We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet hotel in a nice area of San Francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet hotel in a nice area of San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Drisco. We had a lovely spacious suite with a great view over the city. The service was warm and the hotel wonderfully peaceful. The location is wonderful for people (like us) who don't want to stay in the thick of touristy San Francisco. It is in a safe neighbourhood, with great resturaunts and bars and parks just a short - but very hilly - walk away. Very good for walking off all that great californian food! There is great public transport very nearby.
We loved staying there - we had time to rest, recuperate and explore the city. And we hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    136
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
193
594
51
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North of San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

The hotel is located in the most upscale neighborhood of SF, and provides excellent service in an elegant, quiet, peaceful atmosphere where you can recover from your daily adventures in the big city. Free parking is easy to find on the street at any hour—I never needed to park more than a block away in four days—and with the 3 hour limit, you really only need to move once a day (and with a tip for the busboy, he will move the car for you even if you are off on some journey!). The staff is so helpful you almost want to say "I can do this myself", but indulge them and enjoy. Breakfast, while simple and not made to order, is more than adequate to get you started, and getting from the hotel to downtown by car is quick and easy through a route that does not include much traffic (until you hit the real downtown—not their fault). Wi-Fi is free and fast, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, views from the top floor are picture-perfect, and I will stay there again for both business and vacation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiterock british columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Hotel Drisco is well-deserving of its high ratings. Great location in Pacific Heights, professional and helpful staff, and the suites are roomy. However, if you plan to be there in the winter months, be prepared to "layer up", as the hotel is heated by a central heating system. During a recent stay in December, we found ourselves with our coats on in the room. Not certain how the hotel can address this, but it's a distraction. And (minor point), don't forget your toothbrush. Unlike most hotels of quality, Hotel Drisco charges ($4.95) for a travel-size toothbrush and paste. A bit out of character for an otherwise classy place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We so thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hotel Drisco. Situated in Pacific Heights, this hidden jewel sits among many Heritage buildings/homes - well worth a stroll to see the stunning architecture. The rooms have been re-designed and updated in keeping with the age and character of the building. A complimentary breakfast is served each morning, as well there is a sitting room where you can enjoy reading a book/newspaper and tea & coffee is served all day. The hotel is quiet, comfortable and the staff are kind and helpful. I am looking forward to my next trip to San Francisco - The Hotel Drisco will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

Located high atop Pacific Heights, Hotel Drisco is an excellent choice for SF lodging. The views, neighborhood and local architecture are spectacular. Our room was very well appointed. We enjoyed an upscale "happy hour" in the late afternoon complete with fine red wine and soft brie cheese and then a delicious breakfast the next morning. The hotel staff was exceedingly helpful. On street parking was easily accomplished a block away.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hueneme Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

My husband and I travelled with friends for the weekend to SF. We had tickets for the Playing for Change concert at the Palace of Fine Arts; it's one reason we chose the Driso; it's within walking distance from the Palace. It was a lovely downhill walk through a very elegant neighborhood. Obviously, the walk back was uphill! The views are beautiful. The hotel staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. The dining room is charming; the breakfast consists of a variety of choices; really something for everyone. Thank you Bob for all your great getting around hints. We had a lovely time. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

This quiet, neighborhood hotel offers new ways to experience one of the great cities in the world. For our two-day stay, everything was just right. Most of all, we appreciated the thoughtfulness and the kindness of the folks who work there. From first to last, they made us feel so welcome. One note: The views in all directions are gorgeous, but if you like to walk - as we do - you will discover that the way back to the Drisco is uphill.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.