We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel with Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Charming Hotel with Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a lovely time here and we treated exceptionally by the staff, even our 18 month old twins were so welcome. They had two cribs waiting in the room for us with the softest teddy bears ever! The wine reception was excellent, great wine choices and we learned a lot from the Sommelier. Comfortable room, Great location to getting everywhere and awesome breakfast. We had just a regular room but our friends had a suite and it was gorgeous and roomy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Those teddies really are great, aren't they? All out little ones can look forward to receiving one when they come to stay with us. I will be sure to convey your sentiments to all the staff here. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    131
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
180
570
49
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent our wedding anniversary here and all we can say is AWESOME! The location is amazing, breakfast was delicious, and our one bedroom suite was to die for. Staff was attentive but not intrusive. We are planning on coming back for our next anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased that we were able to make your wedding anniversary special!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago on our wedding night - were married on the Presidio.

Have to say that the staff was gracious, the room was beautiful, and it was a nice way to cap off a wonderful day. Everything wa done just right. The view from our room was great - but we didn't pay too much attention to it.

Breakfast in the morning was a perfect start to the day before we drove off for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

If you stayed with us on your wedding night a few years ago then I think it might be time for a return trip for your anniversary! Please feel free to reach out to me so that we can arrange something special for you!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

With its perfect location, wonderful staff and charming building, the Drisco has been our home away from home for almost a decade.
Besides being tucked away on a gorgeous corner of Pacific Heights with a view of Alcatraz and the bay, and an accommodating staff who exhibits attention to detail and superiority in customer service, the Drisco has an amazing European style breakfast.
The rooms are lovely and well appointed but beyond the basics of the hotel's beauty, the staff will move your car if you're in danger of a parking ticket due to street cleaning. They will remember what kind of chocolate you like or which room you prefer and what newspaper you read.
In short, a stay at the Drisco is priceless. The only thing rivaling the stunning architecture of the Victorian mansions of Pacific Heights is the top drawer service and old time attention to detail of the Drisco's staff, it's service rarely seen in today's busy world and we cherish each and every visit there.

Room Tip: I could never pick one room over another, they are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your kind review, and for your continued loyalty to us! We especially love our repeat guests -- both those that have stayed with us before and those that will be repeat guests but just don't realize it yet!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here after a Yosemite Park experience with our 16-year-old and 24-year-old during the month of August. We got a 2-bedroom suite, and it was all-around a heavenly experience. The neighborhood is wonderful, the hotel itself is elegant but not ostentatious, the breakfast was beautifully presented and reminiscent of a European breakfast, the linens, furnishings, and quiet were just what we needed after hiking Yosemite. A sophisticated way to experience the lovely Pacific Heights area of San Francisco and to relax quietly in a big city. Service was impeccable.
Kudos to the Hotel Drisco. We'll be back.

Room Tip: If you have a family, go for the 2-bedroom suite. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that we were able to serve as a welcome respite after what must have been an exhilarating experience in Yosemite.

I agree with you that our two-bedroom two-bathroom suites are one of the best values in the City of San Francisco for families. These guestrooms are really more like spacious apartments (without the kitchens) and comparable rooms at larger five-star hotels are not simply more expensive, they can cost several times the price!

Thank you for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

On several occasions we've stayed at the hotel and have received only the very best treatment we've ever experienced anywhere. We feel like family at the hotel, with a warm and wonderful welcome and a continual sense of whatever can be done to enhance the experience will be done. Pacific Heights is stunningly beautiful and the experience of being away from the hustle-bustle is a total bonus. Breakfasts are top-notch. A truly positive experience each and every time.Will return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: City views or at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your warm and wonderful review. We do indeed work very hard every day to "enhance your experience" as our guest. We are not one to rest on our laurels, and we are constantly engaged in a program to both keep the hotel looking its best and to invest in new and innovative amenities.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've now stayed at the Hotel Drisco twice:

(1) The night before brain surgery at UCSF.. which was also my 1 year wedding anniversary!
(2) four months later for a successful follow up at UCSF

What could have been a stressful, pre-op night ended up to be a cozy and wonderful one. Friends and family gathered with me in the small private dining area to watch football and eat take-out. Then when I went to my room later, my husband had decorated our suite to the nines with chocolate treats, bouquets, and flower petals everywhere! (ok, just teared up writing that). The incredible staff at the Drisco were beyond accommodating in making sure I was incredibly comfortable, relaxed, and special on such a unique evening.

The second time I went I was simply reminded of what a gem this place is. The adjectives that come to mind are:

-regal
-cozy
-fresh
-cheerful
-traditional
-historical
-luxurious
-detail oriented
-incredible views
-charming

Btw- I loved this place and I never even did the complimentary breakfast or wine tasting, which I know is a total hit there. Ultimately, I can't say enough about this San Francisco treasure.

Room Tip: The first room I stayed I had the living room part on the sunny side, and the bedroom part on the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I just love your list of adjectives! Thanks so much for choosing us for such an important occasion, and for your lovely review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.