We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hassle Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked in to the galleria hotel we felt relaxed. Very nicely decorated and the staff are all friendly. The gentleman that checked us in congratualted us on our wedding as we were there on our honeymoon, they upgraded us to a kingsize room which was a lovely extra. Also later in the evening we received a gift to our room of flowers, wine, chocolates, cheese and grapes. This was a fabulous touch. The hotel is next to a great coffee shop called bread and cocco. The all the beverages and food are fresh and taste amazing we had breakfast there every day. All in all the galleria is a great hotel. We will be back to the hotel as the staff made our trip and we also loved san fran!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mampha1988,

Congratulations! Thank you for selecting our hotel during your honeymoon.

I am pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with a complimentary upgrade and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we see you back in San Francisco on your 1st year anniversary! But we would love to see you again before then.

All the Best,

James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    492
    122
    33
    14
See reviews for
221
508
104
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here recently on business. There were about 15 of us, each in a different room. My room was a larger corner room and I really liked the hotel. Comfortable, had real character, great staff, and a safe jogging/walking track on the 3rd floor outdoor courtyard. Keurig machine in each room.

Some in our group, though, reported having very small, oddly configured rooms, one so bad she requested to be moved (sink not even in the bathroom, and she couldn't fit in shower as it was tiny and she was pregnant).

Consensus of the group was if you had a good room, great hotel. If you had one of the many odd shaped and tiny rooms, horrible hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger corner rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent, even had separate trash receptacles in the room - one dedicated to recycled goods.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Caffeinated,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your and your groups recent experience at our hotel! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, it's character, our great staff and some of the unique amenities our century old hotel offers.

I am sorry to read that some of your group didn't share the same feelings as you did in regards of your room. As one of the older hotels in San Francisco we do have a number of different room layouts and configurations. We like to think that it helps us in finding each of our guests a room that accommodates their needs. Again, I apologize for not meeting some of your group's expectations.

If you our any of your group decide to visit us again please do not hesitate to contact me personally so I can select a room that best fits your needs.

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

When you enter Galleria Park Hotel, you experience class, an understated elegance; and excellent staff service. We stayed for a couple nights at the hotel. From the valet, bellhop to the reception, we felt the warm welcome and friendly atmosphere. Room 808 was beautiful, spacious for a boutique hotel and comfortable beds, but moreso, the hotel rate is reasonable for a centrally located San Francsico. It is a couple blocks from Union Square, the high end shopping; and entertainment areas. Also convenient for business travelers in the financial district. The nightly wine reception is so great to either start the evening or coming back to wind down. Management and staff provide high standard of service. I would recommend in a heartbeat! Will make sure to come back.

Green Features: I applaud Galleria Park Hotel for its environmental-friendly practices; further exhibiting the social consciouness and caring nature of management.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear SDFitz,

Thank you so very much for the wonderful 5 star review! I am elated to hear that you and your family had such a great experience with us. Along with our very unique product and design our team works very hard to provide friendly, knowledgeable and personalized service. Thank you for recognizing both aspects of your stay.

We cannot wait to welcome you back! Please let me know if I can be of any assistance upon your return.

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Galleria Park for one night and wish we were there for longer! To start off the front desk staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are also brilliant and modern with comfy beds. Location is also great it is a 5 minute walk to Union Square and close to many dining options. This is a great modern, boutique hotel and in central San Francisco and is a great hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Amazing boutique hotel with super-friendly staff; excellent location in the heart of the Union Square area; nice-sized, well decorated rooms; high-end linens and bathroom products. Will definitely return!

Green Features: Very concious about the environment; recycling bin in the room.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Flashing_Lights111,

First, THANK YOU for the rave 5 star review on TripAdvisor. Second, THANK YOU for highlighting some of the great aspects of our hotel with service being first. We are so proud of the team we have at Galleria Park. Additionally, we are thrilled that you enjoyed not only our location but also our decor, linens and amenities.

We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After making a reservation in downtown SF for $280/night, I decided to try PriceLine. $280 is a lot of money, so I wanted to see if I could get a decent hotel for less. Low and behold, I grabbed this hotel on a Friday night for $180. Well worth the money considering how much comparable hotels run.

At check in, the receptionist was very welcoming and accomodated me with an early check-in. They have free wi-fi throughout the hotel and a complimentary wine hour in the lobby each evening. They don't have a lot of staff working the front, so it can get busy with people asking for advice on getting around, etc. But everyone is pleasant.

My room was small, but clean with a great shower and nice bathroom products. My only complaint would be that the halls conduct sound too well. The doors close hard so you can hear them closing up and down the hall as well as people having conversations as they walk by. Honestly, that is my only complaint.

The hotel is within walking distance of BART, the cable car, Union Square, and the Embarcadero. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but we could not have anticipated the special welcome and attention that we received from JOEL (the wonderful man who had made our reservation) as well as WENDY (oh, that gracious darling, with her beautiful smile!), CAMISHA (the first person to greet us...as charming as she is gorgeous!), CHRIS, and RICHARD! These staff members personalized our stay with treats and warmth. This kind of attention to guests goes far beyond official training because the personalities involved in the service are just so incredible!
Thank you to all!

Room Tip: Call Joel directly! Boutique hotels in many cities have small rooms and bathrooms, but the servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Exciting,

WOW! Thank you so much for the amazing 5 star review on TripAdivsor. We couldn't be happier to read how wonderful you thought your experience was and how Joel, Wendy, Camisha, Chris and Richard all had an integral part to play. We are so proud of the team we have at the Galleria Park so thank you for acknowledging their efforts.

We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.