We booked this hotel when Expedia let us down by putting us in an awful hotel. So we booked the number 1 hotel in the area according to trip advisor and will never trust expedia again.The hotel is lovely, it's in a lovely quiet neighbourhood it has lovely furnishings and decor. It's public areas are quiet. It holds wine tasting and light food in the afternoons and has biscuits and coffee early afternoon.
Sounds great so what's the catch? Ok, first the location, lovely and quiet but it's not exactly central that's good and bad it's a posh area with lovely mansions and great architecture but its a trawl to get anywhere by foot, car or cab. So hire a car ..right? ...wrong...parking is the next issue, there is no parking specific to the hotel. So each night we would return and curb crawl the neighbourhood looking for a parking place...lucky there was no police around as we slowly cruised the area. Ok, on the odd occasion we had to leave our car parked near the hotel during the day you are only allowed three hours parking so your car must be moved a block every three hours. The hotel will do this but will take no responsibility if you get a ticket. Next point and the real bad point of our stay. First most of the staff were fantastic, however... We realised how remote from everything the hotel was and decided to hire a car, we went to reception. The guy at reception was busy so he said to come back later. We returned an hour later. There was a queue so we duly waited in line. It came to our turn and we started to sort out our "preferential great deal/rate" the hotel would get for us. We started answering questions handed over our driving licences and then someone appeared behind us. The receptionist stopped dealing with us and started dealing with this preferred guest obviously, was this man perhaps a film star pop star or just a big tipper me thinks..who knows but I and my wife felt somehow devalued and it left a very bitter taste. The receptionist had no idea what the man wanted because he asked him if he could help so it wasn't like the man had been there earlier. We took our licences and left them to it. We were shocked at this blatant lack of manners. Really poor customer service, purely awful. However, some good came of it as remember the super dooper rate the hotel was going to get us it turned out we got a massively cheaper rate from another provider and the hotel rate wasn't actually cheap at all.
However, that was just one person in what really was a great and helpful team of staff. One other slight criticism was there is no coffee and tea in the room. There is coffee downstairs in the lobby area but its not on early mornings when we got up to go on far away trips to Yosemite etc. it would be much nicer to get up and have your own coffee in your room. Now I'm sure the hotel will say ah yes but we would provide it. Ok so we get up ring reception we want coffee, we get ready and we are off out still no coffee...you get my point. So why not have a tassimo machine as well in reception if you can't put one in every room? Also often there would be no cream, and why cream why not different milks? Poor customer service again.
Also beware the hotel is a hollow square so you may get a room looking inside and everyone in those rooms looking at you...
I wouldn't stay here again as on our exploration of SFO we discovered union square so we would stay in one of the hotels on union square, much more central much more amenities for the tourist.
Get a high outside room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
I'm sorry to hear that Expedia steered you wrong with your first hotel in San Francisco. Subsequently, it sounds like you stayed with us due to the fact that we are the #1 hotel in San Francisco on Trip Advisor. As I say often here in my Trip Advisor replies, the Drisco is a fantastic hotel, but we're not the perfect choice for all occasions. I'm referring to the fact that you mentioned our location and parking as aspects of your stay with which you were less than pleased.
Our guests that book us regularly love us for our location -- tucked away in a quiet residential corner of San Francisco. You're quite right to point out our location in your review. I would just add the following to other readers of this reply: If you want to be by the Wharf, pick a hotel by the Wharf. If you want to be steps away from shopping and taxi stands and cable car stops, by all means stay near Union Square.
Regarding parking, I regret that there may have been some misunderstanding about what we offer. If you choose to care for your vehicle yourself, then you should make yourself aware of our local neighborhood parking restrictions. However, we will also care for your vehicle for you if you wish, and of course we will be responsible for it while it is in our care. It's similar in some respects to a Valet arrangement, except that the Ritz will charge you $70 and we provide the service on a complimentary basis!
I am very sorry to hear that the Front Desk Host who worked with you on your rental car provided less than exceptional service. If you recall the Host's name I would be most grateful. I take an active role in making sure we are always providing the best service possible.
Lastly, we provide Nespresso machines in our suites, and coffee and tea is available to all 24/7 in our Sitting Room -- complimentary, of course.
Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.