We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if it is rock bottom room rate and you don't mind dirt and noise.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco to your Saves list
Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco
2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge) (Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Santa BArbara
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Only if it is rock bottom room rate and you don't mind dirt and noise.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I am sitting on the floor of my room right now as I type and it smells of something between mildew and vomit. I want to give this hotel a better rating, but it is clear that the owners are not wanting to do what it takes to really make this place right. I booked it for a cheap rate and free parking. I will give it that. The positives are that the rooms in the multi-story section are very spacious. Both of our rooms has sofa and sitting areas and a walk in closet area. Fridge and coffee maker. Just don't mess with the plugs to these or risk electric shock. Also bus stop below can take you to Academy of Sciences or Wharf easily. Otherwise don't like the hood. When you come into the building it is a bit scary. There is no door keeping out the cold air from getting into the stairwell so it is freezing in the stairwell. The hallway area is very rundown. Walked into room and at first was pleasantly surprised. As I said very spacious, wall papered, long curtains, true queen beds, not full sized. Upon spending some time, it became apparent just how dirty and run down this place is. Stains ALL OVER the wall paper, doors and woodwork, mold on bathroom ceiling (quite a bit of it), electrical sockets that spark and don't work, terribly stained chairs (as in they should be tossed), God knows what is in the carpet. Toilet barely works as is the case with the bathroom lock (my mother almost got locked in). The towels and sheets are clean at least. The bed is not so bad. Noise from street at night is bad as is with most cheap hotels in city. There was no break in car noise all night long. The worst was having the people above us walk around at all hours of the morning, the ceiling almost amplifies everything going on up there. Kept me up all night. I think that someone said in a review to think a step above a hostel when looking at this place. That is probably accurate although I have been in some cleaner hostels to be sure. I would look for something else with a comparable price and try that first. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room so you don't hear the people above you all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    24
    19
    33
See reviews for
18
41
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Was given a room on the ground floor near the pool. Was dark and dingy so asked if they had anything better. After paying an extra $25 was given a room on the top floor of the other building. This was at least better but everything was so old and falling apart. Curtains needed to be repaired, windows were filthy. Needs renovation badly. Chairs were stained. No airconditioning or heating. (Heater was broken) There is no lift so you have to lug your bags up 4 flights of stairs. Traffic noise is also a negative point.Only plus points are the things outside of the hotel such as the many restaurants nearby, (Recomend "Squat Gobble" for a good feed). Also the closeness to the Golden Gate Bridge, we could actually see it from our top floor filthy window.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel is my tip to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have to say, when we arrived we had a very warm welcome....when we entered the hotel we were a little shocked at the bad decor of the hall...as we went up the stairs it seemed to get worse...we did laugh as we lugged our heavy cases up to the third floor...a little apprehensive of what we might find when we opened the door..lol! It was not that bad. A good size room with a very comfy bed. Clean bathroom and dry white clean towels. We had complimentary coffee making machine which is rare in America.
We were here for three nights. The room was cleaned daily. We chose this hotel for price and location. San Francisco is an incredible city, lots to see and do. Make sure you pack good walking shoes. Plenty of restaurants. Do make use of the public transport. It is easy and fun. The cable car is a great way to view Down Town area.
Sleeping was a little poor due to traffic noise. But I have to be honest and say we were exhausted each night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Never ever go to this hotel!! The owner is the rudest, most impolite and impulsive person, I have ever met in my life. he does not have any modesty!
At check in they made a mistake and charged our credit card with 1833 dollar instead of 183 dollar. We asked them to write a fax to our credit card company to cancel the transaction, but instead of catching up with their mistake...they refused to write the fax (our credit card was blocked because they exploded the limit). As we insisted in writing this fax to make sure we get our money back - the owner yelled at us that we are just making problems and that we should check out right now. Just as we wanted to call the police, they agreed in writing an email. Dont expect any customer service at this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

So we went LA LV AND SF. We stopped here at the end. Now i checked all the reviews and knew what i was going to be getting into. I also checked the hotel from the outside i knew it was not that good but at the end of the day you are going on holiday and all you need is a place to sleep at night. The TV was old but had HBO so in the evening we sat around and watched movies. We wont there during the day. The person on the desk was helpful with but could not recommend anything around the area. The beds in the room were good but sofa's and carpet was not good. My point of view is that i could live there if need be, just felt like a normal room and nothing special. If it helps think of it as a upgrade from a hostel but not quite a proper hotel. I had a great time there and good for value for money. Will go again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were horrified by the state of the entrance to the block our room was in. The carpets were litter strewn and badly stained and the smell was indescribable. In our room the bed sheets looked clean and so did the bathroom but the carpets and chairs were stained and filthy and the smell of something being masked by disinfectant is something I'll never forget. The curtains were ripped and dirty and the wardrobe was a doorless cupboard with a solitary broken hanger. We couldn't stay as I wasn't prepared to let any of our belongings touch anything and the putrid smell was sickening after just a few minutes. I believe this hotel should be closed for health and safety reasons. We did get a refund without any argument which was the only positive of this awful experience. Book in at your peril!

Room Tip: If you must stay here the rooms around the pool may be better than our room which was in the block n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked this place based on Trip Advisor listing it but this place was very dirty and unpleasant. We left after fifteen minutes and demanded a refund, which was reluctantly granted only after we listed the problems in the room in detail and said that we would dispute the payment with American Express if he did not refund our payment.

We didn't expect much, stay in budget hotels often, and weren't looking for anything more than a place that was clean and pleasant enough to sleep in and to sit in for a little while between outings.

The curtains were falling down, the bathroom light fixture was falling down, the smoke detector was open with no battery. The room had flies, the furniture was streaked with stains and gritty, the heating unit on the wall was covered with black soot, the bathroom floor had not be washed. The hallway was dirty and smelled bad.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Address: 2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Inn And Suites San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.