We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bvlgari toiletries and delicious lox” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bvlgari toiletries and delicious lox”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Breakfast is not to be missed. Lox and bagels on Sunday but not on Monday...my only disappointment for this hotel. Wine happy hour is very nice and even served as an early dinner. Classic charming hotel complete with lumpy bed and hard to control heat, but it's so cute you don't mind. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    131
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
180
570
49
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed Hotel Drisco for the third time last week in the last five years. I have to come to business meeting in North Bay every quarter. I need some tranquil time either before pr after the meeting. This is the perfect place to kick back and relax for a day or two. I have stayed both in a suite with my significant other and also by myself in a lower rate room. Regardless of the choice, rooms are well appointed and clean. Breakfast, wine and cheese in the evening inclusive. Very relaxing. Pacific Heights location is the attraction, too. No restaurant in the hotel but you find good restaurant in the neighborhood. What I like do when I stay here is to use Lyon Street steps on the side of Presidio, just two blocks away from the hotel for "jet-lag busting" exercise. Superb view of San Francisco Bay. Staff are all friendly, attentive, trying to go extra mile anticipating customer needs. I felt aways comfortable staying this hotel.

Room Tip: If you prefer view, ask for higher floor, corner suite. Just need a room for overnight stay, take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel Driscoll is intimate, festive, easy to meet people in the dining room, great food, delicious wine served at happy hour and the staff is friendly and professional. Also great shopping within walking distance

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful wonderful stay!! A very quiet and clean hotel with impeccable service. Complimentary breakfast was incredible. Complimentary wine tasting daily was incredible. We left our window open at night for the cool breezes from the bay,heard the foghorns. The detail on the renovation of the hotel is exquisite. And it is in Pacific Heights, surrounded by wonderful architecture. There was no negative about our stay. Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose bay side rooms for a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While the Drisco does have a dining room for the continental breakfast, there is no restaurant. I guess over the years I've become accustomed to nicer hotels having a restaurant. I'll usually only dine at the hotel restaurant once or twice, but it can be convenient, and it can be a nice spot to grab a drink after running around touring. The Drisco is located in a residential-only area, so you need to walk 10-15 minutes to get to any dining establishments.

The residential area surrounding the Drisco is rather stunning. The homes are those of very wealthy people, and this makes for a nice neighborhood walk. Nonetheless, being in a residential area is a little inconvenient.

Everything else is top notch. Great, helpful, friendly staff. Comfortable, attractive rooms with good city views (assuming you have a city view room!). Comfy bed with option to order different pillows.

Small comment on the bikes you can borrow from the hotel: my wife's bike kept changing gears on her, and the storage basket kept flopping around, causing balance problems. They are meant to be the kind of bike nobody wants to steal - but, they could still use a little better upkeep.

Also, for me personally, I found SF city streets to be very scary! Most city streets don't have a bike lane, so local bikers will just ride along the right side of the road where the cars are parked. What??? That seems crazy, any one of those cars might open the driver side door and...whack! Unless you know the safest biking areas, I do not recommend casual biking as a tourist. This, of course, is not a comment on the hotel at all, just a general SF comment.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

You're correct, we don't have a restaurant at the Hotel Drisco, but as of last year we do offer 24 hour room service. And it's quite delicious! And as you point our, our Concierge staff will be happy to direct you to nearby restaurants.

I find myself speaking to the Drisco's location quite a lot here on Trip Advisor, as we are not located in one of the densely clustered hotel centers. For our frequent guests, that is part of the allure. If you want to be in the center of the action, please choose one of the many fine hotels located in Union Square; however, if the thought of residing in the finest residential neighborhood in the city appeals, then by all means take a closer look at the Hotel Drisco. We really are an urban oasis.

Finally, I am glad you made use of several of our bicycles! They are very high-quality bikes manufactured and detailed for us locally, and we retain a mobile bike repair service once per month to keep them running in tip top shape.

Thanks for your review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

this is one of our two favorite Hotels, the other being the Draycott near
Sloane square in London. Very similar boutique experience, but the staff here is even more friendly and helpful. We followed Bob's advice on walking, dining, views, museums each day. The food
At breakfast and wine tasting is delicious and attractive. A sitting room with plenty of newspapers provide a rest between sightseeing jaunts. Bed, pillows, linens, Bulgari toiletries, and service are outstanding. After years of convention hotels, we are boutique hotel fans. the town car with Julio provides an easy and pleasant way to get town, so why stay In the hubbub?
Thank you all. We'll recommend and return to the Drisco. The Poss'.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Why stay in the hubub, you ask? Great question. Why indeed! Stay at the Drisco in one of the most stunning residential neighborhoods in the country.

I am so glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

From the moment we arrived, to the day of departure, the staff at Hotel Drisco made us feel at home. We spent seven nights at this hotel and the entire stay became the best part of our San Francisco experience. Although the hotel is not located near some of the main attractions, the staff was very helpful in explaining the MUNI transportation which was 29.00 for the entire week (and included rides on the cable cars). Also, a town car was available during the week to drop us off at Union Square in the morning.
The hotel offers a great complimentary breakfast with all sorts of breads, pastries, cereals, oatmeal, cappucinos, juices, etc. In addition, at night the hotel has cheeses, wine, meatballs, and fruit. One night we were so tired that we actually skipped dinner and ate at their wine reception instead. Also, the concierge called us 1 week prior to check-in to confirm our stay and to see if we wanted to make arrangements for anything. She booked a reservation at a nearby restaurant which was very good (Food Inc.) and had live music on Friday night.
We had a city view suite which was rather large and the bed was super comfortable. We borrowed DVDs from their video library and relaxed our aching feet at night. We were there for my birthday and they treated me very well. We received fruit in our room on the first night (because it was a suite) and a bottle of wine for my birthday. It made me feel very special. This hotel goes above and beyond any hotel I've ever stayed at. They provide robes and slippers and have turn down service which includes delivery of chocolate cookies at night. They also provide complimentary bottled water in the room.
The hotel is located in the very nice Pacific Heights neighborhood and is a peaceful oasis away from all of the hustle and bustle of the city. Everyone at this hotel was extremely pleasant and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We were extremely happy with our decision to stay here and if we ever go back to San Francisco this will be our only choice.

Room Tip: City view suite was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your wonderful and extensive review. We aim to go "above and beyond" with every one of our guests, with both service and amenities. I'm very glad we hit the mark on your seven day stay with us.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.