We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Accommodations were clean and roomy. Located in a beautiful part of the city. I chose this hotel because of the good reviews and it's proximity to UCSF Medical Hospital. They serve a beautiful breakfast buffet in the morning with the best coffee anywhere. Every evening for an 1 1/2 hours they have wine, cheese and appetizers. I thought it would be just a "tasting" but they let you help yourself to full glasses of excellent California wines. I wrote them all down to buy later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your experience, particularly the beverages! If you'll pardon the immodesty, we do indeed serve really excellent coffee. Illy for our espresso and cappuccino and Equator for our brewed coffee. And our sommelier selects a variety excellent California wines each month for our complimentary nightly wine reception, many cuts above wine receptions you may have experienced in other hotels.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    131
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
181
570
49
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This property has the charm and intimacy of a small inn, but services and privacy of a large hotel.
Slightly out of the way location, but with beautiful views on the beautiful streets of Pacific Heights.

Pros: Lovely old building, great character, nice views, large rooms and suites. Not inexpensive but good value. Very good quality breakfast buffet and ambience. Genuinely warm service. Great beds and pillows.

Cons: Slightly out of the way, albeit in a lovely area. Room furnishings and baths not quite 5 star, but entirely pleasant and serviceable.

Room Tip: We were a family of five and chose a 2br 2ba suite. Very reasonable priced and spacious, not easy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I think your review of us is spot on in many ways -- thank you! However, you mention as a "con" that we are "out of the way." All I can say is, guilty as charged! We are indeed out of the way, and we also recognize that our location in the heart of San Francisco's most upscale residential neighborhood, Pacific Heights, is not ideal for the guest who is interested in being in the heart of the action. And that is by design.

We are most assuredly an urban hotel, and as San Francisco is a very compact city, as our guest it will not take you long to get where you're going -- museums, concerts, restaurants, even the airport. Some destinations are a short drive or a hop on a bus, others are a stroll down the hill north, south east or west. But the Hotel Drisco is an urban retreat. We are in the center of a neighborhood of lovely homes where both pedestrian and vehicular traffic is minimal.

Thank you for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Greeted with hot towels on a chilly January day was a pleasant start to our stay. This hotel sings out old world charm from the sitting room with people reading the paper having a cup of tea from wine and cheese being served at 5 pm to having a key rather than a plastic key card
The staff are very attentive and happy to help though at breakfast it is hard to find someone to bring you a hot chocolate or cappuccino (regular coffee is already on the side). Breakfast is continental style but would be nice if you could have the option of some scrambled eggs for example and I must say allowing the gentleman to attend breakfast in his dressing gown and pj's was off putting. The negative the lift starts noisily working at 5.30 am every morning, can't be guests every morning constantly up and down it has to be staff moving things around so my sleep was ended the same time every morning.

Room Tip: Ask to be well away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. "Old fashioned charm" is a great title for a review of the Drisco. From our real keys to hot towels at check-in to our traditional philosophy of service, we can be pretty old fashioned. But we are also clandestinely cutting-edge where it matters, with free fast Wifi, HDTV, iDevice docks, etc.

You may be interested to know that we have just hired a local restaurateur to oversee all of our food and beverage operations, which should expedite the delivery of those hot chocolates and cappuccinos! I'm very sorry if they were delayed for you. As for scrambled eggs, that is a request that we only get once in a while, due mostly to the fact that our European-inspired buffet of super high-quality items is so extensive. In fact I often hear form our guests that they appreciate the absence of bacon, egg and cheese odors emanating from our Dining Room. However, we are here to serve you, and if majority opinion begins to shift to the idea of serving a more extensive hot breakfast, then that is exactly what we will do!

Lastly, I would like to sincerely apologize to you for the elevator noise that awoke you in the mornings. I don't believe our elevator is particularly noisy, nor is it used any more than necessary by my staff or guests, however as I have mentioned in past review replies here on Trip Advisor, the construction of our venerable 1903 Edwardian can lead to more noise transmission than in buildings of more modern construction. Some guests seem to be sensitive to it, many are not. I am indeed very sorry that it disturbed you. Please feel free to reach out to me regarding a future stay that I hope you will be considering, and I'll see what I can do for you!

Thank you again for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Hotel Drisco is truly heaven on earth. From the moment you enter this quaint, cosy boutique hotel in one of the most exquisite neighborhoods in the United States, you'll know why I say this. The rooms are fantastic - from the pillows, and beds, to the small touches like slippers left by your bed, to the clean and nice sized bathroom, to the fresh fruit in the lobby, the tea in the sitting room right off the lobby. If you could dream up your perfect breakfast, it's there waiting for you in the morning (complimentary). The wine in the evening is a wonderful treat too. They offer a nice gym, complimentary bikes, passes to a local gym (not that you need to go indoors to get exercise in San Francisco). The staff could not be more lovely and helpful. I adore the Hotel Drisco, and if I could live there for a reasonable price, I would.

Room Tip: All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much. You may be interested to know that we do have several guests who have lived here for many, many years. They started out as guests much like yourself, but they ended up loving the experience so much that they decided never to leave! So if you are interested in moving in just drop me a line!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Hotel is a real classic, old style boutique accommodation.
The service was excellent, the rooms exceptionally clean, breakfast was also good each morning, as was the limo service.The Hotel location is away from the hustle of Fisherman's Wharf but still within walking distance of many attractions, but beware of the hills.
It is also really worthwhile just walking the blocks around the hotel to take in some of the exceptional real estate located in this wonderful part of town.
We would stay here again,only improvement would be to request a higher floor to avoid the noise of the echo from the old wooden floors from the rooms above(otherwise it would be 5 stars)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would also like to apologize for the noise transmission issues you experienced. Unfortunately, when the hotel was constructed in 1903 the standards of soundproofing were not what they are today. Our maintenance team continues to work with contractors and sound engineers to try to address the issues over time, however, I do need to be honest with you and with the other readers of this review that I do not believe we will ever be able to achieve thoroughly modern standards of soundproofing here at the Hotel Drisco.

Having said that, the vast majority of our guests (quite well represented by the reviews here on Trip Advisor, I might add) have truly delightful experiences and do not experience any issues with regard to noise transmission.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your thoughts here!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently discovered a wonderful boutique in the Pacific Heights section of San Francisco that met our needs in every way. The Hotel Drisco has the ambiance of a private home and there is a cozy sitting room for catching up on the world news while sipping or tea and perhaps chatting with another hotel guest. Meanwhile our room was spacious and well appointed with pillow choices, comfy robes and all those amenities one cherishes after a long flight. We arrived late at night and while the dining room serves a beautiful complimentary breakfast, they are not open in the evenings EXCEPT they accommodate late arrivals by offering a simple menu with excellent paninis and a glass of wine. Perfect! We were there at the holidays and decorations were lovely and we only wished we could have stayed longer but will absolutely put this at the top of the list for our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We just love being nestled in the beautiful Pacific Heights neighborhood -- I'm glad you enjoyed our location as well. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Hotel Drisco is a real treasure. Extremely friendly and accommodating staff, clean rooms, nightly wine tasting and breakfast. The atmosphere is quiet without the clamor of larger hotels. My wife and I have stayed there several times and have never been disappointed. I recommend this property without reservation (no pun intended)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I'm very pleased that you keep coming back to enjoy our service. I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.