We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous old world hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous old world hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for our last night of a 5 weeks holiday in USA and Canada. We wanted to treat ourselves and were not disappointed. The location is in a quiet residential area. The parking was on the street but there was ample and the staff were very on to it when it needed shifting to avoid any fines. The service was top notch. The availability of tea and coffee off the foyer 24/7 was greatly appreciated. The complimentary wine tasting with hors d'oeuvres was well attended and fun. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The staff were very attentive to our needs. It was more pricey than our other stays but we felt well worth it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor 4th with lovely views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    131
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
180
570
49
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked this hotel when Expedia let us down by putting us in an awful hotel. So we booked the number 1 hotel in the area according to trip advisor and will never trust expedia again.The hotel is lovely, it's in a lovely quiet neighbourhood it has lovely furnishings and decor. It's public areas are quiet. It holds wine tasting and light food in the afternoons and has biscuits and coffee early afternoon.

Sounds great so what's the catch? Ok, first the location, lovely and quiet but it's not exactly central that's good and bad it's a posh area with lovely mansions and great architecture but its a trawl to get anywhere by foot, car or cab. So hire a car ..right? ...wrong...parking is the next issue, there is no parking specific to the hotel. So each night we would return and curb crawl the neighbourhood looking for a parking place...lucky there was no police around as we slowly cruised the area. Ok, on the odd occasion we had to leave our car parked near the hotel during the day you are only allowed three hours parking so your car must be moved a block every three hours. The hotel will do this but will take no responsibility if you get a ticket. Next point and the real bad point of our stay. First most of the staff were fantastic, however... We realised how remote from everything the hotel was and decided to hire a car, we went to reception. The guy at reception was busy so he said to come back later. We returned an hour later. There was a queue so we duly waited in line. It came to our turn and we started to sort out our "preferential great deal/rate" the hotel would get for us. We started answering questions handed over our driving licences and then someone appeared behind us. The receptionist stopped dealing with us and started dealing with this preferred guest obviously, was this man perhaps a film star pop star or just a big tipper me thinks..who knows but I and my wife felt somehow devalued and it left a very bitter taste. The receptionist had no idea what the man wanted because he asked him if he could help so it wasn't like the man had been there earlier. We took our licences and left them to it. We were shocked at this blatant lack of manners. Really poor customer service, purely awful. However, some good came of it as remember the super dooper rate the hotel was going to get us it turned out we got a massively cheaper rate from another provider and the hotel rate wasn't actually cheap at all.
However, that was just one person in what really was a great and helpful team of staff. One other slight criticism was there is no coffee and tea in the room. There is coffee downstairs in the lobby area but its not on early mornings when we got up to go on far away trips to Yosemite etc. it would be much nicer to get up and have your own coffee in your room. Now I'm sure the hotel will say ah yes but we would provide it. Ok so we get up ring reception we want coffee, we get ready and we are off out still no coffee...you get my point. So why not have a tassimo machine as well in reception if you can't put one in every room? Also often there would be no cream, and why cream why not different milks? Poor customer service again.

Also beware the hotel is a hollow square so you may get a room looking inside and everyone in those rooms looking at you...
I wouldn't stay here again as on our exploration of SFO we discovered union square so we would stay in one of the hotels on union square, much more central much more amenities for the tourist.

Room Tip: Get a high outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

I'm sorry to hear that Expedia steered you wrong with your first hotel in San Francisco. Subsequently, it sounds like you stayed with us due to the fact that we are the #1 hotel in San Francisco on Trip Advisor. As I say often here in my Trip Advisor replies, the Drisco is a fantastic hotel, but we're not the perfect choice for all occasions. I'm referring to the fact that you mentioned our location and parking as aspects of your stay with which you were less than pleased.

Our guests that book us regularly love us for our location -- tucked away in a quiet residential corner of San Francisco. You're quite right to point out our location in your review. I would just add the following to other readers of this reply: If you want to be by the Wharf, pick a hotel by the Wharf. If you want to be steps away from shopping and taxi stands and cable car stops, by all means stay near Union Square.

Regarding parking, I regret that there may have been some misunderstanding about what we offer. If you choose to care for your vehicle yourself, then you should make yourself aware of our local neighborhood parking restrictions. However, we will also care for your vehicle for you if you wish, and of course we will be responsible for it while it is in our care. It's similar in some respects to a Valet arrangement, except that the Ritz will charge you $70 and we provide the service on a complimentary basis!

I am very sorry to hear that the Front Desk Host who worked with you on your rental car provided less than exceptional service. If you recall the Host's name I would be most grateful. I take an active role in making sure we are always providing the best service possible.

Lastly, we provide Nespresso machines in our suites, and coffee and tea is available to all 24/7 in our Sitting Room -- complimentary, of course.

Thanks for your review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Fantastic hotel and service. The stunning views make up for the need to take a taxi to the sights. Great buffet breakfast. Your own home in SF. But what really makes it is the really obliging staff, and with a constant smile. The evening complimentary wine and bites is fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hotel Drisco was an excellent experience for our short stay in April, 2013. I have nothing, but praise and admiration for the wonderful service we received from everyone. The front desk attendants were knowledgeable, helpful, and catered to our every need. This boutique hotel is lovely and wonderfully decorated.
Although there is full disclosure on their website, do keep in mind that there is no air conditioning in the hotel, which was a problem for us even in April (there was a minor heat wave) and while the windows did provide relief, they have no screens on them..so I was a bit concerned about "pests" entering the room. The located in a beautiful neighborhood in Russian Hill, but just keep in mind that this is a very long way from most tourist attractions in San Francisco. Having been to San Francisco many times, I wanted this type of new experience of staying in a neighborhood setting and I'm glad we did. We had a wonderful night's rest and met some very lovely people. Although I mentioned this before, I can't really say enough wonderful things about the caring and kind staff. Simply wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We loved this boutique hotel! The place is just lovely, we enjoyed the quiet sitting room. The staff were generous with their time and provided prompt assistance. Wine and appetizers were lovely as is the complimentary breakfast and the location is close to parks and a lovely shopping area. We won't look for another San Francisco hotel-this is our place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Drisco was a great hotel for us. We were looking for a quiet, comfortable hotel that cares about the quality of life it provides for guests. The entire staff was kind and accommodating, the breakfast was copious and yummy. This is not a party hotel placing emphasis on design over service--rather it is a beautiful historic gem that is perfect for travelers looking to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I love this place-very charming- it felt almost like a bed and breakfast. Most friendly and helpful staff I have ever come across. They made you feel right at home. Loved the wine and cheese in the evening and the breakfast in the morning was perfect. I also loved the slippers:) I will be staying here again next time I visit San Fran for sure. It was also a great location, surrounded by the most gorgeous homes and centrally located. We were able to walk to most places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.