We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our room was small but the usage of space was amazing. I was so impressed with the cleanliness, decor and comfort of the room. The location of the hotel was great. We were able to walk to multiple districts (Union Square, SoMa, ChinaTown, North Beach). The hotel staff was very friendly and polite. Great places to eat/drink within a couple of blocks of the hotel. Business center was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    458
    116
    32
    14
See reviews for
206
480
96
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Being in the Hospitality business I travel 60+ nights a year and stay in a "variety" of hotels. Galleria Park more than met my expectations. I stayed on the 8th floor which was very a spacious suite. The staff was friendly and made me feel welcome during my 2 night stay. I will definitely stay here the next time I visit SFO.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've stayed in a Joie de Vivre before in Huntington Beach so we decided to try another one out. Same type of service and decor with complimentary wine in the evenings. This is an older building and space is at a premium, so not the exact same as the spacious one we stayed in before. We loved the location as it was close to many excellent restaurants, BART, and Chinatown. We loved walking out the door and being right in the middle of everything! We also enjoyed the soaps and lotions by LATHER. We would stay there again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recently visited The City over an extended weekend. My wife and I could not have picked a better place to stay. The location was AWESOME! Walking distance to Union Square, Market Street, great restaurants, Chinatown entrance, North Beach, and much more. We parked our car on Friday and picked it up as we left on Sunday. The view from the room was perfect. We were able to see the Chinese New Year parade from our room. The staff was friendly, and who can beat FREE wine each night!!! I would stay here 10 out of 10 times.

Loved it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel's main attraction is it's location....its in the heart of everything! Near union square where all the cities tour buses commence and just a few blocks walk to the beautiful china town. There is a supermarket just around the block and a cafe next door. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and is very modern. My room was quite spacious but I was a little apprehensive about its location (room 820)...it was off the main corridor through a fire door and was basically on top of the fire stairs which was very unusual and I was a little worried about security especially the fact I stayed here by myself but everything worked out fine! My bathroom had two small shelves that were stocked with the hotel products so I had no counter space for my own products which ended up being put on the floor!! But overall this hotel is certainly recommended to anyone who likes a modern hotel in a fantastic location!

Room Tip: For solo women travelers...perhaps not room 820 as it is off the main corridor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Galleria Park Hotel.

Our location is surely one of the best areas in San Francisco as it's nearby all the major sights. Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors--just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square, Chinatown, Ferry Building, and many more.

I'm sorry to hear that you did not like the location of the room. I assure you that we have ample security cameras and staff members that keep our hotel safe and secure at all times.

With regards to the bathrooms, we are addressing the concerns you mentioned during our multi-million dollar renovation by adding brand new vanity sinks with cabinets and additional shelving.

I would take pleasure in welcoming you back so that I may personally take care of you. Please feel free to contact myself directly.

Thank you again for choosing the Galleria Park Hotel.

Sincerely,


James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
415-835-6473
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was amazing! We couldn't of asked for a more perfect location. We walked everywhere which saved us money and gave us a great work out! The room was spacious and had all the amenities we were looking for. We enjoyed the Chinese New Year parade from the comfort of our room! The Bread and Cocoa coffee shop was convenient as well. Loved the jogging patio and jogging route suggestions posted in the elevator. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and will suggest to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you're driving to Galleria Park make sure you have it mapped out, we went around the block two or three times before we found it -- and in San Francisco traffic during the day that can be traumatic. When we did finally spy it we couldn't find a legal place to park to register. I doubled parked for about ten minutes before the doorman finally helped us sort it out. Fortunately that was the worst thing about our stay.

The hotel is not luxurious, but is boutique modern and clean, and the rooms are a bit on the smallish side, but we expected that in a SF hotel. The bathroom was modern and the shower worked fine. The bed was fine and the linen smooth. We had asked for a quiet room and that always means you'll have a view of an ally or in our case a view of other rooms. But again we we'ren't staying at the hotel as a resort vacation.

It perfectly suited our needs and was in the heart of SF where we could walk to most places we wanted to visit or jump on a street car just a couple of blocks down the street. The clerks and captains were all friendly and helpful.

We did really enjoy the wine hour where they actually served very nice wines. Most of the guests had several servings and were happy campers by the time wine time was over.

You do have to pay for parking which is all valet, so it can be a pain if you have to come and go frequently. But for the most part we didn't have any issues with it, and one time when we just had to grab a few things from the room, the valet watched our car for the the fifteen or so minutes we needed.

All in all a nice moderately priced hotel with friendly personnel comfortable rooms, conveniently located with a great happy hour. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalleriaHotelGM, General Manager at Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ron J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you had difficulty finding the hotel. With all the one way streets in downtown San Francisco, it could be challenging driving around and finding your destination.

I'm very pleased to read that you liked our hosted, nightly wine hour and our modern design. I believe you stayed in one of the rooms that we recently renovated. Included in our multi-million dollar renovation is our brand new guest bathrooms, soft goods renovation, WiFi upgrade, new Fitness Center, and many more.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,


James Lim
jlim@jdvhotels.com
415-835-6473
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.