We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever go to this hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco
2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge) (Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never ever go to this hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Never ever go to this hotel!! The owner is the rudest, most impolite and impulsive person, I have ever met in my life. he does not have any modesty!
At check in they made a mistake and charged our credit card with 1833 dollar instead of 183 dollar. We asked them to write a fax to our credit card company to cancel the transaction, but instead of catching up with their mistake...they refused to write the fax (our credit card was blocked because they exploded the limit). As we insisted in writing this fax to make sure we get our money back - the owner yelled at us that we are just making problems and that we should check out right now. Just as we wanted to call the police, they agreed in writing an email. Dont expect any customer service at this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    22
    17
    33
See reviews for
17
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

So we went LA LV AND SF. We stopped here at the end. Now i checked all the reviews and knew what i was going to be getting into. I also checked the hotel from the outside i knew it was not that good but at the end of the day you are going on holiday and all you need is a place to sleep at night. The TV was old but had HBO so in the evening we sat around and watched movies. We wont there during the day. The person on the desk was helpful with but could not recommend anything around the area. The beds in the room were good but sofa's and carpet was not good. My point of view is that i could live there if need be, just felt like a normal room and nothing special. If it helps think of it as a upgrade from a hostel but not quite a proper hotel. I had a great time there and good for value for money. Will go again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were horrified by the state of the entrance to the block our room was in. The carpets were litter strewn and badly stained and the smell was indescribable. In our room the bed sheets looked clean and so did the bathroom but the carpets and chairs were stained and filthy and the smell of something being masked by disinfectant is something I'll never forget. The curtains were ripped and dirty and the wardrobe was a doorless cupboard with a solitary broken hanger. We couldn't stay as I wasn't prepared to let any of our belongings touch anything and the putrid smell was sickening after just a few minutes. I believe this hotel should be closed for health and safety reasons. We did get a refund without any argument which was the only positive of this awful experience. Book in at your peril!

Room Tip: If you must stay here the rooms around the pool may be better than our room which was in the block n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked this place based on Trip Advisor listing it but this place was very dirty and unpleasant. We left after fifteen minutes and demanded a refund, which was reluctantly granted only after we listed the problems in the room in detail and said that we would dispute the payment with American Express if he did not refund our payment.

We didn't expect much, stay in budget hotels often, and weren't looking for anything more than a place that was clean and pleasant enough to sleep in and to sit in for a little while between outings.

The curtains were falling down, the bathroom light fixture was falling down, the smoke detector was open with no battery. The room had flies, the furniture was streaked with stains and gritty, the heating unit on the wall was covered with black soot, the bathroom floor had not be washed. The hallway was dirty and smelled bad.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night before traveling home the next morning. Not the most beautiful place to stay, but cheap and clean. The pool, while we didn't get in it, looked clean but very small. It sits in the center of all of the surrounding rooms in a typical motel style. Rooms could use updating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had stayed on July 13-15 and this hotel had charged us $1119.60. It is ridiculous and they are claiming they had not charged us. Yet in our bank statement, it clearly states Alpha Inn and Suites. They aren't even helping us out or checking their statements. DO NOT BOOK THROUGH THIS HOTEL, they will RIP YOU OFF!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I got this room for 80 dollars via priceline. I was expecting the worst because like me, you're probably greeted with those bedbug photos on tripadvisor when you search the place. First of all, there's no bed bugs and the room was actually well cleaned. Yes, it feels a little sketchy and rundown. There is an overpowering smell of Mr.Clean when we walked up the stairs but that's a good thing right? It's an old building and it shows, but that's understandable. We kept the lights dim so we didn't have to think about what the stains were on the wall. Ha ha. The bed and bathroom were very clean and at least you have your own bathroom. The neighbourhood is a good base for exploring the Marina/Presidio district. I recommend walking north a couple blocks to Chestnut street as there are some great coffee shops/restaurants along that street. If you left on Lombard you will discover a very pretty park area with great views of the Golden Gate bridge.

The service at the front desk was fine. They even called a cab for me when I needed them to.

SF is a very expensive city so I don't think you'll be able to find something less than 80 that isn't a complete dump. This was fine as a base for exploring the city and really a lot more comfortable than I was expecting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Address: 2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Inn And Suites San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.