We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned charm to spare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm to spare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our first two nights in the USA. Welcoming and comfortable. The location is not ideal if you are not a fit walker or prepared to hire cabs, but everything about the property makes it worth the effort of getting up the hill. Breakfast was a plentiful and delicious continental style and the wine and cheese in the evenings was a great way to wind down after a busy day and offered an opportunity to mix and chat with other travellers. We enjoyed the walk too and from the attractions as we then did not need a gym or pool for exercise and we were able to get a great view of Pacific Heights and all the unique architecture and grandeur that is San Francisco. Highly recommend this property to travellers that like the service, charm and facilities of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are honored to have served as your introduction to the USA! I just hope we didn't set you up for any disappointment down the road, so to speak. :-)

The Hotel Drisco's location is absolutely ideal -- for many of our guests. Then again I often say that the Drisco is not the perfect hotel for everyone. If it's a hotel in the center of the action you seek, you would be much better served by one of the many great properties near Union Square or Fisherman's Wharf. However, if you are looking for an urban retreat in the heart of one of the world's most elegant residential neighborhoods, I dare ay that no hotel will serve you better than the Hotel Drisco.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    809
    120
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
157
512
44
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Not a big chain hotel and it shows. Located in a really posh part of town, surrounded by top quality homes, and staffed by some of the best San Francisco has to offer. No swimming pool, fitness centre or other chain must haves. Unless you love taxi's you will need to be pretty fit to manage the steep hills all around. But dont let these facts put you off because the comfort, ambiance, attention to detail and overall quality of the Drisco more than make up for these minor downsides. When ever we are back in San Francisco again there will be no Internet searching to find a hotel, we'll return to The Drisco.
The Complementary breakfasts and early evening wine and cheese events are most enjoyable and the free wifi much appreciated (I will not stay where this service is separately charged for normally at exorbitant rates)
Thank you Drisco, and especially Jon at the front desk, for a really wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The City View rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Pacific Heights neighborhood where hotel Drisco is located was the perfect place to end the day after our busy touring days in the city. Returning to our room each day(we spent four nights), we relaxed with the wine tasting which included cheeses and fruit. Each morning before leaving, we enjoyed a European continental breakfast that included hot oatmeal, fresh and dried fruit, various pastries, yogurt, juices, and cappuccino. The staff made us feel at home, and were very accommodating, helping to make our stay comfortable. After driving us to our Chinatown tour, one morning, they even moved our rental car for us as parking in San Francisco is definitely a problem.
We will surely return to Hotel Drisco on our next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so pleased you found us to be the perfect place to stay in San Francisco. You're right, parking in the City can be very difficult at times, but fortunately our Pacific Heights location is a rare exception. Add to that the fact that our Bell staff will move your car throughout the day if you request (at no charge) and you have a great solution to San Francisco parking woes. The only catch? You need to be a guest at the Hotel Drisco!

Thanks again for your review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I have seen many reviews of the Hotel Drisco, all of them excellent. We had stayed here many years ago and decided it was time to go back and see if all of the rave reviews were correct. They ARE!

A very lovely stay away from all of the tourist hub bub of Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf. It you want a hotel in the heart of the tourist activity, this is not the place for you. If you want quiet, elegance, outstanding service and rooms than this is the place.

The Hotel Drisco is located in the Pacific Heights neighborhood of San Francisco, in the middle of billionaire's row. Views of downtown, Sutro Tower, the fog coming in and out and the bay abound.

While the hotel is in a residential neighborhood, the Filmore shopping and restaurant area is a short walk away.

The hotel features very nice linens, bath products, an exercise facility, bicycles (not sure I would want to ride a bike on the hills in this part of SF) a very nice continental breakfast, wine evening reception, etc. Very nice service by the staff.

The only negative is that the hotel is not air conditioned, some evenings can be warm, even in foggy San Francisco.

A very lovely stay. The number one hotel rating in San Francisco is well deserved.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review! I'm so glad you came back to try us again after so many years.

Thanks also for pointing out the fact that we do not have air conditioning in the hotel. I always feel it's important to be forthright about any issue that a potential guest may see as a drawback. It is absolutely true that San Francisco sees a few days out of every year where air conditioning might be appreciated by our guests (and when I say "a few" I literally mean three or perhaps four days out of 365). If you happen to stay with us on one of these days, I apologize in advance if it's a little warm in your room during the day. Or if the lack of this amenity prevents you from booking with us, I will completely understand -- I want you to be happy wherever you stay!

So how do we keep cool on those three or four days out of the year? We have windows that open wide to let in the ever-present cool Pacific breezes and we have a ready supply of fans.

The fact is that most small hotels and B&Bs (and indeed quite a few office buildings) in San Francisco have never installed air conditioning for the reasons mentioned above, so we're in good company.

Thanks again for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Driscol held a wine tasting event on our arrival - complete with several local wines, cheese, fruit, charcuterie and bread. A continental breakfast included cappuccino. Fresh-cut flowers and plush decor made us feel comfortable. All staff members provided exemplary service. The front desk helped arrange our dinner and cab rides and provided directions and a map to Lombard Street and Fisherman's Wharf.
The Anderson Family, Toronto, Ontario.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks to the Anderson family from Toronto for your kind review! Please do come back and see us again soon.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I spent 3 nights within the space of 2 weeks at Hotel Drisco this past August and my experience got better every time. I enjoyed the location in the beautiful residential Pacific Heights neighborhood so for those looking to get away from downtown, this is an excellent choice. The service is welcoming and friendly. There are lovely amenities including the 5pm wine tastings with excellent cheeses and snacks, as well as the buffet breakfast. There is also a small gym. Travelers should be aware that the hotel does not offer valet parking but we were able to find parking on the same block as the hotel and there is plenty of parking in the neighborhood. The rooms were all clean, well-appointed, comfortable and airy. The first two were a bit small (hence the rating of a 4 and not a 5) but the third room-405A-was a junior suite with a city view and it was gorgeous! By the time I arrived at the Drisco for my third visit, I felt as though I was coming home. This is my go-to choice for San Francisco!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry you felt the need to take away a star from us because the first two rooms you stayed in were too small for your liking. But hey, that's what Trip Advisor is all about -- guests sharing honest feedback in the hopes of improving future guests' experiences! So thank you for sharing, and I am so happy that you enjoyed the size of your third room and all of the other aspects of your stay.

Your review actually points out something that I think we can do a better job of at the Drisco -- our room descriptions should be a little more, well, descriptive. My team and I are working on this right now. If you book our Deluxe or our City View Deluxe guestroom, the square footage of that room will be in the 250 to 320 square foot range. By Vegas standards, that's small. By many European standards, that's big. By San Francisco standards, it's about the norm for a historic hotel (larger more modern hotels in San Francisco do often offer more space). Of course our suites are considerably more spacious. So, look for some expanded room descriptions on our web site soon, or just give us a call with any questions you have.

Thanks again for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I took my girlfriend here last month as a special celebration of her 50th birthday and it is almost impossible to overstate our satisfaction with our stay. No, the hotel is not inexpensive. But the memories of our time there are, in the words of the commercial, "priceless." From the moment I made the reservation, the staff of Hotel Drisco was there to help. From recommendations for a local spa (Senspa), to dinner in the city (Kokkari) to picking up an order of flowers for us, Hotel Drisco is the very definition of Service. Their breakfast is amazing in its quality and variety. The hotel is a supremely elegant building in a magnificent part of the city and has spectacular views of the bay and the skyline. The rooms are luxurious without being over the top. And while all of these qualities are reason enough to give this hotel 5 stars, what lingers with us longest is the unabashed warmth and professionalism of the staff. As others have noted, the people of Hotel Drisco do whatever it takes to make sure you enjoy your stay with them and they do so with a directness and humility that begs the question after staying with them: why would someone ever even consider staying anywhere else?

Room Tip: Rooms with city views are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your spectacular review warmed my heart and almost brought a tear to my eye (I can be an old softie sometimes). Creating memories like those that you have of your stay with us is the raison d'etre of every one of us here at the Drisco. Thank you for taking the time to so eloquently express your thoughts here on Trip Advisor!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.