We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word...Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In a word...Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Upon investigating where we should stay on our trip to San Francisco, I was naturally drawn to the familiar 5-star brands such as the Ritz , Fairmont and St Regis. However, a friend of a friend, a true San Franciscan, suggested we give Hotel Drisco a try and I am so very glad that we did!!!

The hotel was truly incredible. To keep this review short , I've decided to simply list the incredible aspects of the hotel.

1. An incredible continental breakfast is included in the room rate...YUMMY! Don't let them fool you, it is definitely far from simple!!
2. Hors d'oeuvres are served every evening from 5pm to 6:30pm accompanied by a wine tasting of some of Napa's finest!
3. The rooms are spacious, incredibly clean and down right perfect!
4. At turn down service, you are left with incredible dark-chocolate coated biscuits (in the shape of the hotel's logo) instead of the usual pillow chocolates. I still dream about those cookies!!!!!!
5. The staff are incredibly helpful and extremely friendly!
6. The hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful areas of San Francisco, Pacific Heights, walking around the suburb is a MUST!!!!!

In conclusion, if you ever find yourself looking for accommodation in San Fran...do yourself a favor and stay at Hotel Drisco I know I would again and again without a moment's hesitation.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the upper floors for an incredible view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    137
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
194
596
51
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A beautiful property with friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Rooms are beautifully-equipped, Breakfast and the evening wine tasting (just one of many beautiful touches) were absolutely first-rate.

I find it difficult to find much negative to stay. Pacific Heights would not be everyone's cup of tea for location (we did lots of walking, and loved it), and there's no pool, but the whole experience was so comfortable and enjoyable we simply didn't want to leave.

Free WiFi was solid throughout.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was wonderful and breakfast was a nice touch. It was a convenient location for us since we have friends that live in the area. If you are looking for peace and quiet with amazing views this is definitely the place to be. The rooms were immaculately clean and the amenities in the room were nice. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For our shared wedding anniversary, we stayed in the 2 bedroom suite with our long time friends. The room was spacious and had beautiful views of city! The staff was was kind and accommodating-we were surprised and delighted to have a bottle of champagne delivered to our room with a note from the general manager congratulating us on our anniversaries! The evening wine reception and morning breakfast exceeded expectations and the hotel had amazing old school charm without feeling run down or stuffy. This is an amazing location for those that want to stay in the city but away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. We enjoyed being able to walk to the Lyon St Stairs and the Palace of Fine Arts (great downhill but recommend to cab back). I believe this hotel to be an excellent value and will be returning for future stays.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved, loved, loved this hotel. Great service, felt so special. Definitely a memorable stay. Worth paying a little more to have a special experience in a unique hotel that you will never forget. Do not miss the wine reception or breakfast- they go out of their way to make it fantastic.
If there is a downside, I suppose it is the location if you are a tourist. The neighborhood is residential but really it was nice because it is quiet and felt safe

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite if you can.....wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm going to keep this short. From the room, the charm and character of the hotel, to the courtesy and professionalism of the staff and the wonderful breakfasts. From the complimentary bottled water daily, and fruit upon arrival, to all the little courtesies in between, this place just stole our hearts. We WILL be back!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay so much. There are many reasons why so many people leave their hearts in San Francisco, and I like to think that we at the Hotel Drisco do our part to contribute to that sentiment!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our recent stay is the Hotel Drisco in San Francisco was fantastic. We loved the Pacific Heights neighborhood location among some of the most beautiful homes in the area. The staff at this hotel go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. The complementary wine reception with all types of cheeses, fruit and hot hors d'oeuvres was a treat at the end of the day. The continental breakfast consisting of fresh fruit, hand-made granola, hot oatmeal, and cold meats and cheeses was excellent. Our room was large and lovely and the bed was so comfortable. It is truly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we look forward to visiting again. Make it a must on your visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

My staff and I are so very humbled by your comment that we are one of the best hotels you have ever experienced. How kind of you to say so, and thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.

Best Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.