We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Better than a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for four nights in this very comfortable and quiet hotel situated in the Pacific Heights area of San Francisco. Unsurprisingly It is on a hill and has a corner position so the rooms on the front do have a view towards the harbour. The public rooms are tastefully and comfortably furnished, it felt rather like being in a friends country house. The staff are discreet and efficient and we found the concierges helpful and welcoming. The room was large as was the ensuite bathroom, Agraria products, with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The breakfasts were delicious with fresh and dried fruits, various fruit juices, cereals, fresh breads and pastries, porridge, yoghurts, cold meats and cooked items to order. Tea, coffee and water are available 24/7 in the sitting room and bottled water and chocolate biscuits provided every afternoon, ice too if required. A wine reception is offered each evening from 5pm to 6.30pm accompanied by cheeses, fruit, charcuterie and a hot hors d'oeuvres. A daily newspaper is provided to each room with others available in the sitting room, and there is a chauffered car service each weekday from 7 to 9.30am to the city centre. This is the only place where we heard classical music played, but not exclusively. The minor criticisms are that the room safe is too small for a laptop, the walk-in wardrobe has no light and there is no restaurant. However, local restaurants are within a 10-15 minute walk and bus routes are closeby. It is fully carpeted with creaky floorboards (!) and a small lift. Whilst we loved it, I can appreciate that it may not suit those in the 20-30 age-group.

Room Tip: Suites are on the front and have large windows giving views towards the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    808
    120
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
156
512
44
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Perfect Pacific Heights location.
Cosy, traditional style.
Great staff. Really great staff.
Nice rooms and bathrooms.
Good value.
The only place to stay unless you really have to be downtown and it really isn't that far.

Room Tip: The suites are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place was great. The staff was amazing, the rooms were eloquent and the area is awesome. The only problem of our stay was... Us. We are a young couple and this may not have been the best place for us. Yes, walking distance to some of the best Mediterranean food I have ever had, as well as some amazing bars.. no doubt this is in a great area of SF. However, this was a little bed & breakfast-y, which I don't mean as a knock at all, it just wasn't our speed. We are both 30, and we kept saying how great this place will be for us in 10 years.

Honestly, a fantastic hotel with (probably) more charm than most any other site in the city.

Fantastic stay and, like I said, the only thing I can knock it for is me. If you are married, and/or 40+, this is the absolute spot for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place to stay if you want to experience what san francisco's quiet charm. Has all the amenities of the bigger business hotels yet the feel of a small boutique. The location is great, quite, scenic and lovely to walk around. Very close to some of the best neighbor hoods and parks. The hotel has bikes and a very nice gym that's quiet. Would absolutely go back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

There is very little to fault about this lovely boutique hotel in the leafy, upmarket residential area of Pacific Heights.

While the hotel is classically modern and well appointed, there is an old world charm about it. We stayed in a standard room, that had an interior courtyard view, but was a lovely size with all the amenities you'd expect or need, including a large bathroom.

There is a lot of attention to detail and service - Delicious biscuits are left for you each night during the turndown service; complimentary refreshments in the afternoon and a wine reception in the evening. Breakfast is in a lovely dining area and considering it is complimentary of a very high standard. You'll need to fill up well each day to have enough money to tackle those steep hills.

Staff on reception were really helpful providing maps, directions, advice etc. we also made use of the town car on a couple of occasions.

All in all, it really is a lovely hotel. My only word of caution would be the location - which could be considered a bit far out. It's in a lovely quiet area that you might not usually visit if staying downtown, it's a 15-20 minute walk from some lovely shops and restaurants on union and on filmore, but it can be a steep walk back! If you have a car or intend to travel by taxi, this shouldn't be a problem. If you're relatively fit and enjoy a walk (uphill and down) then you can actually get about everywhere ... and its the best way to explore. We walked to/from Fisherman's Wharf, Lombard St, Ghiradelli Square, Presidio Park. It will keep you fit!

We had a wonderful first stay in SF and would recommend all the following: cable car ride, alcatraz tour, 49ers game, cycling the Golden Gate Bridge and Mexican food in the Mission.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Enjoyed every minute of our one night stay, just wish it was longer!!! Great location especially when you have a car. Hotel staff were very accommdating from our late arrival - just in time for the nightly wine reception - to arranging for our car to be moved whilst we were in sightseeing in in the morning. Enjoyed chatting with fellow Aussies at the wine reception, elegantly decorated suite, comfortable bed, nice amenities and an exceptional continental breakfast! We hightly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Clean, quaint, and in a great neighborhood.

Basement rooms are a little dim/shadowy, but I understand that's the best we can do.

Staff is outstanding in every way.

Rental car gets delivered to your doorstep, couldn't be easier.

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco
Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.