We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy newly refurbished historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Classy newly refurbished historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Classy newly refurbished historic hotel in the heart of San Francisco. Free wine everyday at 5:30. Valet parking or a close public lot. Easy walk to the Embarcadero and tons of good restaurants. Rooms a little small and occasional noise from the hot water heat. Rooms have a safe, refrigerator, free WiFi, and Keurig coffee maker.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    450
    110
    32
    14
See reviews for
197
469
95
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We love the Joie de Vivre hotel chain. We appreciate that most of the hotels allow for pets. We traveled with our dog to SF for spring break and had a great time. Galleria Park Hotel is in a great location and walking distance to many things. The hotel itself has a boutique feeling and is very charming. The staff was helpful and pleasant. They offer complimentary wine hour daily in the lobby which is very enjoyable. Our room was small but nice, quiet, and clean. They have a garden terrace where you can take your pet.

My only negative experience was the access to the hotel from the garden terrace. The garden can be accessed from outside the hotel for all to enjoy and you need a room key to get into the hotel. However, many times when I went out to the terrace the deadbolt was open keeping the door ajar and allowing access into the hotel from people other than hotel guests. This detracted from my overall feeling of safety and security. When I brought it to the attention of the front desk, she appreciated the point I was making and said she would address the issue with the manager. I also included my experience in the survey the hotel sent out.

The next day I received an email from the Director of Operations at the hotel. He stated he had been discussing the terrace security issue with his Chief Engineer earlier in the week because he had been finding the door propped open much more recently. After reading my feedback from their survey they promptly removed the latch.

Now that's service. I will definitely return to the Galleria Park Hotel and look forward to visiting all the Joie de Vivre hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel has a nice location, but I must admit I had higher expectations regarding the room considering the high ranking on TripAdvisor.
We had requested an interior facing queen room, because we had read about the street noise in exterior rooms. I was happy it was quiet, but I think next time I would opt for exterior facing (but on a higher floor), because it felt claustrophobic at night. The room is on the small side, but the bathroom is nice. The room could use so renovation, it felt a bit outdated.

You can use the business center to print your boarding pass for free, but remember that this only works when you can print it from the airline's website. For me that didn't work because my airline (KLM) sends the boarding pass to your email, and you can print it from there. So then you would have to pay to use the computer for both the use of the PC and the prints....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Marlies84,
Thank you so much for your recent comments on TripAdvisor about your experience at Galleria Park Hotel.
While we were happy to hear that you enjoyed our location we are more disappointed to hear that you did not prefer the interior room you requested. We love being able to offer guests their choice of room type and view. We truly hope that we get an opportunity to have you experience a top floor room facing the city.
Finally, we apologize that you had issues with printing your boarding pass. Our Business Center is set up to provide 20 minutes of complimentary internet access. Please know we are always happy to print your boarding pass at the Front Desk if you have connection issues or go over the allotted time.
If I can be of additional assistance upon your next visit please do not hesitate to contact me.
Best regards,
Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here for business and it was an overall good experience. Loved the outlet hub on the desk, free wifi, and fitness studio. Did not love the bathtub (did not feel clean), bathrobe (a stain!), and while the hotel binder said the on-site restaurant serves breakfast, it didn't. But they recommended a couple spots—Bread and Cocoa next door and Café de la Presse nearby—the latter of which was just what I needed. That's all; I may be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Older style hotel with a smallish room and bathroom, but tastefully and recently refurbished and a nice job at that. Great location, handy to everything. We were traveling from overseas and so we were counting on functional WiFi to avoid global roaming data charges but unfortunately, the WiFi was dreadful over the the first two of the three nights we stayed. Staff were friendly and reasonably efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Director of Operations at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Bruce E.,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay on TripAdvisor! We are elated to read that you enjoyed our updated product and renovated bathrooms. We are so happy with the new design. On the other hand, I am sorry to read that you had so many issues with the Wi-Fi. Please know that we just had a new internet service provider in last week and we have completely updated the hotel. The speed is five times as fast and there are no connectivity issues. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon to experience!
Best regards,
Kevin Scott
kscott@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very friendly staff and customer service, good room, nice lobby where we had free wine every night and enjoyed the fire place and the couches after a day of visiting the city !
The location is very good and we had no problem parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We've been staying at the Galleria for over 20 years. The location is perfect for Union Square shopping or even walking to the Ferry Building. The rooms are just the right size. Their wine hour is the perfect way to relax at the end of the day and even meet fellow guests who are either from just around the corner or across the country. Highly recommend the Galleria for your next stay I'm S.F. They are pet friendly, too!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.