We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect combination of service and style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect combination of service and style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I can't give enough praise for the staff at Hotel Drisco. All individuals from front desk to housekeeping were friendly, professional and always eager to help.

The rooms are beautiful, facilities/extras a delightful surprise and the breakfast exceptional.

A very, very classy establishment with wonderful history in a great neighbourhood. Wouldn't say anywhere else in San Francisco!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    133
    30
    14
    8
See reviews for
188
582
50
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wow, what a great hotel. We enjoyed 3 nights in a lovely suite. The wine tasting, expertly led by Anne, each evening is a great way to meet fellow guests or unwind. The breakfasts are healthy and just what we needed to start the day. Yes, the hotel is at the top of a big hill but it is very quiet at night. It is easy to walk down hill to some great places for dinner and taxi back up the hill for less than $10. Can't wait to stay again next time we're in San Fran.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a comfortable, small hotel located in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in the US. It's a much better experience than staying downtown. If you're in San Francisco on leisure, I highly recommend staying here (or at least in the Pacific Heights area). It's a joy to walk around Pacific Heights and admire the beautiful landscaping and architecture. You can also walk to the Golden Gate and Fillmore street (boutique shopping and bars and restraunts) The hotel is not really luxurious though; it's more like a comfortable inn. So if you're looking for really posh experience, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Yes it's old and so what? It's clean neat and has character! Remember that??
Staff were lovely, the free afternoon wine reception was a great touch with quality wines and cheese.
We had a really lovely few days here in early April.
Just note the location is in a (very quiet and very upmarket) residential area. You need to get a bus or taxi to city and or fishermans wharf. Its not expensive. But we knew that when we booked and saw it as an advantage.
Filmore street is a short walk down the hill and has many Restaurants and bars so the fact that the hotel has no bar or restaurant is not a big deal for me.
I would really recommend Hotel Drisco. We loved it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The staff are superb and make the experience ok , but make no mistake this is an old hotel hanging on. It is located in a lovely area , but - no air conditioning , no bar , no restaurant. Room service is a choice of 6 Panini's. Breakfast is cold continental help yourself and adequate. Old building so floorboards so noisy , even with noise reducing machine in the bedroom, and paper thin walls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry that the Hotel Drisco did not live up to your expectations, however it seems to me that you may have been looking for a more modern, full-featured hotel. I am wondering if perhaps a travel agent or someone else made the booking for you here? We have never claimed to have air conditioning, a bar or a restaurant. In fact we go to great lengths to communicate to our guests (on the phone, in person and on our web site) the services and amenities we offer, and the services and amenities that we do not offer.

Over the years I have stayed at older properties that are "tired" and -- as you put it -- "hanging on." But in my humble opinion (and that of the vast majority of Trip Advisor reviewers here) the Hotel Drisco is most certainly not one of the hangers-on. The owner invests heavily in keeping the fit, finish and furnishings looking beautiful, and my maintenance staff and I pride ourselves on keeping everything in top-notch shape.

As I have said here on Trip Advisor many times before, no hotel is the perfect fit for everyone. The charm and elegance of a stay at the Drisco is right for some, and not the best choice for others. Should you return again to San Francisco, I sincerely hope you find what you are looking for in a hotel. There are lots of great hotel choices in this town. I just happen to think that the Drisco offers an extra-special experience!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights at the end of march.
Where to start...I guess the word I'm looking for is: perfect.
The hotel is a jewel located in an wonderfull area.
All the staff, from the cleaning lady to the receptionist is not only well educated and smily, you can feel that they are here to make you happy. A special mention to Ann, never met such a good, professional and adorable receptionist.
The hotel itself is beautifull, such a good taste.
The room was a delight, I guess it was on the 5th floor. Amazing view (booked a deluxe city view), wonderfull bed, great bathroom. The kind of room you just don't want to leave.
Then comes the breakfast...delicious, fresh (try the sheep yogurt, like cream). I'm really into breakfast and this one is a really good one. Bonus: you'll get the local newspaper in front of your door.
Well, after that, you can discover the city...but don't come back too late or you'll miss the wine and cheese aperitif at 5pm. I'm french, I love wine and cheese. They just serve good wine and good cheese (they also serve meatballs my husband went crazy for). And, the sommelier (nice lady whoose name I don't remember) is adorable.
Then you can go dining (would recommend "Frances" in the Castro, delicious, book in advance). And when coming back, you'll find on your pillow a marvellous chocolate biscuit!
Well, there is so much more to tell that it would take the all day reviewing.
At the end, it's not cheap but you can be sure that every cent will be well spent!
I just can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to read your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

The location is great at the top of Pacific heights, lovely views. Staff are very helpful and lots of free extras like early evening drinks and morning transfer service around town. Our room had a beautiful view of the bay. Will stay here next time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

And just a note to our Trip Advisor readers that if you would like to enjoy a lovely city view from your guestroom, please be sure to book a "City View Deluxe King" or a "City View Suite" category room.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.