. But if you leave the curtain partially open, then in the morning, direct sunlight hits your eyes. Because this was our first trip to San Francisco and we spent most of our time there exploring SF, we didnt make much of a fuss about this.

But next time we are in SF, we wont be staying here.

Other issues include the proximity of the hotel. While it is theoretically in union square, you have to walk about 8 min to get to the actual union square opposite the Macy's. Also there are not many eateries near this hotel. There is a cafe right next to the hotel, but for lunch/dinner, you need to make your way either to chinatown or near the union square.

Room Tip: If rooms are small, notify front desk immediately and ask for a better room. Ensure that a/c is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPH_11, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Rkbira,

Thank you for sharing your feedback in regard to your most recent visit. Please accept our most humble apologies for failing to provide you with an adequate room. While we are pleased to inform you that in 2013 we are renovating and refreshing our rooms, we truly regret learning about the challenges of your accommodation and will use your comments for our immediate internal follow-up.

I am sorry to hear that you did not find our location to be near the main Union Square. We have many restaurants that are steps away from the hotel, but mostly in alley ways such as Belden Lane where they have Plouf, B44, Cafe Tiramisu and many others This lane is just a block and half away from the hotel. A block away from the hotel are Gitane, Cafe Claude and Claudine. They are not easily seen from the streets. I wished that we were able to provide you with a list of restaurants that my staff put together for our guests.

Most recently, Aquitaine wine bar opened next door to the hotel. In a month or so, our new restaurant in the hotel called, Gaspar Brasserie, will open its doors.

We sincerely hope you will visit us again and give us another opportunity to be at your service. Thank you for helping us to improve our product.

Sincerely,

James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.