We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary breakfast
Ranked #1 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
sudbury,ma
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Quiet Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hotel Drisco in Pacific Heights - an upscale residential area of San Francisco - is a delightful, charming and elegant hotel. The staff could not be more accommodating . Parking is on the street , free and very available and if you like, the staff will take your keys and park for you. There is an ample diverse complimentary breakfast every morning and a very nice wine, cheese , olive oil et al reception every evening with 4 very hie wines. Coffee and tea are always in the living room. Turn down includes 2 amazing dark chocolate covered short bread cookies. There is a nespresso with coffee selections in each room. No detail is overlooked. Not a very ultra modern, overly fussy
place, jut perfectly comfortable and guest oriented.

Room Tip: City view is nice - especially at night - slight view of the bay too. Suites are great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for noticing the many details we provide -- we try very hard not to overlook anything! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    128
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
173
551
48
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel had an excellent staff & a great location in a quiet neighborhood. Shopping & resturants right around the corner! Charming rooms with excellent views and all you need supplied (bonus points for including a fan!). Great wine evening and good breakfast too. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This Hotel is a delight. The staff are wonderful and very helpful and attentive. The room we stayed in was gorgeous with terrific views of the San Francisco neighborhood. The added touches like a cup of tea delivered to our room when we returned to the hotel in the evenings were magic. Breakfast was delicious and not to be missed. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Title says it all. I have stayed at this 30 room boutique in Pacific Heights more than a dozen times over the last 5 years. They have almost zero staff turnover - desk staff is super accommodating - and 70% of their guests are repeat. No hotel feels more like home - my wife would be happy to move in! And they have great breakfasts and wine and cheese hours.

Room Tip: Ask for City View on one of top 2 floors. Suites are even better but, of course, more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Oh my, talk about setting the bar really high! We stand ready to welcome you as permanent guests if you wish!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

One needs to understand the Hotel Drisco proposition. This is an older building on a street corner, on the top of a hill in an up market area.

We extended our planned three night stay to enjoy the following:

* a calm and peaceful atmosphere in a mid size boutique hotel
* a pervasive staff culture of engagement, utter helpfulness and cheerful friendliness that runs through all staff categories
* very comfortable rooms and bathrooms
* free street parking - we have seen other reviewers concerned about this - basically parking was very easy to find, with no restrictions on the weekend - for weekdays your car needs to be moved every so often to comply with restrictions - this was a doddle... hand over your keys at the front desk and they will make sure you are legal
* great value for money - $325 per night doesn't seem so much when you don't have to pay $50 a day for parking, when an excellent breakfast is included along with an even more superb complementary 5pm wine and cheese (etc.) reception
* great location close to Filmore St shopping etc - also pleasant for not being inundated by street people as so much of SF appears to be

A hotel that we utterly recommend and that we will be delighted to return to when we next visit California

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

I couldn't have said it better myself. Thanks so much for your wonderful review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We celebrated a birthday and Valentine's Day at the Drisco. The elegance, location and superior staff made our trip to California among the best stateside vacations we've had. Opt for a 2 room suite if possible...especially if you are celebrating an occasion. Concierge Bob arranged most of our trip via email and phone well before our arrival. He and Marti were wonderfully helpful during our stay. Staff is well trained and professional. Delicious breakfasts and afternoon wine receptions add much to your stay. Order the Birthday Cake/champagne package...or the Romance package...or both. Request city guide, Gary, for a wonderful personalized tour of San Francisco.

Room Tip: Get a 2 room suite if possible. Ours had a city view, was very quiet, and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm pleased to hear that we were the perfect choice for you! I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to Bob and Marti.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I treasure the service and care that comes with a stay at the Drisco, a hotel that truly caters to those who value old world style, quality and attentive service. The Drisco is a promise fulfilled as a luxury boutique hotel.

The rooms are immaculate, duvets and pillows that meet my comfort needs were there for the asking and what I prefer is remembered when I return. What could be nicer!

Both their buffet breakfast and late afternoon wine and cheese adds so much to my feeling that as a guest, my 'being there' matters.

I use the hotel's car service to and from the airport and it is a pleasure and well worth the cost to begin my stay in San Francisco in the comfort the hotel provides. Getting 'downtown' or to the Opera House, Symphony Hall or to a host of special exhibitions and Museums takes minutes. I always enjoy what is a relatively easy walk in this City of hills and steep inclines over to Upper Fillmore Street and its unique specialty shops, cafes, and restaurants or to the Presidio and the beauty that defines San Francisco Bay. All this makes my being at the Drisco and in this lovely, residential part of San Francisco something I return to as often as possible.

What is most important is I feel 'at home' in this gracious hotel and the sense of welcome that is always there for me. This sense of welcome comes from the staff at the Reception Desk, the center and core of the Drisco where warmth, care and kindness best describes each member of the staff's thoughtful attention to detail.

I find the Drisco to be the 'American Cousin' to what we value in old world charm and standards maintained in the very best European hotels where ambience and regard for each guest illustrates the highest standards in service.

Recommended without hesitation.

miriam summ

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Ms. Summ,

We think of you as one of us! We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.