We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cornell Hotel de France to your Saves list
Cornell Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
“Hotel with character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you like modern updated hotels don't stay here. This is a quaint old hotel. The rooms are unique with claw foot tubs. The staff are very friendly and remember repeat visitors. Many of the staff have been there a very long time. The hot breakfasts are very good and included in the price. There is also free wireless throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    399
    68
    24
    21
See reviews for
123
494
70
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay here. The Hotel is older but well kept. Breakfast is included with the room which makes this an even better choice. We stayed in a room away from the street and there was little to no noise. The hotel is right off the Powel Cable car line and just two blocks from the California line making it an easy trip down to the Ferry Building or Pier 39.

Room Tip: The side of the hotel away from the street was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It would be hard to be negative about this hotel.

It is charming, very close to Union Square and there is an excellent breakfast included in the price.

Stayed twice recently and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a medium sized room and I wouldn't have wanted it to be any smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here three times and each has been just perfect. The hot breakfast is included and is much better than the usual continental breakfast that you get at chain hotels. I have heard that the restaurant is excellent, but I always forget to make reservations in advance. They have a deal with the garage across the street for discounted parking with in/out privileges. I have referred friends to the hotel and they have enjoyed it too.

Room Tip: The 'cozy' room is ... cozy! If you are with someone, and staying for more than a night, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent only one night in a premier room with a single queen bed but this hotel is definitely one which we will want to book again in the future.

Bed: clean, sufficiently firm, no problem falling asleep after a long day.
Bath: made us want to take a bath! Clean and homely.
Carpet: clean, no stains, looks new
Heating: just right
View: not fantastic, but then, this is the city.
Breakfast: complimentary; no complaints
Internet: complimentary; no complaints about the speed
Decor: wonderful! A lot of thought went into the design of the hotel and each room. You have to be there to experience it.
Location: there's a cable car stop right outside the hotel; hotel is 2 blocks from Union Sq.
What could be better...maybe a better coffee machine?

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a nice place. Clean rooms, nicely furnished, friendly staff. Easy parking and an easy walk to stores around. It felt very safe and comfortable.
The hot water was non-existent the first day. But plenty the next. There might of been water heater issues. It was promptly taken care of. Nice breakfast downstairs. Food fresh and good. Pleasant wait staff.
Very nice experience!

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently had a medical conference in San Francisco and needed a one night accommodation close to the conference location. This hotel turned out to be perfect! It was in a very good location, the gentleman checking me in on Saturday evening was professional, helpful and very courteous. The parking rate for the lot across the street simply can't be beat!
My room was cozy, clean and restful...and breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was good and very promptly served.
I will return and look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.