We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-world, genteel, and charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast!
Ranked #1 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old-world, genteel, and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I spent two relaxing nights at this lovely Pacific Heights hotel. The staff was friendly and accommodating, making sure that we thoroughly enjoyed our anniversary stay. The breakfast and the evening wine & hors d'oeuvres was gratis and satisfying, with pleasant hosts overseeing it all. We will definitely stay here again, as the neighborhood is gorgeous and NOTin the noisy city center. If this scenario appeals to you, welcome to the Hotel Drisco!

Room Tip: We particularly enjoyed the sunny view room that we had on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being such a wonderful advocate for the Drisco experience! I couldn't have said it better myself. Happy Anniversary!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    843
    127
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
166
532
46
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blonay, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very warm welcome with gorgeous wine testing. Room is nicely decorated and well equipped with a splendid view on San Francisco. Breakfast is generous and very tasteful. Employees are extremely helpful. Parking is really easy around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased you enjoyed your experience, and thank so much for your kind words about the staff! I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed in the Drisco for 2 nights . It was just fantastic,. The staff were so friendly and happy ion their jobs. Our room was out of this world. Breakfast and the evening wine reception top notch. If i ever back in San Francisco I will be staying at the Drisco.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

I love the phrase "top notch." It's so apt for the Drisco (with apologies for the lack of humility). My staff and I are thankful every day that we have the privilege of hosting our guests in such a special environment. I look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in San Francisco.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I chose Hotel Drisco for our recent 3 day trip to SF, and had an absolutely wonderful stay. We travel a lot, often in Europe, and treasure the opportunity to stay in a hotel that has a sense of place, and history; this is one of those places. The hotel is refreshingly removed from the scramble of tourism elsewhere in the city, but is still close to everything, and is located in a beautiful, peaceful Pacific Hieghts neighborhood. All details were thought of, from many toiletries, beautiful linens, water and expresso in the room, bountiful European-style breakfast, all-day coffee and tea, afternoon wine reception, delicious, reasonable room service menu,and welcoming staff throughout the hotel. We had a corner suite, which was bright and roomy, with lovely city views. The street parking worked very well (much better than the parking at Union Square hotels), and since the area is so much fun to walk, we enjoyed extensive wanders on foot. This hotel creates the ideal blend of attentiveness and privacy, luxury and old-world charm. So perfectly San Franciso....finally we've found our SF home away from home!! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

The work is its own reward when managing such a special place as the Hotel Drisco, and yet from time to time a review comes along that just makes me smile -- yours was such a review. I am so pleased that you had a great experience, and I am very thankful that you took the time to post such a lovely review. My staff and I work very hard to strike the right balance between, as you say, "attentiveness and privacy, luxury and old-world charm." We strive to offer a unique sense of place, to be quintessentially San Francisco, and I'm glad we hit the mark with you!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the second time and once again, it did not disappoint. The rooms are clean and spacious. We had a city view room. The breakfast was delicious as were the complementary cookies upon the nightly turn down service. The property is in a quiet, upscale neighborhood. The staff are always readily available and willing to help with anything you may need. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Hotel Drisco is a historic building that has all the character and charm of days past. We experienced wonderful customer service from the time we checked in and throughout our stay. The hotel staff always greeted us with a smile and a "hello" when they would see us.

The hotel offers nice touches such as all day coffee, tea, and newspapers in a sunny, comfortable sitting room. Biscotti is added in the late afternoon. Complimentary bottled water, as well as an espresso machine complete with the espresso, is available in your room. Of course a daily newspaper is delivered every morning. The breakfast is included with your room. The buffet offers salmon, cheese, bagels, different breads for toasting, a variety of fruits and cereals, oatmeal, five flavors of juices including freshly squeezed OJ., and of course, excellent cappuccinos served at your table.

The room we stayed in was a king that faced the courtyard. It was very quiet. The room was not large, but we were not cramped. There was a bureau, desk, chair, sitting chair, and a roll away bed. The bathroom is definitely large enough and has little extras such as mouthwash and air freshener in addition to the usual soaps, sewing kit, etc. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were just right. The hotel offers three types of pillows. There is a card in the room describing each one that is available depending on your sleeping preference. Along with that amenity is a sound machine to help lull you to sleep. Chocolate shortbread cookies and a bucket of ice are left at turndown. The morning of our departure we found a cute little gift bag hanging from the outside knob of the door. It contained mints and a special cloth to clean your glasses, or the screen of your cell phone.

The Hotel Drisco is a lovely place to stay in a great location. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Our room facing the courtyard was very quiet. There was no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

After a long internal debate about staying in a location far from Union Square, I decided to take a chance with the Pacific Heights location of Hotel Drisco. I should be so lucky with all my decisions! This is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful part of San Francisco. Everything about our stay was first rate - the decor, room amenities, breakfast selection and presentation, afternoon wine tasting and hors d'oeuvres. The staff are gracious and could not be more helpful (and seriously nice!); arranging dinner reservations, suggesting activities and most importantly valet parking the car for us when needed with no additional charge. In fact, it was a refreshing change to stay in a hotel that does not nickel and dime their guests for things that should be part of the daily rate; high speed internet, valet parking and bottled water to name a few. As a resident of NYC it was nice to stay in a quiet place, out of the Union Square area but with quick and easy access to Golden Gate Park and the Presidio. My daughter and I stayed here for two nights as part of a surprise 21st birthday trip for her. Our stay at Hotel Drisco surpassed a all expectations and helped make a memorable occasion truly unforgettable.

Room Tip: A spectacular view from the fourth floor city view room that we inhabited
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.