We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room for watching Golden Gate fireworks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco to your Saves list
Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco
2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge) (Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice room for watching Golden Gate fireworks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I booked this hotel for watching Golden Gate fireworks display.

Room 435 is large, clean with excellent ocean/bridge view.

Room Tip: Room 434 and 435 are perfect to view San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    24
    19
    33
See reviews for
18
41
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yangebup
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

When we were dropped off at this hotel our first impression was that it was old and rundown. Things did not improved when we entered the small reception area/office. It was difficult to understand the staff member booking us in.
When we got to the room the first thing we noticed was the smell but after an hour or so we got used to it.
Like most hotels we used on this holiday it only had coffee making facilities no kettle to make a cup of tea.
Breakfast was the biggest disappointment, it consisted of orange juice and coffee and it was not available until 8.00am.
The website said it had free local calls but were told that local calls cost 50c.
The location is not too bad with a choice of restuarants within walking distance and not too far out of town.
We tried to call reception once to ask about the internet issues we were having and the phone was not answered after about a minute of ringing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We booked this property because it was cheaper than anything else we could find for a few days. Hotels in San Francisco are pretty expensive these days and our budget isn't huge. The location is a bit out of the way, but that said there are a couple of bus routes just a few moments away which for just $2 per ride take you into downtown, Fisherman's Wharf and to the Golden Gate - and from those locations you can take transport or a cab to other parts of the city, so getting around isn't a huge problem even though you're not in the centre of town. There's a huge Walgreens across the road, little shops and restaurants all around, and a great precinct of shops, cafes etc. just one block away (as you walk towards the water). The room we had was fine - huge, and even included microwave, fridge, tv and sofa. It was clean enough, and we quite enjoyed our stay here. If you're on a budget this place is worth a go.

Room Tip: We had room 225 which was massive and pretty clean - no complaints. There's a bit of street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I was not able to stay here after my reservation was not honored by hotel management. They claimed I gave a bad credit card number to book the hotel and when I tried to give them updated card info I was berated. At the end of the call I was informed that I would no longer be able to stay at the hotel. The language and tone of the management team there redefines the term "terrible customer service".

Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were promised a Fridge & Microwave and got neither. We asked about it, he said it got smashed and nothing could be done. Both of the Indian owners were COMPLETELY RUDE about it, no idea about customer service. Made it out like it was our fault, keep saying just check out, check out if you dont want to stay here. San Fran was all booked so we couldn't until the sunday. We also tried to use the hair dryer, broken, Phone, BROKEN! I asked about getting another phone, no way! Wifi was as good as dial up, we gave up. The place smelt, no elevator, limited parked.

Im not sure anything is good about this place. We have been traveling for a month now, and this is the worst hotel i have stayed.

DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife booked this place through HotWire.com for us and our 2 kids . When we came to the hotel after a 20+ hour trip ( we're from Aruba ) we were treated very rude when tried to check in . They had no room available , the clerk became very offfensive , within a minute his son came to the frontdesk too , shouting at us that we had to get out , we weren't his customers , did not want to let us use his phone for us to call HotWire , all in all , we were kicked out onto the street within 5 minutes . Since we did not knew our way around in the area and needed a place quick in order to calm down the kids I had to book another hotel nearby , paying $ 1000,- for 5 days : DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The hotel is situated close to the fashionable Marine district and it is within walking distance from the Maine and Fort Mason, and just a short ride away from the Golden Bridge. If you don't want to drive yourself, there are many buses within walking distance from the hotel, with routes to all the main San Francisco tourist destinations.
The room was not top notch perfect, but still big and clean enough for the price. The staff is very friendly. The hotel provides free and fast internet connection.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco

Address: 2505 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Inn And Suites San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Hotel San Francisco
Alpha Motel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpha Inn and Suites San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.