We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel should be condemned” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco
2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge) (Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This hotel should be condemned”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were horrified by the state of the entrance to the block our room was in. The carpets were litter strewn and badly stained and the smell was indescribable. In our room the bed sheets looked clean and so did the bathroom but the carpets and chairs were stained and filthy and the smell of something being masked by disinfectant is something I'll never forget. The curtains were ripped and dirty and the wardrobe was a doorless cupboard with a solitary broken hanger. We couldn't stay as I wasn't prepared to let any of our belongings touch anything and the putrid smell was sickening after just a few minutes. I believe this hotel should be closed for health and safety reasons. We did get a refund without any argument which was the only positive of this awful experience. Book in at your peril!

Room Tip: If you must stay here the rooms around the pool may be better than our room which was in the block n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    26
    13
    30
See reviews for
17
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked this place based on Trip Advisor listing it but this place was very dirty and unpleasant. We left after fifteen minutes and demanded a refund, which was reluctantly granted only after we listed the problems in the room in detail and said that we would dispute the payment with American Express if he did not refund our payment.

We didn't expect much, stay in budget hotels often, and weren't looking for anything more than a place that was clean and pleasant enough to sleep in and to sit in for a little while between outings.

The curtains were falling down, the bathroom light fixture was falling down, the smoke detector was open with no battery. The room had flies, the furniture was streaked with stains and gritty, the heating unit on the wall was covered with black soot, the bathroom floor had not be washed. The hallway was dirty and smelled bad.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night before traveling home the next morning. Not the most beautiful place to stay, but cheap and clean. The pool, while we didn't get in it, looked clean but very small. It sits in the center of all of the surrounding rooms in a typical motel style. Rooms could use updating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had stayed on July 13-15 and this hotel had charged us $1119.60. It is ridiculous and they are claiming they had not charged us. Yet in our bank statement, it clearly states Alpha Inn and Suites. They aren't even helping us out or checking their statements. DO NOT BOOK THROUGH THIS HOTEL, they will RIP YOU OFF!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I got this room for 80 dollars via priceline. I was expecting the worst because like me, you're probably greeted with those bedbug photos on tripadvisor when you search the place. First of all, there's no bed bugs and the room was actually well cleaned. Yes, it feels a little sketchy and rundown. There is an overpowering smell of Mr.Clean when we walked up the stairs but that's a good thing right? It's an old building and it shows, but that's understandable. We kept the lights dim so we didn't have to think about what the stains were on the wall. Ha ha. The bed and bathroom were very clean and at least you have your own bathroom. The neighbourhood is a good base for exploring the Marina/Presidio district. I recommend walking north a couple blocks to Chestnut street as there are some great coffee shops/restaurants along that street. If you left on Lombard you will discover a very pretty park area with great views of the Golden Gate bridge.

The service at the front desk was fine. They even called a cab for me when I needed them to.

SF is a very expensive city so I don't think you'll be able to find something less than 80 that isn't a complete dump. This was fine as a base for exploring the city and really a lot more comfortable than I was expecting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We found most hotels in SF too expensive for our budget, but this one really fits the bill! Yes, it is a bit run down, yes the 'breakfast' is just complimentary juice (made from a packet) or coffee, yes the bathrooms could do with refurbishing, but.... It didn't smell, the beds were clean and comfortable, the towels were changed daily, the bathroom cleaned, there was a fridge/freezer and microwave and kitchen bench/sink (but no cooking equipment) with coffeemaker and complimentary coffee and it was relatively quiet at night. We had a poolside suite. It had 2 x queen size beds, a bath/shower, 2 x writing desks, 2 x chests of drawers, a shared bedside cabinet, a hanging wardrobe rail and more shelf storage in the bathroom. One chair needed shampooing or recovering, but apart from that the linens were fine, they matched and were comfortable. Get over yourselves! You only need a decent bed and a working shower!!

We can put up with 'elderly' decor and facilities as long as it is clean and the service cheerful. Every request we made (i.e. swapping coffee sachets for decaff) was met promptly.
Did I mention the area? Fabulous area!! Running parallel is Chestnut Ave, an eclectic mix of beauty therapy, bars, boutiques and eateries ('Blackwood' is highly recommended), or up the hill behind into Union Street for slightly more upmarket Bistro and eateries and more boutiques of Cow Hollow... And its an easy 20 mins stroll along to Fishermans wharf if you want to do all the touristy stuff. If you like hiking, it is 7.5 KM walk to the North side of the Golden Gate bridge from here, an easy stroll through parkland trails as this place is just 100 metres or so from Lombard Gate, into the Presidio park surrounding the South (city) end of the bridge, or the bus stops outside! To see the rest of SF, a combo ticket allowing access to all cable cars, trolley buses and MUNI buses at $21 per/person for 3 days has it all wrapped up.

Room Tip: We had 217, 1st one as you go above pool - felt it could be noisy with everyone walking past, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I booked this hotel for watching Golden Gate fireworks display.

Room 435 is large, clean with excellent ocean/bridge view.

Room Tip: Room 434 and 435 are perfect to view San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Also Known As:
Alpha Inn And Suites San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Inn And Suites San Francisco Hotel
Alpha Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Motel San Francisco
Address: 2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.