We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, Great Service, Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Galleria Park Hotel to your Saves list
Galleria Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
San Francisco Pride
Ranked #18 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Classy, Great Service, Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

When you enter Galleria Park Hotel, you experience class, an understated elegance; and excellent staff service. We stayed for a couple nights at the hotel. From the valet, bellhop to the reception, we felt the warm welcome and friendly atmosphere. Room 808 was beautiful, spacious for a boutique hotel and comfortable beds, but moreso, the hotel rate is reasonable for a centrally located San Francsico. It is a couple blocks from Union Square, the high end shopping; and entertainment areas. Also convenient for business travelers in the financial district. The nightly wine reception is so great to either start the evening or coming back to wind down. Management and staff provide high standard of service. I would recommend in a heartbeat! Will make sure to come back.

Green Features: I applaud Galleria Park Hotel for its environmental-friendly practices; further exhibiting the social consciouness and caring nature of management.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear SDFitz,

Thank you so very much for the wonderful 5 star review! I am elated to hear that you and your family had such a great experience with us. Along with our very unique product and design our team works very hard to provide friendly, knowledgeable and personalized service. Thank you for recognizing both aspects of your stay.

We cannot wait to welcome you back! Please let me know if I can be of any assistance upon your return.

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    540
    136
    33
    14
See reviews for
232
560
107
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Galleria Park for one night and wish we were there for longer! To start off the front desk staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are also brilliant and modern with comfy beds. Location is also great it is a 5 minute walk to Union Square and close to many dining options. This is a great modern, boutique hotel and in central San Francisco and is a great hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Amazing boutique hotel with super-friendly staff; excellent location in the heart of the Union Square area; nice-sized, well decorated rooms; high-end linens and bathroom products. Will definitely return!

Green Features: Very concious about the environment; recycling bin in the room.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Flashing_Lights111,

First, THANK YOU for the rave 5 star review on TripAdvisor. Second, THANK YOU for highlighting some of the great aspects of our hotel with service being first. We are so proud of the team we have at Galleria Park. Additionally, we are thrilled that you enjoyed not only our location but also our decor, linens and amenities.

We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After making a reservation in downtown SF for $280/night, I decided to try PriceLine. $280 is a lot of money, so I wanted to see if I could get a decent hotel for less. Low and behold, I grabbed this hotel on a Friday night for $180. Well worth the money considering how much comparable hotels run.

At check in, the receptionist was very welcoming and accomodated me with an early check-in. They have free wi-fi throughout the hotel and a complimentary wine hour in the lobby each evening. They don't have a lot of staff working the front, so it can get busy with people asking for advice on getting around, etc. But everyone is pleasant.

My room was small, but clean with a great shower and nice bathroom products. My only complaint would be that the halls conduct sound too well. The doors close hard so you can hear them closing up and down the hall as well as people having conversations as they walk by. Honestly, that is my only complaint.

The hotel is within walking distance of BART, the cable car, Union Square, and the Embarcadero. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but we could not have anticipated the special welcome and attention that we received from JOEL (the wonderful man who had made our reservation) as well as WENDY (oh, that gracious darling, with her beautiful smile!), CAMISHA (the first person to greet us...as charming as she is gorgeous!), CHRIS, and RICHARD! These staff members personalized our stay with treats and warmth. This kind of attention to guests goes far beyond official training because the personalities involved in the service are just so incredible!
Thank you to all!

Room Tip: Call Joel directly! Boutique hotels in many cities have small rooms and bathrooms, but the servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Exciting,

WOW! Thank you so much for the amazing 5 star review on TripAdivsor. We couldn't be happier to read how wonderful you thought your experience was and how Joel, Wendy, Camisha, Chris and Richard all had an integral part to play. We are so proud of the team we have at the Galleria Park so thank you for acknowledging their efforts.

We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were given a complimentary 2 nights stay at the Galleria Park Hotel by my cousins wedding (bride/groom). From the moment you step up the front door, the great service starts. We checked in very late at night but we were greeted promptly, helped us with our bags. At the front desk, the gentleman behind the front counter was very pleasant and very accomodating. Although I mentioned that our stay was compliments of the bride and groom (since we were coming all the way from the east coast - the farthest traveling from), the hotel's policy was to take a deposit for incidentals.
The hotel was very clean, service was great. Staff were all friendly!!! However, they were renovating their restaurant at the time of our visit and was not ready till early summer. So we had to grab our breakfast outside- which wasnt too bad because it was just around the corner.
I like how this hotel is environmentally conscious as well!!!
Check out was a breeze. Though they had to put a hold on my card until the party had checked out and paid the stay.

A week has passed and they still had my money on hold. I looked online and found the GM of the hotel on herr and emailed hom about my concerns. It didnt take too long and received a response from the GM and confirmed that they should release the hold on my card and will hear back from his accounting dept tomorrow.

I gave them a 4 out of 5 due to the extended hold of my deposit. It took me to contAct them for some action. Otherwise, this hotel is very good when it comes to cleanliness, staff friendliness, and their prompt service and location. I will recommend this hotel to friends/ family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We booked the Galleria Park for a 3-night stay based on recommendations of a friend who was familiar with the Joie de Vivre hotel line. Got the best rate, which was very reasonable, by booking directly with the hotel. The hotel's in a great location in downtown SF with easy access to restaurants, shopping, public transit, etc. Front desk staff was most friendly and accommodating upon check in. The lobby is warm and inviting with a fireplace in the corner. Our room was decorated nicely and super clean. Liked that the bathroom had a small window overlooking the street that could be opened for ventilation. The terrace (on the 4th floor, I believe) was like a green and relaxing oasis in the center of the city. Only critical comment is that our king-bed room was limited in size, as is often the case in older hotels. Our traveling companions had a 2-queen-bed room at a little higher rate that was more spacious.

Room Tip: Noise was not a problem for us, but I'd still recommend a room on a higher floor if staying stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#8 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,447 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#5 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,187 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 234 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#13 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galleria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park Hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galleria Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Galleria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.