We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms, great staff -- careful of parking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, great staff -- careful of parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

This is a great hotel in a residential area. The rooms are large and the staff is terrific.

It's not a normal full-service hotel -- there is not a valet, a restaurant or room service, although the hotel offers a big continental breakfast and sandwhiches at other times of day. Parking is only available on the street, so be prepared to move your car regularly on weekdays.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    142
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
206
623
51
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

This upmarket hotel is located in Pacific Heights, a gentrified suburb of San Francisco. Quiet and safe streets, filled with huge old mansions make, make the location great. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The room (306B) had great views over the city and we could see the sunrise over San Francisco from our bed. The decor was classically elegant. There is no air-conditioning in the room, but, being high up, we could open the windows during the day to get the air in. The outside temperature was warm (25ºC/77ºF), but we never had any problem with the heat. (You probably would have to close them at night if you are a light sleeper and don't want to be woken up by the occasional noise). We had read the reviews about the hotel being too far from downtown, but this wasn't a problem for us because we had a car (plenty of street parking). At night we were going out to dinner in nearby Filmore St (full of nice little restaurants) - a 15min walk through this very nice area. Breakfast is held in a room downstair which feels like you are in your own dining room. Same feeling for the living room were you have drinks, biscuits and newspaper available all day. You can sit in the available sofas and chairs and really feel like you're home. On the downside: one night we thought we'd attend the daily cheese/wine offered by the hotel. But on that day there was noone else in the room and no drinks/cheese were served (we assumed that one probably had to ask for them,and we didn't dare).

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Hotel Drisco does not feel like a sterile hotel. It feels like home. The wine and cheese reception and the morning breakfast are two strong contributing factors to the home atmosphere. The server in the dining area is most attentive and describes all the cheeses with accurate detail on flavor and origin.
The car into the business district in the morning is essential if you don't want to drive your car around the city or take a taxi. We just left our rental car all day and the bellhop graciously moved it to a new space whenever its parking time was finished in one space.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The Drisco is a great low-key old hotel in the very upscale residential neighborhood of Pacific Heights. A very attentive and helpful staff plus a more than adequate continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Loved this hotel, we stayed twice in the last year. My suggestion is to avoid rooms near the elevator or on the main floor. If you want to save some money, consider the King with the bathroom across the hall- it's still very private! Great breakfast, nice wine reception. Really great neighborhood to walk in and if you want to be close to the Golden Gate bridge, shopping on Fillmore and Sacramento, the park and the running/biking in the Precidio. Had a nice dinner nearby at Garibaldi's. Not as convenient a location if you want to be close to downtown and Union Square.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

I have never written a review on trip advisor, although I typically read the reviews. I could not go without thanking the staff at Hotel Drisco for making my husbands birthday the best experience at a hotel. Marti, Bob, and Julio were all so wonderful, we were made to feel so special. Upon arriving, there was no problem parking. Bob helped us with our bags. Marti checked us in and gave us hot towels. They offered to upgrade us to a suite which was a good deal. The room was spectacular. There were views from 2 sides of the building with a sitting room, where you can view the bridge, Alcatraz, and the city skyline. Everything is pristine and white. I purchased the birthday package for my husbands birthday which was a cake and champagne, which they placed in the room while we were out for dinner. They also included a basket with rose petals and bath salts. Its so comfortable and quiet, you feel as if you are staying at someone's very well appointed house. The sunrise was beautiful. There was a free wine reception, which they also had cheese, crackers and grapes. Breakfast was wonderful. Organic selection of coffees, fresh squeezed orange juice, fruit salad, honey, granola, yogurt, selections of cheeses, meat, bagels and fruit. This was one of the best days of my life and this hotel was a big reason for that. I cannot say enough about how wonderful this place is, and I highly recommend it. I will never stay anywhere else but here when I come to San Francisco. Thank you Hotel Drisco!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

The Hotel Drisco is in a beautiful neighborhood location in Pacific Heights. We loved the intimate European styling of this warmly decorated boutique hotel. Wine & cheese happy hour was a nice touch and the home style sitting rooms were very relaxing. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,453 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#5 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,170 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#8 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#13 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#3 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,314 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.