We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown to your Saves list
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown
895 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was an ok hotel, nothing too much to say about it good or bad. The free breakfast offered is served in reception which is a bit cramped. The staff were helpful but I think more because they are paid to be rather than because they want to be. Good location though, and as we stayed for 2 nights, was satisfactory for what we needed. Wouldnt put people staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    37
    44
    21
    12
See reviews for
20
38
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perfect if all you're looking for is: 1. location
2. a place to stash your bags while you do whatever it is people do when they have business between the hours of midnight and breakfast.
3. Require no more than a short catnap between "assignments".
4. Have traveled enough to know how to handle aggressive panhandling.

Bottomline: If forced at gunpoint to stay in this area (hopefully not as likely to occur as a glance out the window in this neighborhood would suggest)- then this place looks by far to be the best option for lowering your chances of various bedbug, roach, and other inner city nuicances. Still quite overpriced for what you get, i liked the parking options and it seemed clean enough..especially when in contrast with the surrounding couple of blocks. The staff was also pretty friendly and if it were a good $40 cheaper I would have given it 5* for value for money (granted I was here during peak summer season so i may have to take another look during lower season).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Optimal location, clean and big room (we had two queen beds). The first impression is not too good due to the neighborhood and condition of lobby, corridors and elevators. However when inside our room we felt really safe. Very clean room although basic. We stayed here with our teenage daughter and wouldn't mind staying here again because of the location and the motel price thinking we were right by union square.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Due to an unpleasant experience in the Monarch Hotel, we decided to check out and find another place. We passed by Motel 6 and they have a reasonable price of $150 per night for 2 double beds. The staff is friendly and even upgraded us to 2 big king size room for FREE as their 2 double beds is full. The room is clean and big. Nothing to complain with this price and good service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here during Bay 2 Breakers. The room was booked at the last minute, and I had some reservations about what to expect, especially being in the Tenderloin. I was thoroughly impressed. The room was very big, clean, and included a fridge. It wasn't fancy by any means, but for a fifth of what I would've paid at the W or aomething similar, it really wasn't bad. If you are unfamiliar with the city, you may be a little shocked by the location, but I didn't have any issues. For a place to crash in between running and partying for the weekend, this room exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Check in was fast, WAY OVER PRICED! 160 for a bed and 3 bars of soap. The towels had brown stains on them, the hall ways smelled of bleach and other chemicals. The manager was VERY rude! When the sun went down the homeless and prostitutes bombarded the lobby offering their services. My friend was pregnant and called down for another blanket the manager demanded that she came down and got one which she already tried and he gave her a towel instead. Someone ended up getting shot in front of hotel and stabbed at the bar next to the hotel. She sheet and bed felt DISGUSTING! I couldn't leave fast enough to go home and quarantine myself! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

walked in off the street so couldn't expect much
$130 for a bed but at least the parking was free - as was wifi
The hotel was draughty and cold - huge gaps around the door and not particularly clean.

Staff were lovely, really helpful - thank you

It is good as a motel 6 - it isn't good for $130 a night - not even in San Francisco

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown

Address: 895 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Francisco is located within walking distance to may area restaurants and attractions. Union Square & Chinatown .75 Miles; Fisherman's Wharf 2 miles; Golden Gate Bridge 4 miles. Free Wi-Fi, parking, and morning coffee is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Motel 6
San Francisco Motel Six
Motel Six San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Francisco Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.