We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Assets and liabilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Drisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Drisco to your Saves list
Hotel Drisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Assets and liabilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I purchased an auction package that included the Driscoll hotel so we came taking our chances. This is a boutique hotel with some limitations. The building itself is older so no air conditioning, no on-sight resturant or bar, and no outdoor seating or patio. The most difficult was finding on-street parking and when located it was on a steep hill!

But the assets Far outweigh any difficulty. This is a place where the service is consistent and sure to spoil you for anywhere else. In advance of our visit we asked for resturant recommendations and Marty arranged for some of the best dining experiences ever. We highly recommend this if you don't already have your favorites. The continental breakfast is superb. For a cold breakfast the offerings are so bountiful you don't miss anything hot. You eat in elegant room with fresh flowers throughout the room and several choices of national and international newspapers to choose from. Added fun were bottles of water in the room personalized for the hotel with picture of the Driscoll on the inside. Our grandchildren loved them!
If you want to be pampered, this is the place to go.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

You are absolutely correct that there are some services and amenities that the Drisco simply does not offer, such as air conditioning, a full restaurant/bar or outdoor seating. However, from our perspective these are only liabilities if you are expressly looking for these types of amenities. And if you are, that is quite alright! We are so invested in making sure that you have a wonderful stay in our lovely City of San Francisco that we would be delighted to recommend hotels to suit any specific requirements you may have.

However, as you also point out, we believe that we have something very special to offer here at the Drisco -- personalized service that is second to none and a stunning array of high-quality complimentary extra touches. Oh, and let's not forget those fun Drisco water bottles!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    144
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
211
631
51
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Although the hotel could do with a little updating (it's a bit old fashioned), the room we had was lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. They are also very generous with their towels. It's a few blocks from Fillmore Street where there are lovely shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I will have to admit, in some respects we are indeed a bit old-fashioned. We do occupy a 1903 Edwardian, we have a very traditional philosophy of service which places a high value on individualized care, and we provide many thoughtful touches around every corner -- a luscious continental breakfast, cookies at turndown, shoehorns in the closets and windows that open wide.

However, we are also constantly updating our services and amenities to keep pace with the times. In every guestroom we offer excellent and extensive HDTV, DVD players, ambient sound machines, free WiFi and many other modern amenities.

Thank you very much for your review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The problem with TA is that you get expectations from the reviews you read in advance and just sometimes you expect too much. Not so with the Hotel Drisco which is a perfect hotel in every way. We spent 3 nights here. Our room was quite small but perfect with a lovely bathroom and very comfortable bed. The wi fi was a bit dodgy but we understand this is under review.

We loved the position of the hotel, the surrounding houses were beautiful and the breakfast and wine tasting were lovely. We didn't have to use many of the hotel's facilities and were able to plan things well ourselves but the staff were charming and helpful whenever necessary and particularly Bob (hope we have this right!). Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and where do they get the chocolate biscuits that are left in the room every evening?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful endorsement, thank you! You did get Bob's name correct, and I will be sure to relay your compliments to him. Regarding the chocolate biscuits, I will gladly divulge our source to any guest who comes and stays with us!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Combine the attentive staff, a wonderful room, a gorgeous, ritzy neighborhood that is great for exploring, and the fact that the upscale shops and restaurants on Fillmore and sacramento streets are only a five-minute stroll away, and you've got the perfect San Francisco hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Yours is the second review in a row to have used the word "perfect." Now not even I can claim we're perfect, but I am certainly very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel... In our experience it compares to "club level" at the ritz without being pompous. Amazing staff, gorgeous room, excellent location.... Let me first describe the staff. This is, in my opinion, the most important aspect of any business and the Drisco has the best.
Front Desk: Jon and Marti worked the desk for most of our stay and we're the most pleasant and helpful people you can imagine. They treated us like friends, and I mean that. Great sense of humor, unpretentious. T-shirt and jeans or tuxedo, these folks treat you the same. They were so kind to our 3 year old daughter. We've been home two days now and she still talks about Jon.
The wine: Every evening at 5:30 they host a wine tasting. Ann takes care of the lovely food presentation and it is phenomenal. Ann was so kind and generous, we love her. Take a three year old to a wine tasting? Yep! Thanks to Ann and Mike (the wine vendor) my daughter was treated like she was at my sisters home. So much love...
Jerry: Jerry does everything!!! He's quick, quiet and efficient and one of the most hardworking people i've ever met.
August: Not the month, the man! August provides car service and he is too cool! He will get you where you need to go in style for hardly more than a cab. Have him meet you at the "kiss and fly" parking area at SFO, forget cabs.
Housekeeping was perfect and transparent. I wish I knew names but they moved like ninja's.
Breakfast!!!!!! Ok, it's included and it is AWESOME!!!! If you're not staying here you can get it for around $15 and trust me, that is a bargain.
Our room was on the street and we had no noise issues. Temperature was perfect (in June) and the bed was the only hotel bed I have ever been comfortable in. The suite was huge. Our daughter had the front room, we had the back. I could go on and on..... I can't wait to return!!! We LOVE the Drisco... Bottom line... Better than Ritz club level at half the price..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, General Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very kind comments about the service you received on your recent stay with us. In addition to passing along your lovely comments to Marti, Ann, Mike, Jerry, August and the entire housekeeping staff, I will be sure to convey your three year old daughter's regards to Jon!

On behalf of everyone here, we look forward to your return!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Be preparedfor the type of service you have probably never experienced in a hotel. When room service says "in 15 minutes" that's when it arrives. When you request assistance with something, seconds after you hang up the phone, there is a knock on the door. And if you are looking for a warm friendly smile, pick out any hotel employee.

The hotel was built in 1903 but has been remodeled and refurbished many times. So, the facilities are up-to-date, but the hotel has a wonderful feel of an older building, made from wood and which fits in wondrously in the magnificent Pacific Heights neighborhood of San Francisco.

The hotel has a marvelous continental breakfast – but it is really far more than that--all the one can imagine for breakfast other than fresh cook omelettes.

Some might say that not being in the center of the tourist district is a negative – our reaction was just the opposite; being surrounded by magnificent homes with breathtaking views of San Francisco was perfect.

Certainly one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of our honeymoon trip of California. We had a great time. The hotel is understated luxury, the staff helpful but not overbearing, the room very clean and pleasantly decorated, with a nice bathroom and products to use. There was a wine and cheese hour in the early evenings which was a nice touch, as well as a great continental breakfast with lots of choice (and the delicious dark chocolate cookies delivered every night were a nice touch). Pacific heights is a lovely neighbourhood to stay in - it is within easy walking distance of two great streets with lots of beautiful shops and bars and restaurants on, and of the enormous parkland perched on the hill. The view from our room was incredible! We would definitely recommend this hotel to the more independent traveller who wants somewhere nice and comfortable to stay, without being overpriced/pretentious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DriscoManager, Manager at Hotel Drisco, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks so very much for your wonderful review!

Kind Regards,

John Spear
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,533 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,261 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#7 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,315 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drisco

Address: 2901 Pacific Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#1 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Drisco 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Drisco, constructed in 1903, blends traditional elegance with the convenience, comfort, and amenities of a world-class modern hotel. Our warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and impeccable service are designed to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our complimentary services include a gourmet continental breakfast, evening wine reception, chauffeured sedan service to several popular San Francisco locations and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Drisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drisco Hotel San Francisco
Drisco San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Drisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.