We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Francisco Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast!
Ranked #1 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“San Francisco Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I spent 3 nights within the space of 2 weeks at Hotel Drisco this past August and my experience got better every time. I enjoyed the location in the beautiful residential Pacific Heights neighborhood so for those looking to get away from downtown, this is an excellent choice. The service is welcoming and friendly. There are lovely amenities including the 5pm wine tastings with excellent cheeses and snacks, as well as the buffet breakfast. There is also a small gym. Travelers should be aware that the hotel does not offer valet parking but we were able to find parking on the same block as the hotel and there is plenty of parking in the neighborhood. The rooms were all clean, well-appointed, comfortable and airy. The first two were a bit small (hence the rating of a 4 and not a 5) but the third room-405A-was a junior suite with a city view and it was gorgeous! By the time I arrived at the Drisco for my third visit, I felt as though I was coming home. This is my go-to choice for San Francisco!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm sorry you felt the need to take away a star from us because the first two rooms you stayed in were too small for your liking. But hey, that's what Trip Advisor is all about -- guests sharing honest feedback in the hopes of improving future guests' experiences! So thank you for sharing, and I am so happy that you enjoyed the size of your third room and all of the other aspects of your stay.

Your review actually points out something that I think we can do a better job of at the Drisco -- our room descriptions should be a little more, well, descriptive. My team and I are working on this right now. If you book our Deluxe or our City View Deluxe guestroom, the square footage of that room will be in the 250 to 320 square foot range. By Vegas standards, that's small. By many European standards, that's big. By San Francisco standards, it's about the norm for a historic hotel (larger more modern hotels in San Francisco do often offer more space). Of course our suites are considerably more spacious. So, look for some expanded room descriptions on our web site soon, or just give us a call with any questions you have.

Thanks again for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    843
    127
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
166
532
46
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I took my girlfriend here last month as a special celebration of her 50th birthday and it is almost impossible to overstate our satisfaction with our stay. No, the hotel is not inexpensive. But the memories of our time there are, in the words of the commercial, "priceless." From the moment I made the reservation, the staff of Hotel Drisco was there to help. From recommendations for a local spa (Senspa), to dinner in the city (Kokkari) to picking up an order of flowers for us, Hotel Drisco is the very definition of Service. Their breakfast is amazing in its quality and variety. The hotel is a supremely elegant building in a magnificent part of the city and has spectacular views of the bay and the skyline. The rooms are luxurious without being over the top. And while all of these qualities are reason enough to give this hotel 5 stars, what lingers with us longest is the unabashed warmth and professionalism of the staff. As others have noted, the people of Hotel Drisco do whatever it takes to make sure you enjoy your stay with them and they do so with a directness and humility that begs the question after staying with them: why would someone ever even consider staying anywhere else?

Room Tip: Rooms with city views are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your spectacular review warmed my heart and almost brought a tear to my eye (I can be an old softie sometimes). Creating memories like those that you have of your stay with us is the raison d'etre of every one of us here at the Drisco. Thank you for taking the time to so eloquently express your thoughts here on Trip Advisor!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

this hotel is clean and in the absolute best possible location...at the heights of pacific heights. the views are spectacular from the neighborhood. we got the suite which was perfect for my family of 5....the hotel is a little older but i can't say enough about how gracious and helpful the staff is...they go out of their way to accomodate you and are so nice about it...makes you really appreciate your stay....the breakfast in the am is fine, nothing fancy, and the property is not spectacular but it works....i would, without a doubt, stay there again....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm glad we were able to comfortably accommodate your family of five. The Hotel Drisco is indeed an older building -- built in 1903 -- and we take great pride in making sure the history, warmth and charm of the building shines through the addition of all the necessary modern conveniences. Personally I think our breakfasts are lavish and that the Drisco is indeed spectacular, but you will certainly be forgiven if you find that opinion a bit based!

Thanks again for your review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Superb, human size luxury hotel with charm and a touch of European class. Top service. Delicious breakfasts and complimentary 5 o'clock tea/wine tasting. Definitely the best place for a classy stay in SF.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

"Human size." I love that! Well said, and thank you.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

From the minute you arrive here you feel valued. Staff are warm and helpful without the annoying obsequiousness that sometimes passes for service in smart hotels. We first stayed here six years ago; nothing has changed. Rooms are totally luxurious with every facility. Dressing gowns are elegant. Turn-down service includes a delicious chocolate shortbread. There is an early evening wine and canapé event. And breakfast offers a vast choice of very high quality baking and other produce in an elegant breakfast room.
Pacific Heights is a residential suburb to die for. Perched above the Bay, there are breathtaking vistas at each intersection. Street after street of beautiful urban homes, all different, most understated by US standards. This is a peaceful walking suburb, but you need good calves and lungs to cope with the vertiginous hills. It is also a long way from downtown, but the No 3 bus will get you there with little effort. Nearby is Fillmore Street for dining and shopping. And there are several parks within striking distance. You'll never stay downtown again!

Room Tip: Some (lovely) rooms look out internally. If this matters, ask for an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I couldn't have said it better myself -- thank you!

Regarding your room tip, our Deluxe King rooms do indeed have very "local" views -- the vast majority look out over our interior courtyard (and of other rooms facing the courtyard). If a great view is important to you, please be sure to book a City View Deluxe King room or a City View Suite.

Thanks again!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My bf and I stayed here last weekend and it really was the perfect experience!

It's in the Pacific Heights area and is somewhat unassuming which we loved. Charming and smaller, but with all the amenities you could need.

The hotel staff was amazing and did whatever was asked of them and with a smile!! If you're gonna be staying in the PH area of SF, I highly recommend Drisco!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to post your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A cozy hidden gem in Pacific Heights - great, safe neighborhood with the best "hotel" staff I have ever worked with. They literally bend over backwards to make you feel welcome and to assist you on your stay, and it feels more like a B&B than hotel because of this customer service. We started our honeymoon here, and could not have imagined a better place to begin our lives together. From a surprise bottle of bubbly our first night to nightly turndown service that included cookies, to daily (FREE) water bottles to keep you hydrated, WOW...it was the best experience we've ever had at a hotel. The breakfast was wonderful, the staff was fabulous, room service was surprisingly fantastic, and I can't rave enough about our three nights here. The MUNI system is within one block of the hotel, there are tons of restaurants and shopping within three blocks, and you can borrow the hotels' bikes (again, at no cost) to ride to/across the Golden Gate Bridge. We love this place and WILL return!

Room Tip: Some rooms have no views, but it's okay...there is plenty to do in the city to keep you occupied...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your kind words about our staff. It was indeed our pleasure to help you make the most of the start of your lives together!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.