We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“european B & B style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornell Hotel de France

Save Saved
You added Cornell Hotel de France to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornell Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“european B & B style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Had a great 4 day stay here. Stayed in medium sized room with big claw foot tub that was nice to soak in after a long day walking San Fran hills. Spotlessly clean and fairly quiet in our room located in back of hotel - could hear cable cars clanging and sirens at night but have to expect a bit of noise in the middle of downtown. Breakfast room busy in the morning so get there early - choice of bacon/eggs, omelet or French toast and with cereals you can help yourself to on a sideboard. Staff are polite but generally reserved in a more European manner. Location very central, 10 to 15 minute walk to transit hub on Market Street: Bart for airport/cable car starting point/buses to everywhere and our favorite, the F-line historic streetcars which take you in one direction close to the Mission and Castro districts and to the Ferry Market Building and Fisherman's Wharf in the other. Get the 3 day or 7 day MUNI pass and save a lot, especially for the cable car which will cost you $6 for a single trip alone. Would definitely recommend this hotel - won't find a nicer room in SF for this price that includes bathroom and breakfast.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter. We stayed in medium size room which was great for us. Some people comment on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear clerk 2,

Thank you for a good description of our Cornell Hotel de France
which could be useful to would- be customers. We are glad that
you had a pleasant stay and appreciated what we do and offer.

Best regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    370
    62
    23
    20
See reviews for
121
452
66
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We initially booked this hotel because it was on the trolley line. But little did we know that this amazing little hotel would give us our own gargoyle in our room; and Gaugin's and Monet's on the walls; and a dining room that makes you feel like you're in a castle in France. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful, the breakfasts were well prepared and beautifully presented, and it was close to great shopping and dining. So it's a little old and could use some TLC, but I will definitely recommend this to any friends and family staying in San Francisco. Thanks for a great European experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear ready2retire2,

We are very pleased that you liked your stay at our
small, old fashioned hotel. Thank you for your nice
comments and good recommendations.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Cornell Hotel de France is a very nice and individual hotel with a good position in SFO (very central, in the near of the Cable Car)! It has a really good french restaurant (relatively expensive, but worthwhile)!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Euqinimod1 from Berlin,

Yes our small hotel is idealy located in San Francisco.
Glad you liked it and thank you for the good comments.
We are proud to offer reasonably priced room in the heart
of the city to our clientele.
I have been a soldier in Berlin, a long time ago before
being sent to Algeria. I had a great time ( and I was young)

Merci encore
Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cognac, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here on a two night stopover from our holiday all prebooked through a travel company,we chose this hotel because of good reviews,well i have to say i dont know where these reviews come from,we were showed to our room the evening we arrived the man chatted but i wouldnt say he was especially friendly,our room was not very clean,coffee stains down door to bathroom, hairs in bath and sink and under sheets on bedcover,thick dust on coffeemaker,breakfast was ok nothing special,one morning on leaving the breakfastroom the chap that checked us in was sitting outside and there was no goodmorning or anything,and the day we checked out the chinese lady on the desk was very rude when my husband was putting handluggage in taxi she shut the door on us before we had even got our suitcases out of the lobby,if this is your kind of hospitality you can keep it,it was a horrible smelly area and not a patch on the hotel or area we stayed in new york.

Room Tip: dont stay here would be my tip!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Diane L from Cognac,

Critics from customers can be useful and we like to answer,
explain, apologize if need be, agree sometimes, even promise to
bring modifications..... But your comment on our small
establishment left us speechless. ' Hair in bath ,sink, under sheets
on cover"..." Horrible, smelly area" ..If it had been the case why did
you not called the office at once and why did you stay a second day
in such a place..?
However what you wrote about the gentleman who checked you in
and showed you to your breakfast table confirmed what had been
mentionned to us recently. Such inadmissible behavior will not be
tolerated anymore and we sincerely apologized for that..

Sincerely,

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had never been to San Francisco and Cornell was recommended. So glad we listened. Everyone was wonderful from the owner to the golden retriever. Beautiful and quaint. Charming was used over and over in our conversations. Would definitely stay there again. Clean and comfortable. Food was beautifully prepared and waitresses were delightful. Hated to leave! Will definitely stay there when we return. Also convenient to street car, parking garage, drugstore, and restaurants.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different which is kind of fun. Some have more room and some of the bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Nan W,

Such great pleasure to welcome appreciative customers like
you. Glad you liked the personality and artistic aspect of our small
hotel. It will be with pleasure that we would welcome you again.
Michel the golden retriever may be big, then.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Nice and friendly place to stay. Ideal downtown location, close to trolley, shops, buses ect. Breakfast is wonderful, I enjoyed the friendly bubbly waitress in the morning. We also had a first rate waiter for dinner, in typical european fashion. The meal was very good. Bed was comfy. Place was nice and quiet. Staff very helpful. If you like individual places and not the cookie cutter hotel experience then this would be a good pick especially for the price of a downtown stay. The only neg for me was the blowdryer had all the heat and power of a gnats cough, so bring your own. Otherwise, loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Caroline R,

Thank you for your good description of our small establishment.
It is always rewarding to hear that we are serving our customers
well. We look forward to welcome you again and do not bring your
hair dryer : we shall replace ours this coming month.

Gratefully,

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were looking for clean, comfortable room in the city for one night that wasn't too expensive but close to Union Square. This one got very good reviews and the price was very reasonable! Well it was an adorable place! The staff were very friendly and helpful and parking was right across the street and much cheaper than many other hotels charged. We will recommend it to others and will stay there again! We were very pleased! Our friends who stayed in another hotel down Powell Street liked ours better! Cindy W.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude L, Owner at Cornell Hotel de France, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Cindy W,

Thank you for your good review of our establishment.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
It is rewarding for us to have customers like you
appreciating the way we work and what we offer even
..if we belong somewhat to the past.

Warm regards

Claude Lambert - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornell Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Hotel de France

Address: 715 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Hotel de France 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cornell Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornell Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.