We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco to your Saves list
Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco
2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge) (Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 3 night for my stay in San Fran. The check-in was easy and the staff friendly. The room was a lot bigger than I thought it was going to (I had the 2 queens) be. The noise isn't too bad, I'm a good sleeper so it didn't bother me much. The bed was super comfy and I slept really well. The fridge in the room wasn't working but I was eating out everyday so it didn't bother me too much. The internet is fast and I was able to watch Netflix easily. The location is really good, with it only being a 10 minute drive from Fisherman Wharf and about a 15 minute drive to city centre. The parking is accessible and completely free. The cleaners aren't fantastic but they get the job done. Not good for families, and it is not disabled friendly.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    25
    19
    33
See reviews for
18
41
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Best thing, location. On Lombard Street and just one block from some decent bars and restaurants.
Hotel is old and needs updating. Room was large and had a decent 'lounge' area. The room was clean but the bathroom really needed replacing.
Public areas had heavily stained carpets.
Parking maybe free but it is on a first come basis and there are not many spaces.
Ok as a base to sleep and the manaager was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I picked the hotel because it had free parking and a pool. Was advertized pretty prominently. The pool is closed down forever unfortunately ( they found it too expensive to maintain for the few guests using it); rooms are reasonable. The location is pretty good. The staff is a bit rude unfortunately.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Although it was a clean hotel,I would not spend another visit in this hotel. Hot water never worked.
Located on Lombard street and close to some nice eateries in Pacific Heights and near Chestnut Street. Desk manager was helpful and friendly . Room was hot when we arrived and all windows closed up. It is a very old building and although the room has had some updating(new bathroom sink,tiles and tub) there was never any hot water in the shower. Nice TV though! When we opened windows we could not sleep at night as room looked over Lombard street. Perhaps in a few years this hotel will have the renovations completed that will make it more amenable . It is isn an excellent location.

Room Tip: Rooms on southside may be a better choice. No air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Manager was very nice and accommodating. Furniture needed replacing and some minor maintenance and repair would have made the room better, however the room was clean and all we were needing was a clean place to stay. Would stay there again if in San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Knights Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Reserved a room with mini-fridge and microwave . The bathroom was so moldy it set off my wife's asthma. They gave us a smaller room without the fridge or microwave, charged the same price. Heater was held together with flammable twine.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in Alpha Inn for two nights whilst in San Francisco. We received a good reception, our room was ok however the shower was pretty much the worst I've ever had in my life. It was one puny little stream, the shower head didn't even reach anyway near my head, i.e. Crap.

Here's the problem we had with Alpha Inn:

We noticed that we had been charged once for the room, and again with half the total. After inquiring at the office, we were told that this was an obligitory deposit and that it would be back in our account once we had left.
After travelling in America for the past week, with this not happenng anywhere else, we were confused but let it go. After driving back to LA the next day, we checked the account statement and the money hadn't gone back into the account. I called to ask about it, especially as it was a prepaid credit card and we needed to use the money before we left America. The lady on the phone was unhelpful, and basically told me that we had to call the card company to ask them to ask Alpha to return the money or wait 5-7 days for it to be transfered. We were due to leave 3 days after this call, and called them a day after we had left their accomodations.

From what I have read in previous comments, this "deposit" charge hasn't happened before. So not only have we still not received the money, it being 7 days plus since we called, we still haven't been contacted by these people and we probably won't be.

Do not stay here. They will take your money and give you crappy accomodation. There is no reason you would ever want to or should stay here, apart from the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Address: 2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Inn And Suites San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.