We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old world charm with excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We only had one night here this trip but will stay at this property again. Their most important asset is their staff -- to a person they were all friendly, helpful, and knowledgable about the area and the city itself. From the time we checked in they were eager to welcome us as if it were their home. As an example, we had asked to view the movie "Lincoln" but it was out with a guest. We chose to relax with "The Artist." By the time we had walked back upstairs to our room, the front desk had called to say that "Lincoln" had been returned and they would bring it up if we desired. Can't imagine that happening in even the best of the "chain" properties. During the wine tasting the hostess knew the wines and was most gracious in discussing them. Breakfast service was most accommodating and the food abundant.

Tucked into a lovely residential neighborhood, Hotel Drisco would be ideal for a relaxing stay away from the crowds. The neighborhood is perfect for ambling and enjoying the views. Small on-property exercise facility with passes to a local sports club. Coffee and tea in the morning room off the lobby were welcome. The morning breakfast is European continental. The evening wine reception is a pleasant way to relax and to meet other guests. Room service has an interesting twist -- even though limited in scope it is adequate. The prices on the menu are the prices one pays -- no delivery charge, no service up charge. Most unusual

Do be aware that the hotel has no air-conditioning. Most of the year in San Francisco that is no problem but at least be aware. There is typically an oscillating fan in each closet which helps. Each room seems to have a DVD player for the movie library at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning so many of the amenities that make the Drisco special, but you are quite correct, I think, to say that the staff here is our most extraordinary asset. I am so proud of our team! We do try to make sure every guest feels as if they are at home here at the Drisco.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

P.S. Thank you for mentioning the unique aspect of our Room Service menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    130
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
180
570
49
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Rooms are great, service is perfect, staff is welcoming and the breakfast is much better than any other hotels' continental breakfast. A bit quiet at night, but not a big deal. We had a car, so it was easy to go anywhere anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We quite like it quiet at night! But point taken: Nightlife is not right around the corner from the hotel, but it is only a short distance away if the mood strikes.

Very glad to hear you enjoyed the experience.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Drisco is, as nearly as we can tell, not close to anything -- but when you settle in there that seems irrelevant. From the friendly bellman to the engaging and helpful front desk staff, the hotel takes you in, welcomes you, and sets you to relaxing. There is a small gym, 24-hour room service, an above-standard breakfast buffet, gorgeous rooms and that slightly old-fashioned feel that reminds you of a good small hotel in London. Beds are great, pillows of all sorts are available, and wifi is free. What more could one ask?

Some places contact you before your visit, usually with the unsubtle purpose of reminding you that you have a reservation. Our call a few days prior to our visit was a personal, thoughtful inquiry as to whether we had any special requests, needed a car from the airport, etc. This is a place that makes you feel truly welcome.

Room Tip: Top floor has views across the bay. 404 is a suite with a large sitting room and views of Alcatraz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great review! I really enjoyed reading your description of the Drisco experience.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Drisco is a great boutique hotel with excellent service in the quiet and upscale Pacific Heights neighborhood. Pacific Heights is largely residential with many restaurants and shops within a 4-5 block walk along its hilly streets. It's also just a short 10-minute drive to Union Square. The location is much less touristy than most and you feel more like a local without being too far from shopping and restaurants. As New Yorkers, hearing there was adequate street parking (and no lot) scared us a bit, but there really is more than enough conveniently located street parking -- no circling so bring a car without worry.

All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful -- everyone, including maids, housekeeping, the bellboy and reception were very friendly and always willing to help. I forgot a toothbrush and it was delivered literally within seconds of calling the front desk. The complimentary wine reception each night and the breakfast each morning were also excellent with a large selection of delicious wine and food.

Our room was very clean and well appointed but definitely looked and felt a bit dated. There were hairline cracks in our sink, no AC, older televisions that didn't work properly and very limited sound proofing -- we could clearly hear other guests closing doors and talking. All that said, there was still fast and free wi-fi, which was much appreciated.

While the great service and location make up for the older feel of the hotel, it was the one aspect preventing a perfect rating.

Nevertheless, we will certainly stay here again on our next visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your honest and helpful feedback! I'm pleased to know that you found our service to be excellent, and I am equally pleased to tell you that the aspects of your experience that prevented you from giving us that perfect rating are exactly the things that we are working to address at present: Better soundproofing in certain areas, upgrades to furniture and fixtures and improvements to climate control are all in the works! Please stop by again soon to check out the upgrades!

Thanks again.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This has been our San Francisco hotel of choice for all our visits. We love that you can walk around a residential neighborhood and see the bay and the city laid out before you. We visited in October and enjoyed all the Halloween decorations displayed on the houses.

Last year we noticed that the hotel seemed in a state of flux and we ended up on the ground floor, not the best of rooms. This year we were pleased to get an upper floor room and came back each night to enjoy the "Evening Wine Reception". This has been much improved since last year with cold food nibbles, signature meatballs and two wine choices. We did ask at checkout what had changed and were told that they are now part of a larger hotel chain which took place last year, hence the state of flux.

The staff is always attentive to the guests. 24 hr coffee or tea in the morning room (with biscotti in the afternoon), a wonderful breakfast, comfortable beds and large well appointed baths. They also have a workout room if you are so inclined.

The Pacific Heights location is just so nice, a short walk from the Presidio, views of Golden Gate Bridge, The Palace of Fine Arts and Alcatraz Island. On one visit we could even hear the fog horns at night! For those who want shopping we were directed to Filmore Street where restaurants and shopping is very abundant. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: This is an old building which does not have air conditioning. San Francisco is typically cool but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

The Hotel Drisco is, paradoxically, both remarkably stable and always in a state of flux at the same time. Never one to rest on our laurels, we are constantly renovating, renewing, refreshing, re-training and strategizing about the ways we can do things better, but always delivering on our unique brand of service. And while it is true that we recently joined forces with Woodside Hotels after having been associated with Joie de Vivre Hospitality for a number of years, we remain an independently owned hotel with a decidedly non-chain approach to hospitality. We pride ourselves on offering a consistently outstanding experience, so I am sorry that your previous visit left you less satisfied than your most recent one. Come back again soon and I promise you we will exceed your expectations again!

Thanks very much for your review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I spent 4 nights here recently and can't imagine staying at another hotel in San Francisco. The hotel itself is lovely but what really impressed me were the added amenities. The complimentary continental breakfast each morning is an impressive spread, as is the added perk of wine and cheese happy hour. Normally I would expect lower quality wines for a free hotel happy hour but they were pouring Mollydooker, Merryvale, etc. while I was there. They also provided whole bottles of complimentary sparkling water at request.

In addition, they have complimentary hot tea, coffee, and water in the library so you can grab a cup as you head out or in, plus free bottled water in the room, turn-down service with ice buckets filled and the most wonderful chocolate cookies and slippers and a robe laid out, a pillow menu, free wifi, free shoe shines, and a library full of DVD's - including a section devoted to movies filmed in San Francisco.

I was a tiny bit concerned about the parking, as I had rented a car and noted they had no garage or valet parking, but the furthest I had to park was half a block away and always readily available.

The rooms were nicely appointed with an over abundance of toiletries that went beyond the norm: mouthwash, q-tips, sewing kits, etc.

The staff was courteous, thoughtful and helpful. As a business traveler who has spent a few hundred nights in hotels, I'm hard to impress and tend to stay at hotels for leisure where I have points. I decided to go off the beaten path this time and I feel I got tremendous value for what I paid. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really loved your review -- thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts!

As a collector of airline and hotel miles and points myself, I understand the allure of accruing and redeeming with the big chains, but I am so pleased you decided to take a chance on a small independent hotel like us. And I'm even more pleased that you so thoroughly enjoyed the experience!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel back in March but I have only just joined TripAdvisor, hence the late review.

The experience we had here was brilliant from the moment we checked in to the moment the hotel run chauffeur dropped us off at the airport.

Efficient check in and kind staff who helped us with the bags. All services were explained including DVD rental, free taxi to town in the morning, hotel drop service (which is cheaper than standard San Fran fare and in a much more luxurious vehicle), bike hire on Ricky and Lucy Globe bikes, the reception even provided a huge detailed list on restaurants and maps of the area.

Room was fantastic with wonderful amenities, turn down service is fabulous. Pillow menu is an extra luxury which allowed for a wonderful nights sleep.

Breakfast was gorgeous, fresh fruit, lovely pastries etc.

Taxi service drop off to town was efficient, polite and quick.

On our final day we borrowed the hotel bikes and cycled down and over the golden gate bridge, amazing end to an amazing holiday.

The hotel is in fabulous condition and the staff and truly wonderful. The location in Pacific Heights is special as you are out of the way of the loud tourists! Still close enough to get around to the popular locations if you want to though.

If you are looking for a hotel where you can experience the city like a local, whilst being treated like a VIP this is the place for your!

Enjoy this wonderful find!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comprehensive review. Every single one of our guests is, by definition, a VIP in our eyes!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.