We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had to get our money back” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco
2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge) (Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“had to get our money back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked this place based on Trip Advisor listing it but this place was very dirty and unpleasant. We left after fifteen minutes and demanded a refund, which was reluctantly granted only after we listed the problems in the room in detail and said that we would dispute the payment with American Express if he did not refund our payment.

We didn't expect much, stay in budget hotels often, and weren't looking for anything more than a place that was clean and pleasant enough to sleep in and to sit in for a little while between outings.

The curtains were falling down, the bathroom light fixture was falling down, the smoke detector was open with no battery. The room had flies, the furniture was streaked with stains and gritty, the heating unit on the wall was covered with black soot, the bathroom floor had not be washed. The hallway was dirty and smelled bad.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    22
    17
    33
See reviews for
17
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night before traveling home the next morning. Not the most beautiful place to stay, but cheap and clean. The pool, while we didn't get in it, looked clean but very small. It sits in the center of all of the surrounding rooms in a typical motel style. Rooms could use updating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had stayed on July 13-15 and this hotel had charged us $1119.60. It is ridiculous and they are claiming they had not charged us. Yet in our bank statement, it clearly states Alpha Inn and Suites. They aren't even helping us out or checking their statements. DO NOT BOOK THROUGH THIS HOTEL, they will RIP YOU OFF!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I got this room for 80 dollars via priceline. I was expecting the worst because like me, you're probably greeted with those bedbug photos on tripadvisor when you search the place. First of all, there's no bed bugs and the room was actually well cleaned. Yes, it feels a little sketchy and rundown. There is an overpowering smell of Mr.Clean when we walked up the stairs but that's a good thing right? It's an old building and it shows, but that's understandable. We kept the lights dim so we didn't have to think about what the stains were on the wall. Ha ha. The bed and bathroom were very clean and at least you have your own bathroom. The neighbourhood is a good base for exploring the Marina/Presidio district. I recommend walking north a couple blocks to Chestnut street as there are some great coffee shops/restaurants along that street. If you left on Lombard you will discover a very pretty park area with great views of the Golden Gate bridge.

The service at the front desk was fine. They even called a cab for me when I needed them to.

SF is a very expensive city so I don't think you'll be able to find something less than 80 that isn't a complete dump. This was fine as a base for exploring the city and really a lot more comfortable than I was expecting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We found most hotels in SF too expensive for our budget, but this one really fits the bill! Yes, it is a bit run down, yes the 'breakfast' is just complimentary juice (made from a packet) or coffee, yes the bathrooms could do with refurbishing, but.... It didn't smell, the beds were clean and comfortable, the towels were changed daily, the bathroom cleaned, there was a fridge/freezer and microwave and kitchen bench/sink (but no cooking equipment) with coffeemaker and complimentary coffee and it was relatively quiet at night. We had a poolside suite. It had 2 x queen size beds, a bath/shower, 2 x writing desks, 2 x chests of drawers, a shared bedside cabinet, a hanging wardrobe rail and more shelf storage in the bathroom. One chair needed shampooing or recovering, but apart from that the linens were fine, they matched and were comfortable. Get over yourselves! You only need a decent bed and a working shower!!

We can put up with 'elderly' decor and facilities as long as it is clean and the service cheerful. Every request we made (i.e. swapping coffee sachets for decaff) was met promptly.
Did I mention the area? Fabulous area!! Running parallel is Chestnut Ave, an eclectic mix of beauty therapy, bars, boutiques and eateries ('Blackwood' is highly recommended), or up the hill behind into Union Street for slightly more upmarket Bistro and eateries and more boutiques of Cow Hollow... And its an easy 20 mins stroll along to Fishermans wharf if you want to do all the touristy stuff. If you like hiking, it is 7.5 KM walk to the North side of the Golden Gate bridge from here, an easy stroll through parkland trails as this place is just 100 metres or so from Lombard Gate, into the Presidio park surrounding the South (city) end of the bridge, or the bus stops outside! To see the rest of SF, a combo ticket allowing access to all cable cars, trolley buses and MUNI buses at $21 per/person for 3 days has it all wrapped up.

Room Tip: We had 217, 1st one as you go above pool - felt it could be noisy with everyone walking past, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I booked this hotel for watching Golden Gate fireworks display.

Room 435 is large, clean with excellent ocean/bridge view.

Room Tip: Room 434 and 435 are perfect to view San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangebup
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

When we were dropped off at this hotel our first impression was that it was old and rundown. Things did not improved when we entered the small reception area/office. It was difficult to understand the staff member booking us in.
When we got to the room the first thing we noticed was the smell but after an hour or so we got used to it.
Like most hotels we used on this holiday it only had coffee making facilities no kettle to make a cup of tea.
Breakfast was the biggest disappointment, it consisted of orange juice and coffee and it was not available until 8.00am.
The website said it had free local calls but were told that local calls cost 50c.
The location is not too bad with a choice of restuarants within walking distance and not too far out of town.
We tried to call reception once to ask about the internet issues we were having and the phone was not answered after about a minute of ringing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Address: 2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Inn And Suites San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.