We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“stunning boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

stayed 3 nights at this jewel of a boutique hotel in the upscale quiet neighbourhood of Pacific Heights in San Francisco in August this year. From the moment we entered the hotel we could tell this was going to be a fantastic experience. Greeted warmly and quickly ushered to our large room beautifully fitted out with amenities. Quiet room near the dining area where each morning a continental breakfast with extra trimmings was laid out. A server emerges as you enter the dining room and asks if you would like a cappuchino or a latte. Ahhhh nice way to start the day. Each evening a wine and appy reception from 5-6:30, with beautiful wines from Napa and Sonoma. Transportation by city bus to downtown available nearby. Great spot away from the hustle of downtown but not far from there if you want to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! Among the many amenities you mentioned are two areas that have recently seen upgrades here at the Drisco -- we just got a brand new espresso/cappuccino maker and the guest reviews of the new coffees have been outstanding, and we have recently upgraded our wine selections available at our evening wine reception. In my experience, the wines available at the vast majority of complimentary hotel and B&B wine receptions are marginal at best -- not so here at the Drisco! I invite you to return again next month to experience a new lineup of exceptionally good wines!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    130
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
180
570
49
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Drisco in a suite for a few nights in July this year. The room was attractive and spacious and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the staff were always helpful and pleasant. The hotel reminds me of a mini but rather tired version of the Ritz in London. The real bonus about this place was that you could sleep without any disturbance - no traffic, no air conditioning, no slamming doors, no people shouting. It was wonderful to be able to sleep as well as I do at home so I would definitely stay there again if I was in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our quiet and peaceful atmosphere!

One of the more difficult challenges we face here at the Drisco is maintaining our turn-of-the-century (1900s, that is) charm while providing all of the modern conveniences necessary for a really outstanding experience. All of our fittings, finishes and appointments are either very new or lovingly restored, so I am concerned that you found some aspects of your experience tired. Please feel free to share any specific observations you have with me -- we really love constructive feedback in addition to all the wonderful compliments here on Trip Advisor!

Many Thanks!

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Truly an amazing place to stay! A taste of luxury, and one that I will never forget. Highest of quality linens, room fixtures, everything!
I have never stayed at such a place, great experience for the two of us. The complimentary breakfast was a great addition, and very well presented. Great atmosphere.
Location was very nice, in the middle of a ritzy neighborhood.
It is about a 1 hour walk to Union Square, 1 hour walk to Fisherman Wharf.
It's a bit far from the action but if you want to walk around, and check the city out, stay here.
Staff was amazing and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your kind comments!

So many of our guests choose the Drisco for our reputation for amazing service and amenities, and then come to realize later that our stunning location in the middle of San Francisco's finest residential neighborhood brings benefits they had not anticipated -- namely the ability to retreat to a quiet oasis in the City while still being very close to everything. I'm so glad you found this to be the case as well!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Petherton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed for four nights at this charming hotel. We picked our car up at the airport and need not have worried too much about the parking. There are a few spaces down the hill at the side of the hotel. One evening after going out to dinner we returned to find we had lost our space. I mentioned this at Reception and there was an immediate response from the staff. The car was parked up the road for us at no cost. We were grateful and enjoyed using the car to visit Fishermans Wharf. We regretted leaving the car and getting a taxi down to the harbour for the Alcatraz trip ( book Alcatraz online in UK as you probably will not get a ticket at short notice) On our return we had dinner but there was a lengthy queue for taxis which we had not anticipated.
We enjoyed the comfortable room at the hotel and the breakfasts with both protein and carbohydrate. The Danish pastries and yogurts were lovely. Restaurants were recommended,at our request, and they did not disappoint. Reception staff and the concierge were charming and we felt quite at home. The only negative aspect was the TV which did not work- only the DVD. All in all a lovely hotel which I would like to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

It's true that transportation can be a bit of a complicated affair in San Francisco, which is why we make every effort to make getting around town as worry-free as possible for our guests. From complimentary chauffeur service on weekday mornings, to complimentary street parking (and moving cars as necessary), to expert public transportation advice from our concierges, we try to anticipate all of our guests' transportation needs. However, regrettably one thing we cannot control is the availability of taxis -- San Francisco simply doesn't have enough taxi cabs to meet demand. So if hailing a cab features into your travel plans, please do allow for plenty of extra time!

Lastly, I am concerned that you mentioned your TV not working. I can't tell from your review if you alerted us to the problem while you were here, but in any case please feel free to reach out to me personally.

Thank you again for your lovely review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I visited San Francisco a few weeks ago and Hotel Drisco exceeded all of our expectations. We were very impressed even before arriving with the knowledge of the staff over the phone. I had called asking about restaurant recommendations (we wanted to make reservations ahead of time) and I was given a list of about 15 places. The staff member took so much time to tell me about what was close, what previous guests have liked, etc. When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by friendly staff and hot towels! The best part of our arrival was that we were just in time for the wine and cheese reception.....which is every day! One day we also took advantage of the complimentary bikes the hotel has on hand and we went biking for the day. Probably could have used the bikes more than a day, but the San Fran hills were a little too steep! After reading reviews about other noisy hotels, we were relieved how Hotel Drisco was so quiet....good for sleeping. Pretty neighborhood away from the city. The breakfasts every day were included and the variety of items was exceptional. We also enjoyed the free bottled water and the delicious cookies placed in our room each night! We had rented a car and the staff was also kind enough to move the car every 3 hours for us on the days we didn't use it (parking rules permit you to be parked in a spot for no more than 3 hours). We did not have to pay extra for this either! Lastly, we took advantage of the free shuttle service to Union Square from the hotel. I can't say enough how impressed we were with this hotel. Thank you again Hotel Drisco. You made our trip memorable and we look forward to staying with you again on our next trip to San Fran!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review. I'm so glad your stay was a memorable one!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

When I travel to SF on business, I usually stay at a downtown hotel. For my recent vacation with family, I wanted something more fun, in a residential neighborhood. The Drisco did not disappoint. Its location is close enough to Cow Hollow & the Marina to walk for dinner (with a lot of hills!) and an easy to drive to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, and Marin.

The staff were always friendly and accommodating, but never intrusive. They had a ready answer for every question. One tiny tip to the manager: when guests check in, be sure they know everything about breakfast, wine hour, tea & coffee in the parlor, and that the staff will move your car for you. All of that is available, but we did have to ask about those last two.

The breakfast buffet, included in the room price, is extensive - no hot eggs or breakfast meats, but everything else anyone could possibly want. The wine hour, also included, was lovely and relaxing.

We booked a 2-bedroom, 2-bath suite. Beds are wonderfully comfortable, bathrooms are well appointed. Our master bedroom & adjacent living room on the fourth floor had lovely views of the city. The other bedroom & bathroom had windows opening into shafts (not courtyards), which was not an issue since our kids spent most of their time in the living room, but I wouldn't have wanted to be a guest *only* in the bedroom with a view of an air shaft. Nonetheless, they loved the suite arrangement, and we had a lovely, relaxing three-day stay.

One note: the hotel is old and therefore has a few quirks, such as creaky floors (didn't bother us, as we were on the top floor, but probably bothered the people below us), and thin walls - we could easily hear conversations in the next room, and in the bathroom (which also opened onto an air shaft) you can hear everything from flushing toilets to showers. If you're used to staying in hotels with some character, this is nothing new. If you're looking for perfect silence and isolation, this wouldn't be the best choice. For us, as travelers used to staying in places with character, this was a tiny inconvenience in an otherwise lovely hotel. If we were coming back to San Francisco for pleasure, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view, otherwise you may have a view of the air shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We had booked the Drisco based on very good reviews. And it went beyond our expectations.
At arrival we were disappointed by our rooms, although we had booked months ago and re-sent our wishes via email. Immediate actions were taken on the first night, and then for the following nights the staff made everything possible to change our rooms and the new ones were perfect.
It's not only about resolving the issue, it's the way it's been handled: one could really feel all staff members care about us and our well being.

All at the Drisco is made of the same : it's an addition of simple but tasteful details and attentions, from messages to quality and originality of the food, to furniture, to speed of action for any request.

All in all, the Drisco entered directly in my top 5 of hotels worldwide.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is indeed an honor that you consider us one of the top five hotels that you have stayed in -- thank you so much for the high praise!

I was especially pleased that we were able to move you into a room more to your liking.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.