We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned boutique hotel in Pacific Heights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned boutique hotel in Pacific Heights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

When I travel to SF on business, I usually stay at a downtown hotel. For my recent vacation with family, I wanted something more fun, in a residential neighborhood. The Drisco did not disappoint. Its location is close enough to Cow Hollow & the Marina to walk for dinner (with a lot of hills!) and an easy to drive to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, and Marin.

The staff were always friendly and accommodating, but never intrusive. They had a ready answer for every question. One tiny tip to the manager: when guests check in, be sure they know everything about breakfast, wine hour, tea & coffee in the parlor, and that the staff will move your car for you. All of that is available, but we did have to ask about those last two.

The breakfast buffet, included in the room price, is extensive - no hot eggs or breakfast meats, but everything else anyone could possibly want. The wine hour, also included, was lovely and relaxing.

We booked a 2-bedroom, 2-bath suite. Beds are wonderfully comfortable, bathrooms are well appointed. Our master bedroom & adjacent living room on the fourth floor had lovely views of the city. The other bedroom & bathroom had windows opening into shafts (not courtyards), which was not an issue since our kids spent most of their time in the living room, but I wouldn't have wanted to be a guest *only* in the bedroom with a view of an air shaft. Nonetheless, they loved the suite arrangement, and we had a lovely, relaxing three-day stay.

One note: the hotel is old and therefore has a few quirks, such as creaky floors (didn't bother us, as we were on the top floor, but probably bothered the people below us), and thin walls - we could easily hear conversations in the next room, and in the bathroom (which also opened onto an air shaft) you can hear everything from flushing toilets to showers. If you're used to staying in hotels with some character, this is nothing new. If you're looking for perfect silence and isolation, this wouldn't be the best choice. For us, as travelers used to staying in places with character, this was a tiny inconvenience in an otherwise lovely hotel. If we were coming back to San Francisco for pleasure, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view, otherwise you may have a view of the air shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    132
    29
    14
    8
See reviews for
185
579
50
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We had booked the Drisco based on very good reviews. And it went beyond our expectations.
At arrival we were disappointed by our rooms, although we had booked months ago and re-sent our wishes via email. Immediate actions were taken on the first night, and then for the following nights the staff made everything possible to change our rooms and the new ones were perfect.
It's not only about resolving the issue, it's the way it's been handled: one could really feel all staff members care about us and our well being.

All at the Drisco is made of the same : it's an addition of simple but tasteful details and attentions, from messages to quality and originality of the food, to furniture, to speed of action for any request.

All in all, the Drisco entered directly in my top 5 of hotels worldwide.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is indeed an honor that you consider us one of the top five hotels that you have stayed in -- thank you so much for the high praise!

I was especially pleased that we were able to move you into a room more to your liking.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you are looking for a fantastic, beautiful, quiet, luxurious hide-a-way in San Francisco .. the Hotel Drisco in the Pacific Heights area is the place to be. It sits atop those steep San Francisco streets and can be a challenge when attempting to park the car and walk but it is well worth the extra physical effort. The view of the city is breathtaking. The charming sitting area that is more like a living room than a hotel lobby, has urns of coffee, tea, etc. with some lovely chocolate snacks all day long. The hotel has a quiet, old world, elegance and sits in a more residential area. The staff are warm and always helpful. The breakfast, included with the room rate, is lavish. Hot cereals, tasty assorted pastries, platters of cheeses, Nova Scotia salmon, cappuccinos, hot chocolate, etc. Breads of all kinds .. a really sumptuous start to the day ... all presented beautifully, buffet style. Eat as much as you want. Have a question? There is always someone there to be helpful, to snap a family photo, give you great directions and trying to make your visit a special experience. Away from the hectic, noisy, commercial sections of San Francisco but just a short distance to be in those areas if you so choose. The Hotel Drisco is our first choice hotel for visiting the San Francisco area.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms ... all were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

It warms my heart to read reviews such as yours. The staff here tries so hard to make each guest's experience unique and special, and we are all very pleased when we succeed in doing that. Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach City Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Hotel Drisco is a gem of a hotel. You get a European experience right here in San Francisco. The rooms a very large and comfortable. This hotel is far enough out of the crowds, yet everything is quite easy to get to. The staff is excellent! They offered to take us to Union Square instead of getting us a cab and made wonderful reservations for us at a steakhouse. They offer a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and cheese in the afternoon, both are included in the price of the room. You can't go wrong if you stay at Hotel Drisco.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our many European touches!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel was not what we had hoped for, especially for the price paid. We had one of the rooms on the main floor and perhaps this was the problem. We were right by the staircase which caused a lot of noise. People would be going to the airport early in the morning, banging their luggage and it would keep us awake all night. Once it became breakfast time (7:30 am) there was constant noise outside of our door. Also, the room's view was of another building. I also understand that parking is very hard to come by in San Francisco, however, when you have to move your car every few hours on the street is not a very good answer. The breakfast they serve here is very good and it's great that that is included in the price.

Overall, I wouldn't book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay with us. It always distresses me when a guest does not have an excellent experience at my hotel.

Your review presents me with the opportunity to stress to the Trip Advisor community that the Hotel Drisco is quite simply not the perfect hotel for everyone. Most importantly, our home since 1903 has been a stunning Edwardian building in the most beautiful neighborhood in San Francisco. And although we have done what we can over the years to help mitigate sound transmission, the walls are not as perfectly soundproofed as more modern hotels, the floorboards and stairs creak a bit, and sometimes we are treated to the sounds of neighborhood life from the windows that open wide. And, while the vast majority of our guests are quite well mannered, regrettably we cannot serve in loco parentis for those that folks that may have the occasional lapse in courtesy towards others. Ultimately, if a highly soundproofed environment is one of the things you look for in a hotel (and that is completely fair if it is), then we would be very pleased to suggest some other fine hotels in San Francisco that may be more to your liking.

I would also like to stress to all of our future potential guests that the majority of rooms in our most economical room categories -- our Deluxe King and Deluxe Queen guestrooms -- have windows that face our interior courtyard and/or our neighboring building. If you would like to guarantee that your room will have a view of San Francisco, you will want to choose one of our City View Deluxe King, One Bedroom Suite or City View Suite guestrooms.

Regarding our parking situation, I must apologize for the fact that it would seem we did not successfully communicate to you that one of our many included services here at the Drisco is that we will move your car for you throughout the day as necessary, allowing you to enjoy all that San Francisco has to offer worry-free. I have already spoken to my Concierge team to make sure that we communicate this valuable service to all of our guests.

I would like to thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback, and to apologize again for the disappointments you experienced.

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

traveling with family
great location, you're far enough away froim all the crowds that it is nice and quiet, while at the same time everything is quite easily accesible. Your walikimg distance away from fillmore which has many great restaurants. The rooms where spacious and very comfortable. The staff left us with a very good impression. The only negatives about with the hotel would be that the fitness centre is very small and there where not vey many "kid freindly" shops within walking distance of the hotel. Also some of us found the breakfasts a bit light, but the other half of us thoroughly enjoyed it. Overall the hotel drisco was a very nice hotel and comes highly recomended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! For the benefit of our potential future guests as well as yourself, I would like to provide some further explanation regarding the 'negatives' you mentioned in your review:

* Our new Fitness Center is approximately 200 square feet in size and contains three aerobic machines (with integrated LCD TVs), a weight machine that can be configured for a variety of exercises, yoga mats, exercise balls and two bicycles. It is actually the largest Fitness Center that I have ever heard of or seen in a hotel with fewer than 50 rooms. However, we still recognize that we can't be all things to all people with a 200 square foot Fitness Center, so we offer complimentary passes to the nearby Presidio YMCA, which is an extremely large and well-appointed facility.

* The Drisco is located in the most exclusive residential neighborhood in San Francisco, Pacific Heights, and we are surrounded by several blocks of lovely homes. However, we are still within easy walking distance of four major commercial shopping districts -- Union Street, Fillmore Street, Chestnut Street and Sacramento Street. Sacramento Street is actually known for it's lovely children's shops and toy stores, so perhaps you didn't venture in that direction?

* Our breakfast is designed as a European continental breakfast, and we try to appeal to a wide variety of tastes with our extensive selection of fresh items. However, if it's scrambled eggs, sausage and home fries you're hankering for, then we will need to direct you to a number of nearby restaurants that can accommodate on that score.

Thank you again for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Everything about this little hotel is wonderful. Staff is courteous and kind and extremely thoughtful and accommodating. The rooms are impeccably clean and perfectly appointed all the way to the top-notch mini toiletries. It is beautiful, serene and cozy. Everything here made me feel relaxed and comfy and happy. And what an amazing location! Stand at the corner and look north, and the view will astonish you. Walk two blocks west and you're at the Presidio; or five blocks east and you're at the start of a major artery worth strolling south on for its full length; or a short walk north and you're at the Marina; or just roam aimlessly in the area, gawking at the gorgeous homes that surround the hotel. You just can't go wrong no matter which way you head out from here! So whether you want to stay in or head out, this place is absolute perfection.

Room Tip: If you're a late riser or sensitive to noise, ask for a room on the top floor, as otherwise you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.