We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary breakfast
Ranked #1 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago
1 review
“Fantastic boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Drisco to be with a close friend who was having surgery nearby. What a delight it was! The staff was super helpful, the room was very comfortable with great bath accouterment, the late night snack room service (cuban sandwich) was actually superb, and the location can't be beat in the tony neighborhood of San Francisco. It's definitely a small, european-style boutique place so you won't find the glitz and spas of the Four Seasons or Intercontinental, but much more to my taste. All-in-all an excellent find and likely where I will always stay when I'm in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful review. I'm so glad we can count you as a new fan or ours!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager

P.S. Our room service offerings are being refreshed and expanded -- look for a new menu this winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    129
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
179
567
48
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are not enough good things to say about the Drisco. Start with 70% of their guests are repeats. There is virtually no turnover in staff. Marti, Bob et al feel like family and treat you as such. It is truly is home away from home; every time we visit - which is 3-4 times a year - we are ready to move in. The breakfast is amazing. Parking your car on the street and you'll be away most of the day? No worries, they'll move it for you. Great accommodations, great service, just a great experience all around.

Room Tip: Suites are fantastic, and some on the higher floors - it goes only till 4 - have really good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are ready for you to move in -- just say the word! Thanks for your lovely comments and see you soon!

Kind Regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Drisco is a lovely hotel in the gorgeous Pacific Heights section of SF. The rooms are nice, the included breakfast is fantastic and the staff is very nice and helpful. Note that it is off the beaten path and there is no public transportation right near the hotel. But if you're willing to do some walking and you're resourceful with public transportation, it's worth staying here. The areas around the hotel (Pac Heights, the Presidio, Fillmore and Cow Hollow) are really fun to explore. My only complaint was that the hotel has no AC and it was uncomfortably hot at night. (We opened windows, but that wasn't sufficient to cool it to a comfortable temperature.)

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. I would ask for a lower floor with the hope that it may not be as warm a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, and I am so sorry for the problems you experienced with our heat. It looks like you stayed with us during a very short period of time just after we installed a new heating control system in the hotel. We quickly fixed a few issues that we were experiencing. Also, as you point out we do not have air conditioning in the hotel, but owing to the mild summer climate in San Francisco, very few older buildings do have A/C, or need to have it. Because of our location high on a hill we get brisk Pacific breezes that provide all the cooling that is usually required. Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and I hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first trip to San Francisco and we fell in love with this location and hotel. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, which did tend to get hot. There is no air condition in the hotel so make sure to open the windows and keep the curtains drawn while your out and about. The staff was very attentive and professional. I love the residential neighborhood feel and parking was never an issue. The location is great for dinner down on Fillmore street and you can easily access the Bart if you want to venture out to other districts.

Pro's: the breakfast buffet is wonderful! They have an assortment of fruit (freshly cut and presented beautifully), spreads and jams, biscuits, breads, croissants, and juice.
Wine reception in the evening is great as well, but I quickly learned that wine and cardio do not mix well in San Francisco (the walk down to Fillmore is not bad but you will have to go up hill on the way back to the hotel). They have a great mix of reds, whites and blends, and the wine consultant knew a lot about wines and shared some great suggestions as well as stories!
The room's are comfortable, clean and have everything you need.

Con's: the only complaint and it is was really not an issue once we realized what we had to do was the heat on the first day. We had not opened the windows and once we came back to the room after a day of site seeing, the sun had heated the room up to a point we just could not bear to site in there. Open the Windows's immediately and draw the curtains if you are heading out and you will be fine!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! I'm also glad you discovered that the Pacific Ocean is a pretty powerful air conditioner for us, given our location perched atop the tallest hill in Pacific Heights. Thanks for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hotel Drisco made us feel like we were back living in our old neighborhood. What a fantastic area with wonderful restaurants and shopping no matter which direction you decide to walk. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were extremely comfortable and the views spectacular. We highly recommend Hotel Drisco if you want an authentic San Francisco experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience with us!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

For the last several years, we have stayed at Hotel Drisco during our annual visits to the city...and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is truly the best in the area because it has a residential feel but still so close to everything. The staff is incredibly attentive and personable...they make sure every time we visit that all our needs are met and exceeded. The rooms are charming and clean - as is the entire property. The breakfast and the wine reception are also top-notch. We don't ever look anywhere else when we come to the city and can't wait for our next visit to the Drisco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for coming back to see us every year. My staff and I just love getting to know our repeat guests, and I'm so pleased that you continue to enjoy our comfortable guestrooms and our "top-notch" breakfast and wine reception!

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I feel like I stayed at a completely different hotel than most other reviewers. Maybe it is because I work in the hotel industry and know what a luxury hotel should be that I am more critical, but this hotel is in SERIOUS need of a renovation. While the staff tries very hard to be accommodating, the rooms are incredibly old and outdated and there is no shred of elegance anywhere in this building.

The entire parking issue is a nightmare. They tell you on the website that there is plentiful free street parking, but as per recent reviews, you have to move your car every 3 hours and they don't tell you that UNTIL you check in. That is just wrong. If we had known we would have returned our car to the rental agency before arriving here.

Granted the hotel moved the car for us, but we had to sign a waiver that they were not responsible for anything that would happen to the car so if it did get towed or they scratched it, we were out of luck.

The breakfast was also pretty poor - the hard boiled eggs were dried out and sour tasting. Nothing impressive here. I know of many hotels in NYC that are boutique just like this and the breakfast is so much better.

We had a fan in our room which was needed because they had the heat pumping up and there is no air conditioning to be found and the front cover over the blades just fell off because the fan is probably as old as the rooms so that was a major hazard. After a while we just stopped calling to complain because we realized the hotel was just old and dated and it wasn't worth wasting our time trying to get them to make it right because there wasn't anything they could do.

We got upgraded to a suite (the first room was really noisy) and there wasn't a single picture on the wall. It was the most blah, ugly, outdated hotel room I have ever seen. The bathmat was about the size of a postage stamp and there was absolutely zero counter space in the bathroom. You also couldn't even find a place in the shower to put your shampoo or razor.

This hotel just needs a major modern renovation and as much as the staff can try to be nice and friendly and accommodating, nothing helps. Our first room at the back of the hotel was really noisy -- there was construction going on nearby and we could hear the guy in the room next to us (who also had his window open because there is no a/c) talking on his cell phone. Our room (203) at the front of the hotel overlooked the hotel's entrance and there were always smokers down below who came out of the hotel to have a smoke and so they smoked and chatted just below our room at all hours of the day and night.

The only good thing going for this hotel was the location. The Pacific Heights neighborhood is great to walk around and we found some great dining and shopping just a 15-minute walk away, but other than that I wouldn't recommend anyone stay here.

When we complained about our first room, they moved us to the suite at the other end of the hotel and then immediately sent up a bottle of wine -- as if that was going to make it all better. I don't drink so the wine meant nothing to me.

As I said, I think they try to make a bad situation better, but the only way to fix it is to renovate. The hotel is also really noisy -- as is evidenced by a nice sound machine they give you in your room. When you see a sound machine you know you are in a bad situation. There is also nothing available to eat in the hotel except for "pannini's" they say they can deliver 24 hours a day. Not everyone wants a pannini!

Oh and the in-room safe is SO small we could barely fit an iPad in there along with a wallet. If you have a laptop you might be out of luck.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was distressed to read the review of your recent stay here at the Drisco. I am very sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations. My staff and I take a great deal of personal pleasure and professional pride in delivering what we (and the vast majority of Trip Advisor reviewers) believe is a world class lodging experience, so it is indeed difficult for us to digest the fact that we failed to please you to such a dramatic extent.

We are engaged in a constant program to maintain our beautiful 1903 Eduardian building, which included a complete top-to-bottom guestroom renovation in 2008. As the owner is fond of saying, the Drisco is “a grand old lady” (or old gentleman, if you will). She has a delightful personality, and I do need to be reminded from time to time – because I love our product and our service so much – that the Drisco experience is quite simply not the perfect fit for everyone.

I am deeply and genuinely sorry that you were disappointed with your experience here, and I regret that we are not able to count you among our many devoted fans.

Sincerely,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.