We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I ADORE this Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I ADORE this Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've now stayed at the Hotel Drisco twice:

(1) The night before brain surgery at UCSF.. which was also my 1 year wedding anniversary!
(2) four months later for a successful follow up at UCSF

What could have been a stressful, pre-op night ended up to be a cozy and wonderful one. Friends and family gathered with me in the small private dining area to watch football and eat take-out. Then when I went to my room later, my husband had decorated our suite to the nines with chocolate treats, bouquets, and flower petals everywhere! (ok, just teared up writing that). The incredible staff at the Drisco were beyond accommodating in making sure I was incredibly comfortable, relaxed, and special on such a unique evening.

The second time I went I was simply reminded of what a gem this place is. The adjectives that come to mind are:

-regal
-cozy
-fresh
-cheerful
-traditional
-historical
-luxurious
-detail oriented
-incredible views
-charming

Btw- I loved this place and I never even did the complimentary breakfast or wine tasting, which I know is a total hit there. Ultimately, I can't say enough about this San Francisco treasure.

Room Tip: The first room I stayed I had the living room part on the sunny side, and the bedroom part on the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I just love your list of adjectives! Thanks so much for choosing us for such an important occasion, and for your lovely review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    131
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
180
570
49
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

After all the great reviews of the Drisco we were excited about staying here. first impressions were great, up in the Pacific Heights region, quirky old building and staff... we stayed on the top floor (4th) and had a nice view over the suburbs.

Room (a deluxe) was average size, with large bathroom and closet. All nice and clean.

Our lack of love came by four things - 1 the old fashioned over bath shower - we would leave the thing on for 5 minutes to get much heat at all out of it, so we actually dreaded using the thing! 2 breakfast was a free for all that wasnt replenished much, and so we either didnt eat or had little (and there are NO other options within close walking distance) 3 the car service is very restricted hours of operation so we were not able to use it at all...not a big deal but irritating nonetheless. 4 weekend service at reception we found to be unhelpful and vague....

So would we stay here or advise other people to do so.... its a great location for something different, the service was at times very good... if they could sort out the water issues and revise the breakfasts then maybe... worth a shot as all the other hotels in SF seem so corporate and bland, but dont expect it to be amazing...

On the up side - the hotel already contacted us about our stay, and the issues raised are apparently being fixed...

Room Tip: go for a deluxe room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry that you were not able to love us as you had hoped! Please accept my sincere apologies. Rest assured that we take to heart absolutely every bit of guest feedback we receive.

Please feel free to contact me personally so that I can get to work on fixing the issues you experienced right away.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

P.S. Our complimentary chauffeur service operates every weekday morning from 7am to 10am. For service outside of these times it is always available for a small fee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Wonderful hotel from beginning to end. Beautiful neighbourhood. Easy parking on the street. A genuinely warm welcome from people who know they're working in a great place. Terrific views of the San Francisco skyline from a quietly luxurious room. Outrageously comfy bed. A breakfast buffet that shows real thought and attention. Seriously good coffee. And a "haste ye back" from someone who I'm pretty sure actually meant it. Our new home in San Francisco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest ,

You've done it. You've captured us in a few words. There's very little I can add other than to say "thank you" and, once again, haste ye back!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We didn't feel like tourists, more like residents of the city. You're not a number at this hotel, this hotel staff treated us like royalty. Pacific Heights is a cut above and the streets around the hotel were so nice to walk around in the morning. Our room was attractive and spacious and very clean. We will stay here again. It was a real San Francisco experience.

Room Tip: we asked for a room that was quiet and got one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your kind review! We endeavor to make all our guests feel like family. I look forward to welcoming you back home.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Accommodations were clean and roomy. Located in a beautiful part of the city. I chose this hotel because of the good reviews and it's proximity to UCSF Medical Hospital. They serve a beautiful breakfast buffet in the morning with the best coffee anywhere. Every evening for an 1 1/2 hours they have wine, cheese and appetizers. I thought it would be just a "tasting" but they let you help yourself to full glasses of excellent California wines. I wrote them all down to buy later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your experience, particularly the beverages! If you'll pardon the immodesty, we do indeed serve really excellent coffee. Illy for our espresso and cappuccino and Equator for our brewed coffee. And our sommelier selects a variety excellent California wines each month for our complimentary nightly wine reception, many cuts above wine receptions you may have experienced in other hotels.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This property has the charm and intimacy of a small inn, but services and privacy of a large hotel.
Slightly out of the way location, but with beautiful views on the beautiful streets of Pacific Heights.

Pros: Lovely old building, great character, nice views, large rooms and suites. Not inexpensive but good value. Very good quality breakfast buffet and ambience. Genuinely warm service. Great beds and pillows.

Cons: Slightly out of the way, albeit in a lovely area. Room furnishings and baths not quite 5 star, but entirely pleasant and serviceable.

Room Tip: We were a family of five and chose a 2br 2ba suite. Very reasonable priced and spacious, not easy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I think your review of us is spot on in many ways -- thank you! However, you mention as a "con" that we are "out of the way." All I can say is, guilty as charged! We are indeed out of the way, and we also recognize that our location in the heart of San Francisco's most upscale residential neighborhood, Pacific Heights, is not ideal for the guest who is interested in being in the heart of the action. And that is by design.

We are most assuredly an urban hotel, and as San Francisco is a very compact city, as our guest it will not take you long to get where you're going -- museums, concerts, restaurants, even the airport. Some destinations are a short drive or a hop on a bus, others are a stroll down the hill north, south east or west. But the Hotel Drisco is an urban retreat. We are in the center of a neighborhood of lovely homes where both pedestrian and vehicular traffic is minimal.

Thank you for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Greeted with hot towels on a chilly January day was a pleasant start to our stay. This hotel sings out old world charm from the sitting room with people reading the paper having a cup of tea from wine and cheese being served at 5 pm to having a key rather than a plastic key card
The staff are very attentive and happy to help though at breakfast it is hard to find someone to bring you a hot chocolate or cappuccino (regular coffee is already on the side). Breakfast is continental style but would be nice if you could have the option of some scrambled eggs for example and I must say allowing the gentleman to attend breakfast in his dressing gown and pj's was off putting. The negative the lift starts noisily working at 5.30 am every morning, can't be guests every morning constantly up and down it has to be staff moving things around so my sleep was ended the same time every morning.

Room Tip: Ask to be well away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. "Old fashioned charm" is a great title for a review of the Drisco. From our real keys to hot towels at check-in to our traditional philosophy of service, we can be pretty old fashioned. But we are also clandestinely cutting-edge where it matters, with free fast Wifi, HDTV, iDevice docks, etc.

You may be interested to know that we have just hired a local restaurateur to oversee all of our food and beverage operations, which should expedite the delivery of those hot chocolates and cappuccinos! I'm very sorry if they were delayed for you. As for scrambled eggs, that is a request that we only get once in a while, due mostly to the fact that our European-inspired buffet of super high-quality items is so extensive. In fact I often hear form our guests that they appreciate the absence of bacon, egg and cheese odors emanating from our Dining Room. However, we are here to serve you, and if majority opinion begins to shift to the idea of serving a more extensive hot breakfast, then that is exactly what we will do!

Lastly, I would like to sincerely apologize to you for the elevator noise that awoke you in the mornings. I don't believe our elevator is particularly noisy, nor is it used any more than necessary by my staff or guests, however as I have mentioned in past review replies here on Trip Advisor, the construction of our venerable 1903 Edwardian can lead to more noise transmission than in buildings of more modern construction. Some guests seem to be sensitive to it, many are not. I am indeed very sorry that it disturbed you. Please feel free to reach out to me regarding a future stay that I hope you will be considering, and I'll see what I can do for you!

Thank you again for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.