We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% Off
Ranked #11 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

During a conference, I stayed at the Park Galleria for six nights. It was a lovely and wonderful home away from home. It is wonderfully located, right near a BART station, so travel back and forth to the airport was very easy. My room was adorable. I was on the inside courtyard, so I did not have any trouble with noise. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and perhaps best of all was the third floor courtyard. I enjoyed this courtyard almost every morning and evening. And the wi-fi is free and is fairly fast. I had trouble with Skype video with the free connection, but you can upgrade for $10 a day. Also, there is a nice coffee/breakfast place next door. This hotel is the perfect mix of luxury and down to earth. I highly recommend this hotel if your travels take you to SF.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    475
    119
    32
    14
See reviews for
216
498
100
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was my first trip to San Francisco. This hotel is at the heart of downtown, pretty much everything is within walking distance or a short bus ride. The staff members were very courteous and always eager to help. I was on a business trip, but I was able to curve out a little bit of time here and there to do some site seeing. And the friendly staff member really helped me with how to navigate the city. I'll surely come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Zakir H,

I am very happy to hear that we made your first visit to San Francisco right. We are indeed fortunate to have a central location in the heart of San Francisco where all major sights are walking distance from our hotel.

We hope you visit us again soon so we can welcome you back to City by the Bay and enjoy what it offers.

James Lim
General Manager
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel with my Husband and three adult children, This Hotel was centrally located to everything from shopping, entertainment, and very nice restaurants. What impressed us the most was how welcoming, efficient and hospitable all Staff members were, nothing ever seemed to be a problem, the bellhops and front of desk staff always greeted us with such a wonderful disposition that we felt like we were old friends returning home. We even had a shopping parcel turn up at the hotel after we left and they promptly on sent it to Australia so it arrived safely when we got back. Would definitely stay at the Galleria Park Hotel if we ever return to the wonderful city of San Fran..... Thank you for a memorable stay

Green Features: Nice to see they are eco conscious, they also give you the choice on when you need towels replaced, new sheets etc.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear JanetPat63 and Family,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in our hotel. Your review means a lot to us because we try our very best to make our guests' visits memorable. I shared your comments with my team members, who were elated to hear that you were impressed with our guest services.

We are hoping that you consider visiting San Francisco again so we can welcome you family back to Galleria Park Hotel.

Best,

James Lim
General Manager
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having been in San Francisco the week before, and staying at another JDV hotel (see review elsewhere), reading the earlier reviews I felt a bit of trepidation, as comments referred to thin walls and doors and being able to hear everything in the hall and room next door. I can't help but think these were comments for the Carlton, which is a nice little hotel, but needs serious upgrades in the noise canceling department.

The Galleria Park was great. I asked for an interior room to avoid having to hear any potential street noise. I arrived after midnight, due to flight delays, so my room was ADA compliant. I might ask for that again. Huge bathroom, room to iron your shirt, and a good sized window that opens (I love the fact that you can open the windows for some fresh air if you so desire). The HVAC was quiet too.

Hotel staff were friendly and customer oriented. I did use the car service going back to SFO, as it was the same price as a SFO taxi and more comfortable.

Due to my work schedule, I wasn't able to enjoy the wine hour, but that is an attractive option too. The hotel location is good, there are several restaurants nearby ,and it's only a 15-20 minute walk to my favorite SFO bar, the Amsterdam Cafe.

I would definitely stay here again. I put moderate for price, as $200 for a room in SFO is moderate. The Palace, for example, two blocks away, where my conference was, offered rooms for $753, and I heard from guests there that those rooms needed updating.

Room Tip: ask for interior room if you prefer quiet to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: recycling bins in the room. They still use individual bottles for shampoo and soap.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Three old friends spent the weekend at the Galleria Park Hotel. We all felt so welcome and the rooms were charming and beautiful. The location could not be more perfect. We were able to walk to the theater, dinner, shopping and exploring this beautiful city. We arrived before noon and our rooms were not ready so the front desk staff stored our luggage and called us when our rooms were ready. Both our rooms had beautiful new bathrooms. Loved this hotel and will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Melany S.,
Hello there and thank you so much for the fantastic 5 star review on TripAdvisor! We are beyond excited to hear that you and your friends had a great celebratory girl’s weekend. Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback regarding our recently renovated bathrooms. We love them too!
Whether your next trip be for business or pleasure, we cannot wait to welcome you back to Galleria Park Hotel. If I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.
Best regards,
Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our one night stay at this modern hotel located in the heart of SF's financial district. We arrived early (10AM) and the nice gentleman at the front desk was happy to accommodate us. He even upgraded us to a suite because we waited patiently as he spoke on the phone to another guest for the first five minutes upon our arrival. I thought this was very nice! The suite was HUGE - two full rooms, bedroom w/ TV, living room w/ TV sitting area and little dining table, and an updated bathroom. You could tell that this was an older building that had recently been updated, and perhaps done so on the cheaper end (husband is in the commercial construction industry so he takes notice of these things); however, I thought that all of the updates were very tasteful and they did a great job blending the old with the new. We had never been to SF, so the hotel was in a great location to explore all of the hot spots aka tourist areas - Ferry Bldg, piers, shopping district, and china town. I think if we had stayed more than one night we might have been disappointed as we went back on the last day of our stay trying to kill some time before heading to the airport (on a Sunday) and most things were closed. This was strange to us as we visit NYC quite frequently and I have never felt as though Sundays are dead, but it literally felt dead in this part of the city. Luckily we had friends in the city who directed us towards a more local area over by Chestnut Street. If was nice to have the two perspectives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great service and amazing location, close to the financial district, China Town, and some really cool restaurants! The employees at the front desk are wonderful people. The place has a great vibe to it. Very relaxing environment as well.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street view. Too much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Alejandro A,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience here in Galleria Park Hotel. We are indeed very lucky to have such amazing team members in our front desk. I appreciate you acknowledging their efforts in exceeding guests' expectations.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Warm Regards,

James Lim
General Manager
jlim@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.