We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

- Small attractive hotel, but what really makes this hotel is the location. The location is excellent!! A short walk takes you to Union Square or Chinatown or to the financial district.
- The rooms are small but adequate. We upgraded to a King size bed for an extra $10 per night. The bed is very comfortable, although we didn't like the pillows but no biggie. The bathrooms could use an upgrade and we could sometimes hear the neighbors when they are busy in the bathroom next door. We also opted for a courtyard room so as not to hear any street noise/traffic and we slept very well.
- The reception staff and concierge are extremely helpful.
- The wine tasting in the evenings is a nice touch.

All in all, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    457
    115
    32
    14
See reviews for
204
480
96
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great hotel in all. Ask for an internal room as its quieter. happy hour from 530 630 with free wine is just great. very civilised, very nice. Nice atmosphere. Great welcome. All satff were helpful. Great location for all city stops. We walked from hotel everyday to everywhere we wanted to goto. Safe as well. good sized room, some need a little updating but it all in the planning. oh and free tea and coffe from 5am 10am !!
I would stay agin YES

Room Tip: ask for an internal room ! You wont get a view or abalcony but you will get some quiet!! !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved the Galleria Park Hotel so much last time, that we stayed here again last weekend (for after Thanksgiving shopping and to see Lion King). The hotel is both very clean, and beautiful. Not just the lobby, but the rooms and even the hallways. I've seen hotel remodels where they paint, put up new wallpaper and carpet, and consider it done. This hotel looks like an artist designed it.

The location is great for Union Square. It's one or two blocks away. Close enough to walk there in a few minutes, but at night it's nice to get away from the traffic and crowds.

The front desk staff go out of their way to accommodate guests. More than just professional, they are genuinely friendly and helpful.

I also find the Galleria Park to be a bit of a bargain price-wise compared to other Union Square hotels.

Room Tip: For light sleepers that need total silence, request a room facing the interior. I'm a very ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Ny
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I booked this hotel after looking at all the JDV hotels and thinking this would be the best one for a girls trip. The hotel has a gorgeous feminine design using purples and metallics for its chic color scheme. The hotel rooms are stocked with premium toiletries and a diverse minibar. Our first night we made sure to attend the complimentary wine hour and only missed it once on our stay. We received a hand written card and mini bottle of wine the first night of our stay that set the tone for our trip! The hotel's location is another reason to stay here, you steps from shopping, dining and nightlife. We were always greeted warmly by the staff and they were helpful when we had any questions on where to go. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and look forward to trying out JDV's other hotels!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

What a find! We paid a bit more than I wanted to for this hotel, but it was worth it.
We made the mistake of driving our rental car into SF. We had quite a bit of luggage I wanted to drop off at the hotel before we turned our car into the rental place. My husband parked in a tow zone while I sprinted into the hotel with our luggage. A staff member was quick to see my panic and took the luggage, no questions asked. When we arrived to the hotel later that night, they delivered the luggage to our room. The staff was amazingly professional and customer service was clearly their #1 priority. I asked about extra pillows and they were delivered promptly. The staff at the front desk made it clear they cared about whether I slept well or not. I was kind of floored by this.
The room was small but gorgeous. As a space planner myself, I enjoyed discovering ways they planned the small space to be functional. If you stay, notice the door and furniture placement. I didn't feel cramped at all. The room was perfection. We had a courtyard view and it was quiet. We slept with the windows open each night. The free wine and coffee were a nice perk.
The neighborhood was as good as it gets. This is the nicest part of SF, and the safest. We walked on the street at night and always made sure we were close to the hotel by sunset to avoid any precarious situations. There are plenty of food choices nearby and we even got Chinese delivery one night.
This is an excellent hotel. If I ever come back to SF, I will stay here.

Room Tip: A complaint we saw on other reviews was street noise. We had a courtyard room which was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel room was clean and well appointed if a bit tight - not a lot of room to move around. The hotel staff was very friendly and willing to accommodate in any way. The hotel is in a great location - a few blocks from Chinatown and lots of shopping. Coit Tower, Embarcadero, Museum of Modern Art all within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times for business and the staff always impresses me. They are extremely friendly and genuine. The rooms are always very clean, the bed and linens are super comfortable. The rooms are not large, but it is San Francisco, so it is expected. They serve a complimentary wine hour in the evenings which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 191 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco, Galleria Park gives you easy access to everything the Bay Area has to offer to its visitors. The hotel is located with easy access to the Bay Area's central transit systems of BART, MUNI and the fabled cable cars. Within blocks are Union Square, Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, and several world-class museums. The hotel is just steps away from world-class shopping destinations in Union Square--an area that is definitely a tribute to the power of shopping. Saks Fifth Avenue, Neiman Marcus, Barneys New York, Gump's and a very substantial Macy's are right on the Union Square. The venerable Bullock and Jones and Tiffany and Co. are within walking distance, as is the nine-story Westfield San Francisco Shopping Centre with its three-level Nordstrom and Bloomingdale's. It is also a center for exclusive couture and high fashion, with boutiques dedicated to Betsey Johnson, Kate Spade, Herve Leger, Karen Miller, and Michael Kors. Post Street, which is a block away from Galleria Park is where the high-end stores are located including Ralph Lauren, Ferragamo, Juicy Couture, Tory Burch, Ferrari and Porsche clothing stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Park, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Galleria Park San Francisco
Galleria Park Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galleria Park, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.